arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 2058 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2058 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 9.0
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Changzheng X.
China
October 08, 2012
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
Very close to the beach
I booked two night's seaview club room. The hotel is on the hillside with a walking distance to the beach. Also you can take a free shuttle to the beach. I like the beach very much, clean and peaceful,unlike patong. The servants are very kind and helpful which gave me a good stay in avista.

Ashraf M.
Yemen
October 07, 2012
Amazing Hotel
Everything
It was amazing . I spent good time with my wife in phuket and this hotel. I like the swimming pool.

Dolly T.
India
October 03, 2012
Lovely Hotel with a good location
Well located
Lovely Rooms, and the club rooms come with a lovely view as well. Well located and hardly a 5 minute walk away from a the beautiful kata beach. The only draw back is the small uphill walk to reach the hotel, especially if you have older people with you.

Karen Q.
Australia
October 01, 2012
Prompt service
Lovely pool area
Nice resort, not as good as the other 4 we stayed at a little dated, but then I think we were spoilt by the others. Terrible water pressure in the shower. Staff very nice.

Paul R.
Australia
September 29, 2012
Good location and facilities
location to beach and shops
Clean and well run hotel. Location near shops and beach is a big plus. Kata beach is good and safe to walk around and has plenty of places to eat. The hotel has a big pool which is the focus of guest activities. Breakfast is ok but not the greatest. Most rooms have a balcony with distant water views.

Denise C.
Australia
September 27, 2012
Nice hotel
good swimming pools
We stayed here for a short weekend break - Friday evening until Monday morning - and everything was to our satisfaction. Check in was a breeze and we were served fruit juices and were seated while the staff checked us in. Very friendly at reception and overall the staff very friendly. Nice big comfortable room, with a huge bed, a large sofa, good work station and a big balcony with 2 comfortable armchairs to sit out on in the evening, overlooking the pool. Loved the bathroom particularly as it came with a large separate bath (having a bath is a must I think for any hotel!). We only ate once at the hotel, which was room service on our last evening. The green curry was lovely. The only downside really is that you have to walk to the beach, not a long walk - only about 5-10 mins and most hotels here are not on the beach anyhow. But overall, nice hotel and good value for money.

Ernesto B.
Spain
September 24, 2012
Nice hotel in Kata
Good facilities and great breakfast
The room was nice and big, although the views were somehow dissapointing (very limited view to the sea). For a five stars hotel, quality is average. We were requested to provide a ´written guarantee´ just to have two umbrellas - not a nice detail for a luxury hotel.

Paul F.
Singapore
September 23, 2012
gem on a hill...
wonderful room, great pool, gym, extensive breakfast spread...
great hotel with lots to do in the nearby kata area. a stroll down the hill, to the right the beach to the left the shops, bars and restaurants of kata. rooms were spacious with a huge bed!!!

Xin O.
Singapore
September 22, 2012
Great location
English speaking receptionist at the counter
Location: Great location as it is near the beach and small eating houses are at walk-able distances. If you're not driving like me and just roaming around the hotel, you will need to climb up the hill (where Avista is located) and it is VERY steep (a good exercise thou). Room: Very nice, comfy and spacious. Bathroom has rain shower and a big bathtub (at least for me as I'm petite) with a see-through glass. Pool view outside the balcony which allows me to sit there and enjoy my food that was brought back from the weekend night market at Old Phuket Town.

John K.
Australia
September 21, 2012
The Service was the Ifference
Service, Service, Service
Our recent stay at Avista was for eleven nights and this is our forth trip back to Phuket. On each occasion we have stayed at a different hotel and on each occasion we have found the experience very different. The Avista is a much newer property than previous resorts we have stayed out and is very well presented. Our stay was in a Club Room, however regardless of the resort being on a hilltop, don't expect fantastic views of the ocean. Just the position on the buildings and the surroundings make it difficult. The rooms are modern, well presented and have numerous bits and pieces that set them apart from other resorts. 42inch LCD tv, neon lights in the bed head etc etc etc. For us however the service and the people were the real difference. The restaurant staff are fantastic as is the executive chef. They cannot do enough to please you and are always enquiring as to how they can make your stay better. I cannot give the staff a big enough wrap - they are amazing and it is the people who make this resort for us. Staff are available to provide you advice about tours etc, however they weren't pushy and only spoke to you If you asked about tours etc - this is probably the only time this will happen in Phuket! We will no doubt return to Thailand next year just to sit on the beach and do nothing, and unlike previous trips I will stay at the same hotel.