Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Backpacker Stay

23, Carpenter Street, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.5

based on 73 reviews

63 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.3
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
5.7
All reviews (73)
Sort by:
Siti S. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 23, 2016
Review for this place
4.7
I did not expect more due to the price that i paid which around rm33 per night. But,i satisfied because : 1. Strategic. Tourist attractions is all around you ! 2. Restaurant 3. Souvenier place 4. Waterfront kuching nearby 5. Staff was friendly and helpful 6. Room was okey,air conditioner works perfectly ! 7. Shared bathroom / shower was okey. Only, i hope that : 1. Shared toilet should be kept clean 2. Breakfast?? My package include but i did not get any 3. Everyday should have people to change bed sheet. The blanket a bit smelly. 4. Should have laundry. I stayed 5 days 4 night there,my day was wonderful. This place is okey for people who budgeting. Eventhough surronded by pub nearby but i did not bother by it. By the way..the staff was really helpful and i really appreciated it ! The uncle was really nice.
Report this review
Suki M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 21, 2016
Quite a disappointment - would not go back
4
The location of this place is convenient and central. Thank you to the young man on reception for letting me use the wifi and book there and then! I stayed in a single room and it was damp and full of mould - I had to leave after one night. The overwhelming smell of damp made this an uncomfortable place to stay for me, as well as the tiny space, which looks like value for money but in reality is a poor choice. I didn't really understand the idea of the 'breakfast pack' - how sad! However, free hot and cold water is available, which was helpful. The rain (no fault of this hostel, of course) came in through the roof and just about everywhere, I didn't enjoy having to go downstairs and through the kitchen to have a shower. The whole place is oddly thought out and badly maintained, although very cheap (but you get what you pay for!)
Report this review
Damian C. Couples United States of America, January 26, 2016
Most Durian friendly accommodation!!!
5.3
Backpacker Stay had a very lovely staff, always smile when we came and went and always helpful to us. They were so kind to allow my fiancé and I to bring upwards to 6 durian into our room at a time. We know this was extreme but they allowed it anyway. Maybe they will change their durian policy after our stay there as most westerners do not have an interest in this odorous fruit. Luckily for them only a few other guest came and went during our visit to Kuching. We probably caught them off guard. Ha. And they were humble so not wanting to disappoint us. The stay is located right in the heart of City Center with easy access to most everything one would need. The large eatery next door stays open late and opens early so be prepared for the sound of dishes stacking. The lockers were big and spacious, we could easily fit all of our valuables onto them. The water was also warm and comfortable. The wifi signal was also dependable. I wish this establishment all the best and success in their future.
Report this review
Iskandar J. Solo travelers Indonesia, December 2, 2015
i won't recommend this hotel to anyone

location
3.3
Very bad! They didn't serve the breakfast until i asked them!!
Report this review
Dingyuan X. Solo travelers Singapore, August 26, 2015
affordable hostel in a prime location

location, cheap, relatively safe
7
The bed is too soft and the facilities are old despite the good points but for the price that I am paying, guess it is just the way it has to be. Noises from the floor and coffees hop nearby. Can be better but still recommended for anyone who wants a cheap accommodation. It was undergoing some renovation work when I was there, hence it might get better.
Report this review
Liek H. Groups Malaysia, August 16, 2015
Great location

strategy location, lots of good food around and the staff is friendly
6.3
Report this review
Sindhya S. Couples United States of America, August 10, 2015
Next to food!

Next to food court, friendly staff, location.
9
The food court next door was super convenient! Highly recommend kolo mee and popiah. Great location in Chinatown area. Plenty of places to eat and drink. Also, right around corner from river walk. We came for the Rainforest World Music Festival and got to know Ogos that works at the front desk. Super great guy, very accommodating and laid back. Standard room was nice enough, clean, air con, good wifi. Shared bathroom was also kept decently clean. Only inconvenience was having to go downstairs to shower. Oh and they provide you with water so you don't have to keep buying plastic. Yay.
Report this review
Jen K. Groups Malaysia, August 10, 2015
Undergoing Maintenance

So-so, nothing great this time around
6
We have stayed here twice in the past and had always been satisfied with the condition of this lodge. However, our stay this round was not great at all. I understand that the lodge is going through some maintenance work but that doesn't mean that you for-go cleanliness and hygiene in the premise. The dormitory was not cleaned before we checked in (there were some left over cans and dirt under our bed), we could not flush the toilet after use and the bathroom floor was dirty all the time (not to mention clogged by strands of hair and cigarette butt). Overall, very disappointed this time around. Will doubt to stay here again next time.
Report this review
Sebastian S. Groups Malaysia, May 3, 2015
Comfy and homey, clean, friendly

Feels comfotable and homey, place is clean and people here are generally friendly.
7
At first glance it doesn't look like much. But it's enough for backpackers as the name suggests. The shared bathrooms, toilets are generally clean. Double decker beds can be squeaky if you move a lot when you sleep. Not recommended for light sleepers as the walls are thin and sounds outside can easily be heard. Rooms have air con and quite comfy even for afternoon nap. Plug sockets are limited so it's recommended to bring an extension. They have tables and chairs at the common area to chill and hang out, even a TV with some decent shows just to relax. Location is good as there is a 7-11 just opposite the place, porridge and pork satay just beside it and a few more eating places along the road. The waterfront is just the row behind it with boat rides and beautiful scenery. It's walking distance from St Thomas church and Hilton as I was attending a friend's wedding. Also within walking distance is Plaza Merdeka if you fancy fast food and shopping malls. Overall quite a good experience except the staff there would smoke in the pantry and made my shirt smell like cigarettes.
Report this review
Kenson L. Groups Malaysia, May 3, 2015
Friendly, comfortable, clean.

Staff are caring, place is clean and comfortable, air cond is cold.
8
Good, pleasant stay.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 63 reviews Next page
Backpacker Stay KuchingBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BackpackerstayBackpacker Stay Kuching - LobbyBackpacker Stay Kuching - LobbyBackpacker Stay Kuching - ReceptionBackpacker Stay Kuching - ReceptionBackpacker Stay Kuching - Balcony/TerraceBackpacker Stay Kuching - FacilitiesBackpacker Stay Kuching - FacilitiesBackpacker Stay Kuching - Floor PlansBackpacker Stay Kuching - FacilitiesBackpacker Stay Kuching - Balcony/TerraceBackpacker Stay Kuching - Floor PlansBackpacker Stay Kuching - EntranceBackpacker Stay Kuching - ExteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - FacilitiesBackpacker Stay Kuching - Balcony/TerraceBackpacker Stay Kuching - Food and BeveragesBackpacker Stay Kuching - Nearby AttractionBackpacker Stay Kuching - ExteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - FacilitiesBackpacker Stay Kuching - Food and BeveragesBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - BankBackpacker Stay Kuching - 7 ElevenBackpacker Stay Kuching - BistroBackpacker Stay Kuching - Hot & cold drinking water


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B04