Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Backpacker Stay

23, Carpenter Street, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Backpacker Stay Kuching - Single Backpacker Stay Kuching - Standard Double Backpacker Stay Kuching - Deluxe Double Backpacker Stay Kuching - Standard Twin Backpacker Stay Kuching - Superior Triple Backpacker Stay Kuching - Mixed Dorm Backpacker Stay Kuching - Quad Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Interior Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Exterior Backpacker Stay Kuching - Lobby
Backpacker Stay Kuching - Shops Backpacker Stay Kuching - Business Center
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 12

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type


Very Good


based on
15 reviews

59 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
Groups (15)
Sort by:
Liek H. Groups Malaysia, August 16, 2015
Great location

strategy location, lots of good food around and the staff is friendly
Report this review
Jen K. Groups Malaysia, August 10, 2015
Undergoing Maintenance

So-so, nothing great this time around
We have stayed here twice in the past and had always been satisfied with the condition of this lodge. However, our stay this round was not great at all. I understand that the lodge is going through some maintenance work but that doesn't mean that you for-go cleanliness and hygiene in the premise. The dormitory was not cleaned before we checked in (there were some left over cans and dirt under our bed), we could not flush the toilet after use and the bathroom floor was dirty all the time (not to mention clogged by strands of hair and cigarette butt). Overall, very disappointed this time around. Will doubt to stay here again next time.
Report this review
Sebastian S. Groups Malaysia, May 3, 2015
Comfy and homey, clean, friendly

Feels comfotable and homey, place is clean and people here are generally friendly.
At first glance it doesn't look like much. But it's enough for backpackers as the name suggests. The shared bathrooms, toilets are generally clean. Double decker beds can be squeaky if you move a lot when you sleep. Not recommended for light sleepers as the walls are thin and sounds outside can easily be heard. Rooms have air con and quite comfy even for afternoon nap. Plug sockets are limited so it's recommended to bring an extension. They have tables and chairs at the common area to chill and hang out, even a TV with some decent shows just to relax. Location is good as there is a 7-11 just opposite the place, porridge and pork satay just beside it and a few more eating places along the road. The waterfront is just the row behind it with boat rides and beautiful scenery. It's walking distance from St Thomas church and Hilton as I was attending a friend's wedding. Also within walking distance is Plaza Merdeka if you fancy fast food and shopping malls. Overall quite a good experience except the staff there would smoke in the pantry and made my shirt smell like cigarettes.
Report this review
Kenson L. Groups Malaysia, May 3, 2015
Friendly, comfortable, clean.

Staff are caring, place is clean and comfortable, air cond is cold.
Good, pleasant stay.
Report this review
Kelly E. Groups Australia, September 5, 2014
Good Staff, Uncomfortable Beds

Cheap, Cheap, Cheap
It's of noise from the restaurant next door and uncomfortable beds but for the low price it's a great option. Bathrooms were clean but the toilets could use fixing. Staff were very friendly and able to book taxis and other tourist shuttles. Great service from them.
Report this review
Liek H. Groups Malaysia, August 17, 2014
Wonderful stay

the location, value for money, nice staff
the stay was nice although we had some problem with the booking as we should have taken up a quad room for 4 but the hotel voucher was printed as 1 occupancy. it solved at the end. enjoy the stay very much over rall.
Report this review
Kittipol T. Groups Thailand, April 7, 2014
Helpful staffs, Best location

Staff, Location, Comfortable
It's pretty good, We have 9 person late flight arrive at Midnight. We concern about check in process & neighbor disturb, but They still have standby staff & help to room arrangement. 2 staffs can help everything such as souvenir, call taxi, co with agent service, good restaurant. Best location, close to convenient store & waterfront, food hawker close in left side. Some trouble from toilet not so good from flushing system & my room have water drop from top. But overall is very nice
Report this review
Wen X. Groups Malaysia, October 20, 2013
comfortable room and friendly staff

people,clean environment,next to the delicious local food stalls
I enjoyed very much there. The host treat us like friends and easy to get the tourism information. Near to museum and enjoy a lot of local food that just located beside the stay.
Report this review
Nik M. Groups Malaysia, August 29, 2013
It was very convenient

Cleanliness, friendly staff, strategic location
Backpacker Stay is a very convenient place to stay. It scores a full mark on it's cleanliness. Very friendly staffs. Have security cameras all around for safety. Breakfast is provided. Very near to Kuching Waterfront, shopping malls, and other tourist attractions. Shower room is very clean and comfortable. The only negative thing is the toilet where tap water is not available, only tissue is provided.
Report this review
Jun Y. Groups Malaysia, July 7, 2013
Clean and valueble!!!

clean,price to value,friendly staff,easy check in and out.
Backpacker stay is clean and what you paid is worth.It has 3 toilets and 3 bathrooms with hot showers but the toilet got no water tap for you to wash...so they provided toilet papers.Maybe they should renovate their inn because when raining,water leakage happens!If not raining,overall it has no drawback at all! I will stay there if i visit kuching again!
Report this review
1 - 10 of 69 reviews Next page

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Backpacker Stay Kuching - BackpackerstayBackpacker Stay Kuching - SingleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Standard DoubleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Deluxe DoubleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Standard TwinBackpacker Stay Kuching - Superior TripleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Mixed DormBackpacker Stay Kuching - Quad RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - InteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - ExteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - LobbyBackpacker Stay Kuching - ShopsBackpacker Stay Kuching - Business Center

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.