or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bagan Umbra Hotel

Wet Kyi Inn,Bagan Nyaung U, Historical Bagan and Airport Area, Bagan, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Golden Express Hotel
Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Spa Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Swimming Pool Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe King Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Surroundings Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Standard Room Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Superior room Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - View Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Deluxe Room Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Bathroom Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Exterior Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Bathroom Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Superior Room Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Exterior Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Garden Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe Twin Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe Twin
Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Interior Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Swimming Pool Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Lobby Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - View Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Exterior Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe King Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Deluxe Twin Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe Twin Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Restaurant Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Bathroom Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Interior Bagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Interior
Area: Historical Bagan and Airport Area Number of Rooms: 89
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
539 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (539)
Sort by:
Mohamed T. Solo travelers Canada, March 21, 2015
Mixed bag

The quality of the food was very good and well-priced. It was possible to rent bicycles, e-bikes and scooters on-site and taxis and horse carts were at the gate of the hotel. Great pool area with a vi
8
Having said that, the standard room could best be described as simple barracks-style in one of several rows to the front and side of the hotel - great for backpackers but not so great for someone expecting comfort. I was able to move up to a Deluxe room which was well appounted and had more light as well as access to the pool area. Service and reception were sometimes frustrating - e.g. getting an early wake-up call, finding a taxi and checking out in the early morning. Room service overlooked re-doing my room one day ... That unfavourably coloured my stay.
Mikhail K. Couples Belarus, March 18, 2015
Great stay in Bagan

Helpful staff, location and simply beautiful town
9.7
Great
Ruediger R. Solo travelers Germany, March 14, 2015
It's all about expectation

Pool, Location, Atmosphere
8.7
Exceeded our expectation.
Karolina R. Couples Poland, March 14, 2015
great swimming pool

swiming pool, breakfast, location
8
Good place to stay for few days. There was so hot during our stay that the swiming pool was very useful after visiting ruins. Standard rooms are definately overpriced and need renovation. Staff is great and eager to help all the time. There's nice restaurant next to the hotel with BBQ and good food in reasonable prices. They rent bikes and electric bikes for 6000kyat/4hours. Good location. First stupa you can see from swiming pool and others are few minutes walk. Main complex is few minutes drive on e bike from the hotel.
Wing Y. Solo travelers Hong Kong, March 13, 2015
a hotel with a fair price

fair price, good location and beautiful swimming pool view
6
Karen L. Couples Canada, March 3, 2015
Very comfortable

Rooms big, clean and comfortable. (New part)
10
We arrived and upgraded to the newer part of the hotel for $20 per night. Was well worth it. The rooms are beautiful, cool, and a big king size bed. Good shower. The pool is a must given the tempature in Bagan was over 40C. Would recommend this hotel. It is closer to a 4+ star hotel in the newer part. No complaints. (The Internet is stronger around the pool area but for the most part we were connected.
Nicolette S. Solo travelers Singapore, March 2, 2015
Perfect hideaway in Bagan

The swimming pool, accessibility to restaurants, staff
7.7
Bagan Umbra was great for the three of us traveling in from Yangon. We got a room in one of the older wings and while the bathroom was obviously a little dated and could use a minor touch-up, the room was adequate. The beds were comfortable and the air-conditioning worked well. One of the highlights of the hotel was the staff, they were attentive and quick to help. When our pick-up to the bus station came an hour earlier than expected, the staff searched the hotel grounds for us to inform us. Staff were also very friendly and everyone I came across on the hotel greeted me with a smile. Another highlight was the swimming pool. The main pool is well maintained and provides for the perfect place to relax after a full day of temple visiting. The two other pools leave much to be desired - when we were there, one was under repair and the children's pool looked very dodgy. However, the one working pool makes up for it. Location-wise, the hotel is located at the end of Nyaung U just before Old Bagan begins and is just a few minutes walk away from a couple of restaurants with pretty decent food. The street is pretty quiet compared to the hustle of the other backpackers areas in Nyaung U so if you are looking for the hustle and bustle of backpacker area, this may not be the place for you. We did enjoy the respite though. We were also greeted in the morning by the view of some hot air-balloons passing our way - Although I don't know if this is a regular thing. Our breakfast was inclusive but we found out it costs 5000 Kyat and it is pretty worth it if you aren't expecting too much. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone going to Bagan and looking for a mid-range hotel to stay in.
Gabrielle S. Couples Australia, March 1, 2015
a stay in the old rooms

the pool! advice on restaurant for local food.
4.7
Just one night, room basic but ok. Other new rooms were presumably much nicer given the stunning pool area they overlook. However I think the price for our room was a similar rate
Birgit L. Couples Estonia, March 1, 2015
staying at Umbra

Pool, pool, pool
6
really nice
Thu P. Couples Vietnam, February 26, 2015
Desert oasis

breakfast, pool party, location
8
The hotel is conveniently located between Old Bagan and Nayung Oo, with close proximity to the major temples and pagodas. The hotel also has a pool so bring your swimsuit. My favourite part about the hotel included the wide selection of breakfast and the BBQ buffett in the evening. The downside is the unmodern bathroom.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Bagan Umbra Hotel BaganBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - SpaBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Swimming PoolBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe KingBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - SurroundingsBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Standard RoomBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Superior roomBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - ViewBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Deluxe RoomBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - BathroomBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - ExteriorBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - BathroomBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Superior RoomBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - ExteriorBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - GardenBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe TwinBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe TwinBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - InteriorBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Swimming PoolBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - LobbyBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - ViewBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - ExteriorBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe KingBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Deluxe TwinBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe TwinBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - RestaurantBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - BathroomBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - InteriorBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - InteriorBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - ExteriorBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Grand Deluxe KingBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Standard KingBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - GardenBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - InteriorBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Superior TwinBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - BathroomBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Guest RoomBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - GardenBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Superior TwinBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - ReceptionBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Swimming PoolBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Deluxe TwinBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - InteriorBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Pub/LoungeBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Swimming PoolBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Balcony/TerraceBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Deluxe TwinBagan Umbra Hotel Bagan - Garden

Customer Reviews - Bagan Umbra Hotel, Bagan

AS-AGWEB-3B08