Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Authentic Hanoi Hotel

13 Ly Thai To Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam 0084

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.4

based on 107 reviews

69 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
8.7
Staff
8.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (107)
Sort by:
Heejoo L. Business travelers South Korea, May 20, 2016
clean and comfortable
4
good location and comfortable bedding. but no windows.
Simon R. Business travelers United Kingdom, April 30, 2016
Not top of their game in this highly competitive s
5.3
First timers in Hanoi may be tempted to write glowing assessments of any one of these great Old Quarter hotels as each generally sets a high standard. As an experienced user of this class of hotel however, I am somewhat more critical as there are good and there are truly excellent hotels within this sector. Don't expect fantastic guest facilities in this sector however, these a glorified bed and breakfast inns so all you have for judgement is the standard of service, the standard of care, the standard of the room and presentation and choice of food. As I also like to be picked up and dropped off by the hotel at the airport, this service is also rolled up into the overall perception of the hotel "experience". Where I think this hotel needs to pull its socks up is in the inconsistency of guest relations / customer service. The front desk staff vary from suoper polite to downright indifference!! There is little proactive "niceness". You almost have to squeeze it out of the front desk. One time asking for directions to the restaurant area of town the receptionist simply walked off to attend to something more important I guess. Her colleague took over, was immensely polite but sent me immediately off in the wrong direction!! The room is really very good. No complaints. Nice big window well appointed bathroom, all the conveniences, slippers, toothpaste, shoe shine etc etc. Water temperature in the shower was disappointing however, each time failing to deliver a decent warm shower. Bed fine, AC fine, TV big flat screen ... really everything you need but I do like a hot shower and don't like to compromise. Breakfast was not great. Unless you are up at 7am, everything is allowed to go cold and nasty and staff are few and far between. To counter all that cold sad looking food I did get a nice fresh hot omelette within minutes of asking. Generally then the hotel was OK. The Hotel Limousine was however nightmarish... bearing in mind the going rate is $18 each way and I am norma
Cheng S. Business travelers Singapore, April 23, 2015
Great Stay but Price a bit too high

Good BF, Bed and bath
7.3
1) Aircon start up too slow, take 10mins b4 feel the cold. 2) Find out Hotel Price is lower than Agoda price, US$80 Vs US$100
Ck S. Business travelers Malaysia, April 18, 2015
Good location and excellent service

The check in is very fast, the staff served us ice tea whike waiting. The location is near to the old quater, nearby there are many eating places.
9.3
The check in is very fast, the staff served us ice tea whike waiting. The location is near to the old quater, nearby there are many eating places. With the help of the front desk staff, we managed to rent a motorbike. When we complained that it is faulty - the hotel staff help to contact the motorbike company to have it changed. There's anew Italian ice cream shop selling creep and various types of ice cream.
Ck S. Business travelers Malaysia, April 11, 2015
Nice Hotel and fast check in

Location, clean ,spaceious room and friendly staffs
7.7
Thelocationis very ideal for travellers who plan to visit Spa by bus because Sapa Express ticketing office is just director opposite the hotel. So I had my breakfast at 6:30am , than walk over at 7am-super convenience. Sapa Express is a better alternative than taking a Train to Sapa- cheaper and faster. We felt very safe throughout the journey which took about 5 hrs. We left at 7am, arrived at Sapa centre at around 12pm.
Thomas R. Couples Australia, January 1, 2015
Acceptable, but can do better in Hanoi for price

Old quarter location, close to lake, close to coffee shops
8
Elsewhere this might get a better review, but in Hanoi visitors are spoilt for choice and there are better options in this price range (we stayed overnight in Hanoi on 3 separate occasions, each time in 3 star hotels). The room and bathroom were clean, new and well appointed. The breakfast was buffet style and typical of the high standard at this price point in Hanoi. There just wasn't anything exceptional about the room or service like we experienced elsewhere. Unfortunately the bed was also extremely hard, so much so that it was difficult to sleep. I had also ticked airport transfer when making the booking and as per Agoda's advice had tried to contact the hotel to confirm. They didn't reply and I therefore assumed that there would be no transfer. Nonetheless we looked for a sign when we arrived, but didn't see any so we proceeded to the hotel on our own. After we checked in, the manager called us and made his displeasure very clear that we had not taken the airport transfer which he claimed had been waiting for us. We thought we resolved this by explaining that we neither saw anyone waiting for us nor received any reply to my attempt to confirm the transfer. However, at checkout he presented us with a bill for the transfer. It took too much persistence from us to get him to withdraw it. This left us with a bit of a bad vibe about the place, especially compared the the warm friendly service (and comfortable beds) we experienced elsewhere in Vietnam.
Chun K. Business travelers Malaysia, September 23, 2014
Hotel with a very good service

Service, polite and efficient
8
It is a affordable hotel for traveler. The service very good, even i can print my web check-in boarding pass at the computer room and collect from the lobby. The staff very nice, helpful and try to facilitate. The location hotel also not so far from the old street, within a walking distance. Beside the hotel is a halal restaurant which suitable for muslim friends.
Ronald T. Couples Australia, July 20, 2014
Hotel very average

location
4.7
We had a last minute booking due to a overnight tour cancellation. The suite we were in was not to the standard of our other hotel which was unfortunately booked out. This hotel had vacancies & it is because it needs to look to improve everything from the cleaning of rooms, breakfast room & staff attentivness.
Pornipa P. Solo travelers Thailand, May 28, 2014
good

good
8
good room and friendly staff
Leow F. Families with young children Singapore, February 3, 2014
it nice and ok hotel

breakfast , air con and front desk
7.3
everything is almost nice except the hot water for shower is totally out because it only hot for afew min than it turn cold so every time i shower will be every unhappy .
1 - 10 of 69 reviews Next page
Authentic Hanoi Hotel HanoiAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BallroomAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Balcony/TerraceAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - ExteriorAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - LobbyAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - ReceptionAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Meeting RoomAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Meeting RoomAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe City ViewAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe City ViewAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe City ViewAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Premium Deluxe balcony or lake viewAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Premium Deluxe balcony or lake viewAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Premium Deluxe balcony or lake viewAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - BathroomAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Balcony/TerraceAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - ViewAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - LobbyAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - LobbyAuthentic Hanoi Hotel Hanoi - Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A04