or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Backpacker Stay

23 Carpenter Street, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Hotel Interior Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Lobby Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room
Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room Backpacker Stay Kuching - Business Center Backpacker Stay Kuching - Hotel Exterior Backpacker Stay Kuching - Shops Backpacker Stay Kuching - Bathroom Backpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room
Hotel Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 12
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
41 reviews

Value for Money
8.7
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
6.0
All reviews (41)
Sort by:
Kittipol T. Groups Thailand, April 7, 2014
Helpful staffs, Best location

Staff, Location, Comfortable
8.3
It's pretty good, We have 9 person late flight arrive at Midnight. We concern about check in process & neighbor disturb, but They still have standby staff & help to room arrangement. 2 staffs can help everything such as souvenir, call taxi, co with agent service, good restaurant. Best location, close to convenient store & waterfront, food hawker close in left side. Some trouble from toilet not so good from flushing system & my room have water drop from top. But overall is very nice
Ken C. Solo travelers Malaysia, March 16, 2014
Good stay, value for money

Cheap, good lacation. Value
8
Comfy bed, get to sleep. Only problem is no hot ahower, but i dont really mind.
Nurul S. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 29, 2013
Value for money

location, cheap, friendly staff
8.7
My 2nd stay in this hostel and would come again :) its just the sharing toilet has no water source (tissues only) so you have to carry the water from the bathroom. Anyway its a backpacking hostel so bear with it.
Ong S. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 15, 2013
Good and simple.

nice facilities, comfortable bed and simple room
8
At the center of the city of Kuching. Location near the old town street. Check in and check out easily. Got a lot of food around. Can visit a temple opposite there. But, it will be noisy at night until midnight
Wen X. Groups Malaysia, October 20, 2013
comfortable room and friendly staff

people,clean environment,next to the delicious local food stalls
8.3
I enjoyed very much there. The host treat us like friends and easy to get the tourism information. Near to museum and enjoy a lot of local food that just located beside the stay.
Oliver B. Couples United Kingdom, October 15, 2013
Standard backpackers hostel

Perfect location, very friendly staff, competitive rates.
8.3
Backpackers stay on Carpenter Street was easy to get to from the airport by taxi (around 20RM), in absolutely perfect location located near (but not on) the waterfront, close to many bus hubs, near the tourist information centre, and with a food court right next door. This (Chinese) food court was however a bit loud in the evening, although it didn't stop me sleeping. If you've been to a backpackers hostel before, you know what to expect. The staff were very friendly, allowing me to print my airport boarding pass off on their reception desk computer. Would definitely stay again.
Nurul S. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 14, 2013
Just ok.

Comfortable, Cheap, Good Location
7.7
I was alone in the 6-bed room during my trip. The room was clean, aircond fully functioning, and fast wifi connection. Friendly staff too. However, it could get quite noisy during the nights. I was staying in female dorm, and have to share the bathroom with others. However, the location is very good. Its near Padang Merdeka and Plaza Merdeka Mall. Its also within walking distance to Kuching Waterfront and museums. Recomendables.
Oliver B. Couples United Kingdom, October 11, 2013
Standard backpackers hostel, would stay again.

Location, staff, value for money
8.7
If you've been to a backpackers hostel before, you know what to expect. We had a private double bedroom with air con, very small room (just big enough to fit the bed in!) but it's what we were expecting for £8/night, and the bed was comfortable. Great location, very friendly staff who allowed me to use their reception computer to print my boarding pass. Would definitely stay again.
Loris D. Couples Indonesia, October 9, 2013
a recommended budget hotel

value for money, clean, good location
7.7
Although the room was not too big, it was clean. The staff served us well. It is near to the places of interest. The bus station can also be reached on foot. I recommend this hotel for backpackers.
Lian Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 7, 2013
center located

Budget, Clean, friendly staff
7.3

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Backpacker Stay Kuching - BackpackerstayBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Hotel InteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - LobbyBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Business CenterBackpacker Stay Kuching - Hotel ExteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - ShopsBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B02