or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Backpacker Stay

23 Carpenter Street, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Backpacker Stay Kuching - Single Backpacker Stay Kuching - Standard Double Backpacker Stay Kuching - Deluxe Double Backpacker Stay Kuching - Standard Twin Backpacker Stay Kuching - Superior Triple Backpacker Stay Kuching - Female Dorm Backpacker Stay Kuching - Male Dorm Backpacker Stay Kuching - Mixed Dorm Backpacker Stay Kuching - Quad Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Interior Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom
Backpacker Stay Kuching - Exterior Backpacker Stay Kuching - Lobby Backpacker Stay Kuching - Shops Backpacker Stay Kuching - Business Center
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 12
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
57 reviews

Value for Money
8.7
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
8.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (57)
Sort by:
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, December 9, 2014
Very Helpful +Friendly Staff-- so I returned !

Helpful STAFF, COMFORTABLE TWIN BED, Great LOCATION !
8
This was a quick return stay, before flying onward to KL... this time I chose the FEMALE DORM: it was empty, no others were booked, the twin bed is more comfortable than the over-soft double bed! Even though the room is next to the common eating area, it was quieter than the upstairs rooms, which recv noise from the next-door Chinese Food Court, which starts food prep btwn 3-4AM.... and can frequently be heard in the upstairs rooms. During my first stay, there was peanut butter available: this time, there wasn't any--and the night staff-person promised he would buy some PNB the next morning, before breakfast-- and it was there! Thank You! The areas are kept clean. However, the two broken shower-water-heaters were still broken, a month later... and the third shower (on the first floor) was still working quite well, with strong, HOT water -- helpful for shaving, ha ha ha. The location of Backpacker Stay is GREAT for the Cinema (2 wiin easy walking distance!), for Museums, the Natl Park+Tourist Info offices, the PO, and the newest shopping mall, Merdeka Plaza, as well as the Waterfront and the market streets of Jalan India and Main Bazaar. I recommend Backpacker Stay for fellow Budget Travellers to Kuching.
Jennifer U. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 24, 2014
worth every penny you spend!

budget, clean and location strategic
9.3
Definitely will come back stay here. Toilet and bathroom clean. Toiletries have to bring your own. Satisfied! Ps 1st time staying backpacking in kuching. Before this fancy hotel. I will say this is awesome!
Winston T. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 16, 2014
Homely Feel Stay

Clean bathroom, free flow cold and hot drinking water, clean beds
9
Value for money and friendly staffs.
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, November 10, 2014
Great location; CLEAN tho BASIC; Very FRIENDLY + H

location, price, clean
7.7
Backpacker Stay is a Clean and Friendly place to stay. The reason I left is bcz the bed was too soft. The staff are quite friendly and helpful-- he told me all the beds are soft, and even gave me suggestions of other places to look ! "Breakfast" is typical for Malaysia: bread (toast), margarine, jam, tea, and instant coffee. The rooms are clean, quite small, and basic. Each floor has two toilets. Three showers are on the first floor, to the side of the communal kitchen. When I was there, yesterday, only one shower gave HOT water-- however the cleaning person I asked did not speak English, and she was asking the desk person... perhaps all three do give hot water, as all three do have a heater (the plugs were turned on...??). **** You must 'rent' a towel for use. The neighborhood is safe for walking--just use common sense. It is located next to and across from two Food Courts, a 24hr 7-11, cafes, bars, restaurants, a 5 min walk from the most modern mall, and a 10 min walk from a cinema. The Tourist Information and Riverfront are 5 mins walk. It is located in Old Chinatown. I recommend Backpacker Stay for other budget travellers.
Yichen S. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 1, 2014
not bad

friendly staff, value for the price, good location
7.7
Kelly E. Groups Australia, September 5, 2014
Good Staff, Uncomfortable Beds

Cheap, Cheap, Cheap
7.7
It's of noise from the restaurant next door and uncomfortable beds but for the low price it's a great option. Bathrooms were clean but the toilets could use fixing. Staff were very friendly and able to book taxis and other tourist shuttles. Great service from them.
Sheah Q. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 30, 2014
Feedback for stay from 28-30 Aug 2014

Strong wifi, strategic location, all-day bread and jam available
8.3
Satisfactory
Yeow Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 17, 2014
Will stay here again next year Kuching Marathon

Very convenient as nice food easily found. The Staff is very friendly and the place is clean.
9.3
Staff is friendly, good WIFI reception, you can find lots of nice restaurants around the area, if you prefer local rice or famous Sarawak noodle, the food count is just next door!!
Liek H. Groups Malaysia, August 17, 2014
Wonderful stay

the location, value for money, nice staff
7
the stay was nice although we had some problem with the booking as we should have taken up a quad room for 4 but the hotel voucher was printed as 1 occupancy. it solved at the end. enjoy the stay very much over rall.
Chee L. Solo travelers Malaysia, July 15, 2014
nice hotel , sincere staff , greet location

clean , location
9.3

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Backpacker Stay Kuching - BackpackerstayBackpacker Stay Kuching - SingleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Standard DoubleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Deluxe DoubleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Standard TwinBackpacker Stay Kuching - Superior TripleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Female DormBackpacker Stay Kuching - Male DormBackpacker Stay Kuching - Mixed DormBackpacker Stay Kuching - Quad RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - InteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - ExteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - LobbyBackpacker Stay Kuching - ShopsBackpacker Stay Kuching - Business Center


AS-AGWEB-3C02