My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Backpacker Stay

23 Carpenter Street, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Backpacker Stay Kuching - Single Backpacker Stay Kuching - Standard Double Backpacker Stay Kuching - Deluxe Double Backpacker Stay Kuching - Standard Twin Backpacker Stay Kuching - Superior Triple Backpacker Stay Kuching - Female Dorm Backpacker Stay Kuching - Male Dorm Backpacker Stay Kuching - Mixed Dorm Backpacker Stay Kuching - Quad Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Interior Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom
Backpacker Stay Kuching - Exterior Backpacker Stay Kuching - Lobby Backpacker Stay Kuching - Shops Backpacker Stay Kuching - Business Center
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 12
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.5

based on
9 reviews

Value for Money
9.3
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
9.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.7
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
6.7
Couples (9)
Sort by:
Theressa M. Couples New Zealand, July 13, 2014
Nice atmosphere, great location in Old Chinatown

Friendly staff, clean rooms, clean showers/toilets
9
Pretty good, this place is great value for money, situated right in the middle of old chinatown. Possible only real downside was the wooden floors in the hallway and very noisy guests (the wall were pretty thin), but not the fault of the staff (although some QUIET PLEASE signs would go a long way). Also the chinese market restaurant is just next door which can be noisy, but worth it for a clean place to stay. It's also a bonus having 3 toilets that always had loo paper fully stocked (something you learn not to take for granted when travelling in Borneo). The staff were always happy to arrange tours and transport for you.
Theressa M. Couples New Zealand, July 9, 2014
Nice atmosphere, great location in Old Chinatown

Friendly staff, clean rooms, clean showers/toilets
9.3
Very good, read my other review for more info :)
Jen K. Couples Malaysia, June 23, 2014
Comfortable Stay

Easy access, quiet and calming
8
Our second time here and it's definitely a comfortable stay. Place is quiet and calming. Room is clean and just cozy enough for backpackers. There is a kitchen where you can prepare your own drink or make light breakfast. They do provide coffee, tea and bread.
Oliver B. Couples United Kingdom, October 15, 2013
Standard backpackers hostel

Perfect location, very friendly staff, competitive rates.
8.3
Backpackers stay on Carpenter Street was easy to get to from the airport by taxi (around 20RM), in absolutely perfect location located near (but not on) the waterfront, close to many bus hubs, near the tourist information centre, and with a food court right next door. This (Chinese) food court was however a bit loud in the evening, although it didn't stop me sleeping. If you've been to a backpackers hostel before, you know what to expect. The staff were very friendly, allowing me to print my airport boarding pass off on their reception desk computer. Would definitely stay again.
Oliver B. Couples United Kingdom, October 11, 2013
Standard backpackers hostel, would stay again.

Location, staff, value for money
8.7
If you've been to a backpackers hostel before, you know what to expect. We had a private double bedroom with air con, very small room (just big enough to fit the bed in!) but it's what we were expecting for £8/night, and the bed was comfortable. Great location, very friendly staff who allowed me to use their reception computer to print my boarding pass. Would definitely stay again.
Loris D. Couples Indonesia, October 9, 2013
a recommended budget hotel

value for money, clean, good location
7.7
Although the room was not too big, it was clean. The staff served us well. It is near to the places of interest. The bus station can also be reached on foot. I recommend this hotel for backpackers.
Fadzrina B. Couples July 1, 2013
Clean, Affordable, Friendly place

Clean, Great Location, Helpful Staff
8.7
I stayed here with my husband for the Rainforest Music festival. The host was friendly and great with their hospitality. Everything was clean which is always a plus for me. They help us in finding good food and assist me on how to get around. Toilet is most of the time clean. It gives u basic needs, the room that we got was quite spacious which i'm satisfied with. Just the toilet has no water hose, which i so wish they had so tht i don't have to need to gather water when i need it...but the toilet is clean. Overall i'm satisfied with my stay, n will consider to stay there again in the future.
Nicholas H. Couples United Kingdom, April 21, 2013
Perfect hostel

Outstanding cleanliness
8
We moved here from another hostel in Kuching. This was cheaper but 100% better. Close to all transport options and the main mall area. It is the cleanest mall I've ever been in
Klay A. Couples Indonesia, May 5, 2013
Hostel yang bersih dan staff yg ramah

keramahan, kebersihan dan kenyamanan
9
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Backpacker Stay Kuching - BackpackerstayBackpacker Stay Kuching - SingleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Standard DoubleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Deluxe DoubleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Standard TwinBackpacker Stay Kuching - Superior TripleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Female DormBackpacker Stay Kuching - Male DormBackpacker Stay Kuching - Mixed DormBackpacker Stay Kuching - Quad RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - InteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - ExteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - LobbyBackpacker Stay Kuching - ShopsBackpacker Stay Kuching - Business Center


AS-AGWEB-3A05