Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Auckland City Hotel

157 Hobson Street, Auckland City Center, Auckland, New Zealand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 649 reviews

502 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (649)
Sort by:
Pavel I. Couples Czech Republic, May 23, 2016
Internet connection SUCKS,,,, we had to always go
5.3
Internet connection SUCKS,,,, we had to always go to lobby to be able to work with the internet
Wong C. Couples Malaysia, May 12, 2016
Good
6.7
Good
Kwan W. Groups Hong Kong, April 29, 2016
5 star home
6.3
Luxury outfit, but some facilities are not working (e.g. Snooker), a bit far from city.
Coco Y. Couples Singapore, April 29, 2016
Good location; strong smell; efficient
5.3
Good location. Near lots of restaurants, bus stops and the Countdown supermarket. Room was clean but we saw a baby cockroach on our first night near the air vent. The smell of the cleaning products was quite strong. Otherwise it was alright. Checking in and out was a breeze.
Tung S. Families with older children Hong Kong, April 26, 2016
Good location
4.7
Q. near to the main area. but have to pay for the parking which is q. expensive
Julie M. Families with older children New Zealand, April 19, 2016
Complimentary upgrade
5
The complimentary upgrade we received upon check in was appreciated however staff did not consider bedding arrangements for us and proved to be a disadvantage. Overall our stay was good. Loved the coffee bar adjoining the foyer.
Dien T. Business travelers Vietnam, April 16, 2016
overpriced
5.7
extended stay over weekend, was quoted an over priced stay despite it was a last minute request so booked elsewhere online
Katie C. Couples Australia, April 8, 2016
Poor service run down rooms
2.7
on our arrival we where a little early however they allowed us to check in. They gave us a key and upon openening our room we found the handyman plastering the wall. 10 minutes later we are still standing there as his conversation on the phone to reception seemed to be far more important than us standing there with all our luggage. We where spoken to extremely rude and pushed back out to the hallway with all our luggage and expected to take it all the way back down. Once sorted with another room I found them to be not up to standards for what you pay for. Chipped paint on The walls, dirty make on skirting boards just really in need of a makeover. Our stay here was very dismal and I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. I really should of payed the extra money and stayed at Sky city again !
Jane M. Couples New Zealand, April 4, 2016
Location and comfort
6
Room was nice location excellent and we booked early so got a great price for two nights
Ankush S. Solo travelers India, March 30, 2016
Convenient location
5.3
Location is decent - around 5 mins walk to the central bus terminal & sky city tower, and 15/20 mins walk to the piers; at the same time not in a noisy neighborhood. Clean rooms with basic amenities. Staff at front desk were quite helpful. Free wifi however spotty connection in the room.
1 - 10 of 502 reviews Next page
Auckland City Hotel AucklandAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - RestaurantAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Guest RoomAuckland City Hotel Auckland - LobbyAuckland City Hotel Auckland - EntranceAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - ReceptionAuckland City Hotel Auckland - RestaurantAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - InteriorAuckland City Hotel Auckland - CafeAuckland City Hotel Auckland - CafeAuckland City Hotel Auckland - Interior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03