Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Backpacker Stay

23, Carpenter Street, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.6

based on
70 reviews

60 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.3
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
5.7
All reviews (70)
Sort by:
Iskandar J. Solo travelers Indonesia, December 2, 2015
i won't recommend this hotel to anyone

location
3.3
Very bad! They didn't serve the breakfast until i asked them!!
Report this review
Dingyuan X. Solo travelers Singapore, August 26, 2015
affordable hostel in a prime location

location, cheap, relatively safe
7
The bed is too soft and the facilities are old despite the good points but for the price that I am paying, guess it is just the way it has to be. Noises from the floor and coffees hop nearby. Can be better but still recommended for anyone who wants a cheap accommodation. It was undergoing some renovation work when I was there, hence it might get better.
Report this review
Liek H. Groups Malaysia, August 16, 2015
Great location

strategy location, lots of good food around and the staff is friendly
6.3
Report this review
Sindhya S. Couples United States of America, August 10, 2015
Next to food!

Next to food court, friendly staff, location.
9
The food court next door was super convenient! Highly recommend kolo mee and popiah. Great location in Chinatown area. Plenty of places to eat and drink. Also, right around corner from river walk. We came for the Rainforest World Music Festival and got to know Ogos that works at the front desk. Super great guy, very accommodating and laid back. Standard room was nice enough, clean, air con, good wifi. Shared bathroom was also kept decently clean. Only inconvenience was having to go downstairs to shower. Oh and they provide you with water so you don't have to keep buying plastic. Yay.
Report this review
Jen K. Groups Malaysia, August 10, 2015
Undergoing Maintenance

So-so, nothing great this time around
6
We have stayed here twice in the past and had always been satisfied with the condition of this lodge. However, our stay this round was not great at all. I understand that the lodge is going through some maintenance work but that doesn't mean that you for-go cleanliness and hygiene in the premise. The dormitory was not cleaned before we checked in (there were some left over cans and dirt under our bed), we could not flush the toilet after use and the bathroom floor was dirty all the time (not to mention clogged by strands of hair and cigarette butt). Overall, very disappointed this time around. Will doubt to stay here again next time.
Report this review
Sebastian S. Groups Malaysia, May 3, 2015
Comfy and homey, clean, friendly

Feels comfotable and homey, place is clean and people here are generally friendly.
7
At first glance it doesn't look like much. But it's enough for backpackers as the name suggests. The shared bathrooms, toilets are generally clean. Double decker beds can be squeaky if you move a lot when you sleep. Not recommended for light sleepers as the walls are thin and sounds outside can easily be heard. Rooms have air con and quite comfy even for afternoon nap. Plug sockets are limited so it's recommended to bring an extension. They have tables and chairs at the common area to chill and hang out, even a TV with some decent shows just to relax. Location is good as there is a 7-11 just opposite the place, porridge and pork satay just beside it and a few more eating places along the road. The waterfront is just the row behind it with boat rides and beautiful scenery. It's walking distance from St Thomas church and Hilton as I was attending a friend's wedding. Also within walking distance is Plaza Merdeka if you fancy fast food and shopping malls. Overall quite a good experience except the staff there would smoke in the pantry and made my shirt smell like cigarettes.
Report this review
Kenson L. Groups Malaysia, May 3, 2015
Friendly, comfortable, clean.

Staff are caring, place is clean and comfortable, air cond is cold.
8
Good, pleasant stay.
Report this review
Penelope H. Solo travelers South Africa, February 21, 2015
Stay at backpacker stay

Location
6
Ok, bedroom no windows, bathrooms not great, people friendly and helpful.
Report this review
Luis E. Solo travelers France, February 20, 2015
Avoid if you can!

Location
3.3
This place should be close for healthy and safety issues!... The two rooms that I saw during my stay have mould and fungus on the ceiling and walls that anybody with athsma or any other respiratory problem will get seriously ill.
Report this review
Alice M. Solo travelers Australia, February 13, 2015
Damp

Location, cost
3
I had to check out after one night as the room was incredibly damp. There was black mould growing on one wall and the complete lack of ventilation meant that the room smelled like feet. The rest of the hostel was grimy with minimal decoration and unwelcoming communal spaces. The hot water didn't work in any of the three showers. Luckily at a night I was able to cut my losses and move elsewhere.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 60 reviews Next page
Backpacker Stay Kuching - BackpackerstayBackpacker Stay Kuching - SingleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Standard DoubleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Deluxe DoubleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Standard TwinBackpacker Stay Kuching - Superior TripleBackpacker Stay Kuching - Mixed DormBackpacker Stay Kuching - Quad RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - Guest RoomBackpacker Stay Kuching - InteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - BathroomBackpacker Stay Kuching - ExteriorBackpacker Stay Kuching - LobbyBackpacker Stay Kuching - ShopsBackpacker Stay Kuching - Business Center


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07