or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Backpacker Stay

23 Carpenter Street, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Backpacker Stay Kuching - Single Backpacker Stay Kuching - Standard Double Backpacker Stay Kuching - Deluxe Double Backpacker Stay Kuching - Standard Twin Backpacker Stay Kuching - Superior Triple Backpacker Stay Kuching - Mixed Dorm Backpacker Stay Kuching - Quad Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Interior Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Exterior Backpacker Stay Kuching - Lobby
Backpacker Stay Kuching - Shops Backpacker Stay Kuching - Business Center
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 12
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
62 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
5.8
All reviews (62)
Sort by:
Penelope H. Solo travelers South Africa, February 21, 2015
Stay at backpacker stay

Location
6
Ok, bedroom no windows, bathrooms not great, people friendly and helpful.
Luis E. Solo travelers France, February 20, 2015
Avoid if you can!

Location
3.3
This place should be close for healthy and safety issues!... The two rooms that I saw during my stay have mould and fungus on the ceiling and walls that anybody with athsma or any other respiratory problem will get seriously ill.
Alice M. Solo travelers Australia, February 13, 2015
Damp

Location, cost
3
I had to check out after one night as the room was incredibly damp. There was black mould growing on one wall and the complete lack of ventilation meant that the room smelled like feet. The rest of the hostel was grimy with minimal decoration and unwelcoming communal spaces. The hot water didn't work in any of the three showers. Luckily at a night I was able to cut my losses and move elsewhere.
Nadja W. Solo travelers Germany, February 4, 2015
very dirty toilet and broken showers

location
4.3
The batroom downstairs was the worst I have seen so far after a long long time traveling. Water all over the floor (its not allowed to wear shoes in the hostel so you are right in it), broken toilet, mould, smelly, cigerette ashes - very bad! Upstairs was slightly better. They have three cold showers, but two of them are broken. The strawberry marmalade (only option) for breakfast was green on top and red at the bottom. The room was ok, but not much space for luggage or anything. no window in the room. When I arrived the staff only told me the roomnumber and let me find my own way. I had to ask for anything myself as they werent very communicative at all. There is no real common area to meet other travellers. I won't come back, sorry.
Rosalind L. Solo travelers Singapore, December 17, 2014
Backpacker stay on a budget

Great location, reasonable room size and price
6
Was able to check in earlier on arrival and given an upgrade to a twin room which was spacious. GREAT ! WIFI Access provided. Common bathroom in need of upgrade with broken shower head. Was rather inconvenient to have to climb up and down the stairs to access water dispenser located on ground floor. Convenient hostel location, very near Main Bazaar with its numerous row of shops selling souvenirs and handicraft. Can access modern shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka (5 mins walk). Walking distance to waterfront for view of Sarawak River and boarding the small boat to get across to the small village opposite. Situated next door to a Chinese food court which has one of the most delicious braised duck and kueh chap in South East Asia. Had a great time walking along Carpenter Street/Bishop Street exploring and having a feel of the bygone era.
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, December 9, 2014
Very Helpful +Friendly Staff-- so I returned !

Helpful STAFF, COMFORTABLE TWIN BED, Great LOCATION !
8
This was a quick return stay, before flying onward to KL... this time I chose the FEMALE DORM: it was empty, no others were booked, the twin bed is more comfortable than the over-soft double bed! Even though the room is next to the common eating area, it was quieter than the upstairs rooms, which recv noise from the next-door Chinese Food Court, which starts food prep btwn 3-4AM.... and can frequently be heard in the upstairs rooms. During my first stay, there was peanut butter available: this time, there wasn't any--and the night staff-person promised he would buy some PNB the next morning, before breakfast-- and it was there! Thank You! The areas are kept clean. However, the two broken shower-water-heaters were still broken, a month later... and the third shower (on the first floor) was still working quite well, with strong, HOT water -- helpful for shaving, ha ha ha. The location of Backpacker Stay is GREAT for the Cinema (2 wiin easy walking distance!), for Museums, the Natl Park+Tourist Info offices, the PO, and the newest shopping mall, Merdeka Plaza, as well as the Waterfront and the market streets of Jalan India and Main Bazaar. I recommend Backpacker Stay for fellow Budget Travellers to Kuching.
Jennifer U. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 24, 2014
worth every penny you spend!

budget, clean and location strategic
9.3
Definitely will come back stay here. Toilet and bathroom clean. Toiletries have to bring your own. Satisfied! Ps 1st time staying backpacking in kuching. Before this fancy hotel. I will say this is awesome!
Winston T. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 16, 2014
Homely Feel Stay

Clean bathroom, free flow cold and hot drinking water, clean beds
9
Value for money and friendly staffs.
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, November 10, 2014
Great location; CLEAN tho BASIC; Very FRIENDLY + H

location, price, clean
7.7
Backpacker Stay is a Clean and Friendly place to stay. The reason I left is bcz the bed was too soft. The staff are quite friendly and helpful-- he told me all the beds are soft, and even gave me suggestions of other places to look ! "Breakfast" is typical for Malaysia: bread (toast), margarine, jam, tea, and instant coffee. The rooms are clean, quite small, and basic. Each floor has two toilets. Three showers are on the first floor, to the side of the communal kitchen. When I was there, yesterday, only one shower gave HOT water-- however the cleaning person I asked did not speak English, and she was asking the desk person... perhaps all three do give hot water, as all three do have a heater (the plugs were turned on...??). **** You must 'rent' a towel for use. The neighborhood is safe for walking--just use common sense. It is located next to and across from two Food Courts, a 24hr 7-11, cafes, bars, restaurants, a 5 min walk from the most modern mall, and a 10 min walk from a cinema. The Tourist Information and Riverfront are 5 mins walk. It is located in Old Chinatown. I recommend Backpacker Stay for other budget travellers.
Yichen S. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 1, 2014
not bad

friendly staff, value for the price, good location
7.7

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Backpacker Stay Kuching - BackpackerstayBackpacker Stay Kuching - SingleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Standard DoubleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Deluxe DoubleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Standard TwinBackpacker Stay Kuching - Superior TripleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Mixed DormBackpacker Stay Kuching - Quad RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - InteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - ExteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - LobbyBackpacker Stay Kuching - ShopsBackpacker Stay Kuching - Business Center


AS-AGWEB-3B05