Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Backpacker Stay

23, Carpenter Street, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.2

based on 44 reviews

63 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
5.4
Solo travelers (44)
Sort by:
Siti S. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 23, 2016
Review for this place
4.7
I did not expect more due to the price that i paid which around rm33 per night. But,i satisfied because : 1. Strategic. Tourist attractions is all around you ! 2. Restaurant 3. Souvenier place 4. Waterfront kuching nearby 5. Staff was friendly and helpful 6. Room was okey,air conditioner works perfectly ! 7. Shared bathroom / shower was okey. Only, i hope that : 1. Shared toilet should be kept clean 2. Breakfast?? My package include but i did not get any 3. Everyday should have people to change bed sheet. The blanket a bit smelly. 4. Should have laundry. I stayed 5 days 4 night there,my day was wonderful. This place is okey for people who budgeting. Eventhough surronded by pub nearby but i did not bother by it. By the way..the staff was really helpful and i really appreciated it ! The uncle was really nice.
Report this review
Suki M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 21, 2016
Quite a disappointment - would not go back
4
The location of this place is convenient and central. Thank you to the young man on reception for letting me use the wifi and book there and then! I stayed in a single room and it was damp and full of mould - I had to leave after one night. The overwhelming smell of damp made this an uncomfortable place to stay for me, as well as the tiny space, which looks like value for money but in reality is a poor choice. I didn't really understand the idea of the 'breakfast pack' - how sad! However, free hot and cold water is available, which was helpful. The rain (no fault of this hostel, of course) came in through the roof and just about everywhere, I didn't enjoy having to go downstairs and through the kitchen to have a shower. The whole place is oddly thought out and badly maintained, although very cheap (but you get what you pay for!)
Report this review
Iskandar J. Solo travelers Indonesia, December 2, 2015
i won't recommend this hotel to anyone

location
3.3
Very bad! They didn't serve the breakfast until i asked them!!
Report this review
Dingyuan X. Solo travelers Singapore, August 26, 2015
affordable hostel in a prime location

location, cheap, relatively safe
7
The bed is too soft and the facilities are old despite the good points but for the price that I am paying, guess it is just the way it has to be. Noises from the floor and coffees hop nearby. Can be better but still recommended for anyone who wants a cheap accommodation. It was undergoing some renovation work when I was there, hence it might get better.
Report this review
Penelope H. Solo travelers South Africa, February 21, 2015
Stay at backpacker stay

Location
6
Ok, bedroom no windows, bathrooms not great, people friendly and helpful.
Report this review
Luis E. Solo travelers France, February 20, 2015
Avoid if you can!

Location
3.3
This place should be close for healthy and safety issues!... The two rooms that I saw during my stay have mould and fungus on the ceiling and walls that anybody with athsma or any other respiratory problem will get seriously ill.
Report this review
Alice M. Solo travelers Australia, February 13, 2015
Damp

Location, cost
3
I had to check out after one night as the room was incredibly damp. There was black mould growing on one wall and the complete lack of ventilation meant that the room smelled like feet. The rest of the hostel was grimy with minimal decoration and unwelcoming communal spaces. The hot water didn't work in any of the three showers. Luckily at a night I was able to cut my losses and move elsewhere.
Report this review
Nadja W. Solo travelers Germany, February 4, 2015
very dirty toilet and broken showers

location
4.3
The batroom downstairs was the worst I have seen so far after a long long time traveling. Water all over the floor (its not allowed to wear shoes in the hostel so you are right in it), broken toilet, mould, smelly, cigerette ashes - very bad! Upstairs was slightly better. They have three cold showers, but two of them are broken. The strawberry marmalade (only option) for breakfast was green on top and red at the bottom. The room was ok, but not much space for luggage or anything. no window in the room. When I arrived the staff only told me the roomnumber and let me find my own way. I had to ask for anything myself as they werent very communicative at all. There is no real common area to meet other travellers. I won't come back, sorry.
Report this review
Rosalind L. Solo travelers Singapore, December 17, 2014
Backpacker stay on a budget

Great location, reasonable room size and price
6
Was able to check in earlier on arrival and given an upgrade to a twin room which was spacious. GREAT ! WIFI Access provided. Common bathroom in need of upgrade with broken shower head. Was rather inconvenient to have to climb up and down the stairs to access water dispenser located on ground floor. Convenient hostel location, very near Main Bazaar with its numerous row of shops selling souvenirs and handicraft. Can access modern shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka (5 mins walk). Walking distance to waterfront for view of Sarawak River and boarding the small boat to get across to the small village opposite. Situated next door to a Chinese food court which has one of the most delicious braised duck and kueh chap in South East Asia. Had a great time walking along Carpenter Street/Bishop Street exploring and having a feel of the bygone era.
Report this review
Chandra G. Solo travelers United States of America, December 9, 2014
Very Helpful +Friendly Staff-- so I returned !

Helpful STAFF, COMFORTABLE TWIN BED, Great LOCATION !
8
This was a quick return stay, before flying onward to KL... this time I chose the FEMALE DORM: it was empty, no others were booked, the twin bed is more comfortable than the over-soft double bed! Even though the room is next to the common eating area, it was quieter than the upstairs rooms, which recv noise from the next-door Chinese Food Court, which starts food prep btwn 3-4AM.... and can frequently be heard in the upstairs rooms. During my first stay, there was peanut butter available: this time, there wasn't any--and the night staff-person promised he would buy some PNB the next morning, before breakfast-- and it was there! Thank You! The areas are kept clean. However, the two broken shower-water-heaters were still broken, a month later... and the third shower (on the first floor) was still working quite well, with strong, HOT water -- helpful for shaving, ha ha ha. The location of Backpacker Stay is GREAT for the Cinema (2 wiin easy walking distance!), for Museums, the Natl Park+Tourist Info offices, the PO, and the newest shopping mall, Merdeka Plaza, as well as the Waterfront and the market streets of Jalan India and Main Bazaar. I recommend Backpacker Stay for fellow Budget Travellers to Kuching.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 73 reviews Next page
Backpacker Stay KuchingBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BackpackerstayBackpacker Stay Kuching - LobbyBackpacker Stay Kuching - LobbyBackpacker Stay Kuching - ReceptionBackpacker Stay Kuching - ReceptionBackpacker Stay Kuching - Balcony/TerraceBackpacker Stay Kuching - FacilitiesBackpacker Stay Kuching - FacilitiesBackpacker Stay Kuching - Floor PlansBackpacker Stay Kuching - FacilitiesBackpacker Stay Kuching - Balcony/TerraceBackpacker Stay Kuching - Floor PlansBackpacker Stay Kuching - EntranceBackpacker Stay Kuching - ExteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - FacilitiesBackpacker Stay Kuching - Balcony/TerraceBackpacker Stay Kuching - Food and BeveragesBackpacker Stay Kuching - Nearby AttractionBackpacker Stay Kuching - ExteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - FacilitiesBackpacker Stay Kuching - Food and BeveragesBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - SurroundingsBackpacker Stay Kuching - BankBackpacker Stay Kuching - 7 ElevenBackpacker Stay Kuching - BistroBackpacker Stay Kuching - Hot & cold drinking water


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03