Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Auckland City Hotel

157 Hobson Street, Auckland City Center, Auckland, New Zealand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.9

based on 42 reviews

501 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.7
Families with young children (42)
Sort by:
Saifun N. Families with young children Singapore, October 16, 2015
Great Value, Great Location

Value, Location, Comfortable
7.7
The family stayed in the hotel on 2 separate occasions in a fortnight. The first was for 4 nights, the other was for 1 night. On both occasion, we booked the suite and was assigned the same room 1004. I have no major complaints as everything was great except for the faulty TV in the bigger room. I was able to switch on the TV but no channels was showing as it was not programmed. As I didn't have much time to watch the TV, I didn't inform the reception about it. Sadly, on my second occasion there, it was still faulty! Besides that, the suite was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The staffs were friendly and helpful too. It would be nice if the WIFI is free for the whole day instead for a limited time. Most importantly is that the hotel is nicely located and value for money.
Report this review
Chia-Lin H. Families with young children Taiwan, October 5, 2015
good service

good service, good location, clean room
8
Report this review
Mariana T. Families with young children New Zealand, September 11, 2015
Awesome family friendly

Location, close proximity to food outlets. Price was excellent. Warm and clean.
10
Exactly what we needed for a overnight stay. The staff were pleasant and extremly attentive. Thank you.
Report this review
Iwan S. Families with young children Indonesia, June 17, 2015
nice hotel but small parking lot

very helpful staff, good value for money,
8.7
Anything was good but the parking lot need improvement. Chinesse food just across the Road and Korean mini market just beside the hotel.
Report this review
Chanannat P. Families with young children Thailand, April 16, 2015
Perfect Hotel Location in town

Location, value for money, comfort
7.3
Convenience place in town
Report this review
Han S. Families with young children South Korea, July 3, 2014
Good service and location

location, service, ...
7.7
Average but service was good.
Report this review
Chew P. Families with young children Singapore, June 6, 2014
Good location and heart of the city

Good location, comfortable and good internet
7.3
Good except that we have to buy for our own breakfast if we want to eat in the hotel.
Report this review
Hatim A. Families with young children Malaysia, January 7, 2014
Nothing great to say

Near restaurants
4
The parking fee for overnite park is exorbitant when car parks outside hotel are half the price which i realised later during my walk about. I booked a family suite but to my surprise it's two levels. So it has become so difficult to carry our big luggages to the next floor. This is my encounter with a suite with two floors. Inconvenient. There is a restaurant at the hotel which open only during breakfast. You need to eat out daily.
Report this review
Hatim A. Families with young children Malaysia, January 4, 2014
Nothing to shout about

Poor to average hotel
4.3
As i said earlier there is nothing much to say about this hotel. Located far from harbour and it looks like it is in a semi slum area. the room is that big although it is clean. When you dont have nothing to say means the hotel is not my pick if ever i go to Auckland again. Local restaurants are quite close to the hotel which makes it easier for us to find food. Bus station too is close but served no purpose for us since we rent a car for sight seeing.
Report this review
Hatim A. Families with young children Malaysia, January 4, 2014
It was a good sightseeing trip

Not a hotel for family. Find another hotel if you are in Auckland
2.7
A stay to forget.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 649 reviews Next page
Auckland City Hotel AucklandAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - RestaurantAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - LobbyAuckland City Hotel Auckland - EntranceAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - ReceptionAuckland City Hotel Auckland - RestaurantAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - CafeAuckland City Hotel Auckland - CafeAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A04