arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 2046 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2046 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 9.0
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 8.1

5.7 AKIKO I.
Japan
August 06, 2013
Good for Family vacation
nice room, good facilities(gym, library, game center, kids club), nice environment
It is good for family vacation and everything is packed such as pool, kids club and gym. fast Check in with welcome drink and towel.However,I did not like that there is no transportation service from or to the airport. We took taxi from the air port which was 900B but the stuff introduce only 1500B taxi to the airport. Also, the stuff recommend us so bad quality and very expensive Kanpong? seafood restaurant. I feel that the stuff should be more honest to the customers.

9.7 Asfand K.
Pakistan
August 05, 2013
Amazing hotel, perfect for a romantic getaway
Friendly staff, delicious food, comfortable rooms
we were on out honeymoon and stayed at avista for 4 nights. I must say the best hotel to stay at if you want some quiet time away from the crazyness of patong. Was most pleased by the friendliness of the staff especially ms. Irene. Being muslim, the main concern for us was access to halal food. A nice Indian/Pakistani restaurant was nearby to cater to that. The hotel itself is very posh and the pools are amazing. 5 minutes walk to the nearby bazaar. The only downside that i found were grey bedsheets and tiring walk to the hotel as it is situated up a hill

9.7 MASHKOOR A.
Pakistan
August 01, 2013
Great comfort new setting supportive staff
Room size, bed size, great staff, good buffet breakfast
It was lovely stay we enjoyed every bit of it, although there was a steep road heading towards the hotel which is not good for elderly people if they are walking, otherwise nothing wrong with the hotel. Staff manager Iren was so good we only ask her to change the linen of the room and she apologise for the inconvenience and also send some fruit and cake, this gesture was so great we felt like home. Good breakfast the only point is that they have to put more ceiling fans or pedestal fans in the breakfast area as sometimes it is hot over there. Rest everything was in good shape, definitely I will recommend this hotel to others.

8 Edwin W.
Australia
July 31, 2013
A lovely stay, would definitely return
Great location, nice surroundings, close to beach
Avista was a comfortable, convenient stay, I would stay there again.

10 Xueyan M.
China
July 30, 2013
great experience
food pool staff
Great room Great Food Friendly Staff 1 minute from the beach

10 Xueyan M.
China
July 30, 2013
great experience
food pool staff
The staff is incredibly friendly, and the design of the room is awesome.

6.3 weike T.
Taiwan
July 28, 2013
should be better for a five star hotel
1. it was close to the beach. 2. breakfast was good. 3. close to the town
The stay at the avista was disappointing. the the room was a bit dated n the towels in the room look like they've been used for 100 years. i expected more from a five star hotel. The bellman didnt respond to us when we first arrived. i had to go to the front desk to ask for a bellman to get my luggage. the swimming pool was nice but there werent enough deckchairs around the pool so for the 3 days we stayed we didnt manage to lay out in the sun because there werent any place to lay out. The overall stay wasnt what i expected from a five star hotel, so this will be the last time i stay at avista.

8.7 Matthew R.
United Kingdom
July 26, 2013
Nice Hotel, Great Staff, some frustrating elements
1. Nice Room with a great bathroom. 2. Superb, friendly staff who went out of their way to make you feel welcome. 3. Location to Kata beach (if you don't mind a steep hill!)
The hotel was lovely although to be quoted 1500THB for an airport transfer when you can pick one up at the airport for roughly 900THB is very expensive. The room was comfortable with a good selection of English speaking TV channels with a nice balcony and a large bathroom. The view from my room was poor with only being able to see trees which, if cut back would give a great view of the sea. On arrival I was greeted with a drink, flowers and asked to choose 3 types of tea for my room. However, I never saw these in my room over the course of my stay. If they are going to offer tea in your room they should follow it through. The staff are the highlight of this hotel. Always smiling, always enquiring about your stay and they could not do enough for you. The WiFi was the big let down in this hotel. I had come away to relax but also to do some work. The internet connection kept dropping and was awful even when plugged in directly to the wall via Ethernet cable. The walk to the beach is a bit testing down the steep hill (and then back up!) but it is worth it when you do get to the beach. Stunning. I would suggest that this is a 3.5 star rather than a 4 star due to the niggles that can be easily corrected.

8 xue Y.
China
July 24, 2013
good place
service\ food \ place
nice

8.7 Tammy N.
Canada
July 24, 2013
Relaxing and friendly
Staff, size of room, and pool bar with the gets beside (kids liked to play on that)
I was with my husband, and daughters aged 2 and 3, as well as another couple with a 1 year old and a single guy. Upon arrival, I was early, the hotel was still waiting for the people in my room to check out, but because I had two toddlers they assigned me a temporary room (I was not complaining, they just offered), which was great. We were able to eat lunch, the girls had their nap, and then hung out at the pool, which was wonderful. When our room was ready, they gave us a call and let us know that we could move over at our leisure. They sent a bellman to help with our bags. Our next room was the same layout, but had a bit of a better view. I like to sit out on the balcony when the girls take a nap, so this was important to me. I was expecting more from the view, since we were at the top of the hill, but it was not the end of the world. We were trying to stay on the girls schedule for sleep, which made it hard to eat at the restaurant, since they closed after breakfast for the changeover to lunch, but the manager of the restaurant made us all sandwiches which was really great. A suggestion to the hotel would be to have a limited 24 hour menu for those that are coming in from different time zones. Our time difference was only an hour, but I picture people coming in from Canada, who would be starving in the middle of the night. The food in the restaurant was ok. My 3 year old and I ended up with food poisoning one night, although we cannot be positive that it came from the hotel, the only thing we had in common for food or drink was fruit juice at the pool bar. My daughter vomited in the bed twice. Although the level of English at this resort is very high, we had some troubles explaining that we needed to have the bed changed, which is unusual at 8pm I am sure. We finally got the bed linen changed, but my daughter vomited again. We stripped the bed and my husband went and found new sheets on his own this time. The beach is a short walk and there is a lovely rest