arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.8
Based on 6169 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 6169 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Jeremy C.
United States
January 15, 2014
Great place to stay if you want fun and nightlife
Location, nightlife, value
I've stayed at Baan Laimai several times on several visits to Phuket and the standard has never failed to disappoint. While the hotel is showing its age, its location, right in the heart of Patong, just in front of the beach cannot be beat. Mind you, Patong beach is overcrowded and the quintessential tourist trap, if it's your first time in Phuket and you long for the wild and fun nightlife that this holiday destination offers, then plant your bags at the Baan Laimai and venture out on foot for a great time. Bangla Street - the drinking/party/bar/entertainment center of Patong-Phuket is a 5 minute walk. The nicer Kata-Karon beaches are just 10 minutes by tuk-tuk. The area is busy and noisy with a lot of action and activity - so if you long for the quiet more "serene" side of Phuket you had better go further south to Kata-Karon or further north away from Patong. But if you want to party and have a good time in Patong - Baan Laimai hotel can't be beat.

Ho O.
Hong Kong
January 15, 2014
close to the beach
- Close to the beach

Rebecca E.
United States
January 14, 2014
extremely disappointing
good location, there were no other good things about this hote.
what a disappointment! we booked two non refundable rooms and when we arrived the hotel informed us they were overbooked and were going to send us to a sister property. we fussed and they found rooms for us. one room never had hot water our entire 4 night stay, despite the fact we asked the staff every day to fix it. one room had a leaky ac and was flooded our first night. the housekeeping was spotty at best, two of our four days they didn't get around to or forgot to clean our rooms. we booked (and paid!) for a 6 day stay and left 2 days early because the hotel was so disappointing

Ruomu T.
China
January 14, 2014
good location and view, nice pool, old room.
location, pool, view
The check-in process was rather slow, it took about half an hour. A lot of mosquito at the open reception and some in the room as there's no flyscreen at the balcony sliding door. The ocean-view room is big, overlooking hotel pool view and far ocean view is nice, but you can tell the room timber-floor, furniture and bathroom facilities are very old. The ground floor pool area is huge, very well presented and kids friendly. Breakfast is good enough and dinner area close to the beach is cool! The hotel new year eve Gala dinner that was compulsory to have was only good for looking but tasted very poor and it was very expensive. No free drink, not even water at the Gala dinner, very disappointed. But anyway, the NYE fireworks were absolutely great! My husband had food poison and I was trying to get medication from the reception but we were told no such service was available. Overall, the hotel location and view and pool are very good, but room and service is too old fashioned.

Paula R.
South Africa
January 13, 2014
Relaxing,
Pool area, large rooms, comfortable beds
The pool area is absolutely wonderful and so are the rooms. Bathrooms are nice and big with a lovely shower. The only downside to this resort is the staff service is shocking! We arrived at 18:00 and our room was not ready, bearing in mind that check in time is 14:00. We did not receive fresh towels on one of the days. Our room still had beer bottles on the balcony which were not cleaned up by room service. We asked for a wake up call which we did not land up receiving. My boyfriend called reception multiple times to ask for an ashtray, in which we did not receive during our stay. There were also very seldom towels for the pool area, and often had to wait and hour or so. It would be a 10/10 hotel if they jacked up on their service. We still enjoyed our stay.

Erin L.
Australia
January 13, 2014
Great location. Nice pool
Location, pool, balconies
The location is the best thing about this hotel right across the road from the beach. The pool is also very good although fairly crowded when we were there. This a very large hotel and as such was also very busy, checking in took us a long time. The hotel can be very noisy at night from street noise but I guess this is a sacrifice you make for the good location. If you're after the hustle and busy of Patong this hotel is for you.

Christopher G.
Australia
January 10, 2014
Great hotel!
Central to nightlife, beach, and shopping. Very friendly and helpful staff
Stay was great, only fault would be our showers were cold!

Sarah G.
Sweden
January 10, 2014
Beachfront hotel with a cold but large swimingpool
Close to beach but in the city, quite inside yor room!
Very good and and extra plus to the friendly restaurant staaf. But no cleaning inside your room if you didn´t ask for it :(. Hard to find hotel in Thailand for big families... But this hotel accepted tree chilkdren in ages of: 2, 9, 12 years old including two adults. In the room it was a sofa for de older children and me and my husband could share bed with our youngest child of 2 years old. In the pool area it ways playing children, very good! But no pool table as the hotel says in theire hotel information so we had to go to the pubs for playing with the children...

Karen K.
Singapore
January 10, 2014
disappointing
Great location, dining and live band
Bad service. SLOW check in. Papers everywhere on the desk, staff all looked stressed and messed up. All spoke not so good english except for a white guy. Lift broke down. Bell Boy helped me w luggage. Very weak wifi connection from room. Need to re log in more than 20 times within my stay 2 days 1 night. Room very dusty, ants were all crawling over the sugar and creamer sachets at tea maker place. Resort POWER OUTAGE 2 times in one night. Air con makes funny noises every 15 mins. Lots of mosquitoes. Was at previous hotel with mosquitoes but had no bites. when at this resort, I can count 18 bites. Resort is VERY near the beach. But people put fireworks at the beach in the night time. Even at 3am. Was jolted awake by the loud noises. Can hear the live band from room. But I loved the live band so not a problem to me. Could not get the reception 8 out of 10 times. Can't get the reception during check out and had to lug my own luggage down the stairs (lift broken). Overall, a very disappointed stay, but Pool is great and BREAKFAST WAS AWESOME!!!! Patong has poor breakfast shops, have to say hotel's breakfast was awesome. Restaurant staff spoke good english (EVEN BETTER THAN RECEP) Overall pool, restaurant and location good. otherwise, the interior of resort is very disappointing. staff unfriendly and unhelpful also. you can be better off staying elsewhere and drop by the restaurant. :) The place looks like it needed a makeover. Lights in the room took 5-10 seconds to have light coming out of it.

Melissa S.
Australia
January 09, 2014
Great resort/location and facilites
Food, location, cocktails
Views per had great Brekky, room was big comfy bed, good air con, clean, pool was great. Right on main road In the centre of patong. Walking distance to everything. Only bad thing was our view of dirty building next door but didn't ruin our stay at all. Highly recommend it. Value for money