Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Auckland City Hotel

157 Hobson Street, Auckland City Center, Auckland, New Zealand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 643 reviews

498 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (643)
Sort by:
Maeva G. Solo travelers France, March 31, 2013
comfortable

location, bed, shower
7.7
Report this review
Somkiat J. Families with older children Thailand, March 30, 2013
it;'s ok. safety

1. good location 2. quiet 3. safety
6.7
Report this review
Basim A. Solo travelers Saudi Arabia, March 30, 2013
not so bad but I think this not hotel .

easy going ..near bus , shopping and entertainment.
5
Report this review
Elizabeth F. Solo travelers United States of America, March 28, 2013
Comfortable and convenient

Staff was extremely helpful.
8
Auckland is very hilly. Everything is up or down from the Hotel. Be prepared for it. They do give one hour of free internet service a day. This was a help.
Report this review
Allen H. Business travelers Canada, March 26, 2013
good location for the price

clean, good location, good price
9
Report this review
Bruce H. Couples Australia, March 24, 2013
Central & affordable with comfort

central to everything
9
Report this review
Helen G. Groups New Zealand, March 20, 2013
Awesome

location, room configuration and service
7
It was a lovely stay. I went here with my fiancee and my mum. My fiancee and I had a private room together and mum had a seperate single room. The unit we stayed in was 2 storey one with bedrooms upstairs and kitchen downstairs. I was extremely happy with the room that I was given :-) I would be very happy to stay at this hotel again.
Report this review
Ashwina P. Groups Australia, March 17, 2013
Budget-friendly, Central location, Clean

1. great value rates 2. Hobson Street is the main street leading down to Viaduct and leading up to the Motorway 3. The rooms and BATHROOMS are clean and mdern
8
The hotel advertised Fitness Centre and Swiming Pool - this was NOT the case. You have to travel to an external destination to use the fitness & swimming pool. And we were told to take our own towels. Once there, we were notified that the fitness centre & swimming pool were unavailable to public. The Auckland City Hotel Staff had not notified us of this. We were somewhat disappointed
Report this review
John B. Couples Australia, March 17, 2013
A 2 star hotel masquerading as a 4 star hotel

The only good thing was the desk staff
3.3
How can a room with a noisy, portable air conditioner that pumps the heat into an internal wall that then gets hot be 4 star? How can an hotel with no room service be 4 star? How can an hotel whose restaurant closes mid morning & mid afternoon and not late in the evening be 4 star? We were initially offered a room with no lift access only stairs and were not offered a porter for our bags: a 4 star hotel?
Report this review
Ching-Hsia W. Business travelers Taiwan, March 16, 2013
Nice kitchen facilities and decent room.

Good size room, kitchen facilities and close to the Sky Tower.
8.3
I enjoyed my stay in the hotel. The room is nice and kitchen is good too. Only the bathroom was too small, but for one person is enough.
Report this review
Previous page 201 - 210 of 498 reviews Next page
Auckland City Hotel AucklandAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - RestaurantAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - LobbyAuckland City Hotel Auckland - EntranceAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - ReceptionAuckland City Hotel Auckland - RestaurantAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - CafeAuckland City Hotel Auckland - CafeAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B03