Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bali Eco Village

Jalan Catur, Banjar Lawak, Belok sidan, Petang, Badung, Payangan, Bali, Indonesia 80353

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.6

based on 57 reviews

43 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.5
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (57)
Sort by:
Beatrice L. Couples Malaysia, April 17, 2016
Not as what we expected
3.3
First of all it was not mentioned that this place was abandoned for almost a year!! The photo on the website was taken years ago and the structure was totally destroyed and being rebuild. The road was so bad and you need to use 4WD to get there. Nonetheless the place is peaceful as we are the only couple checking in to this place!! The walkway to the waterfalls also quite bushy as it seems no one walking down to the waterfalls for quite sometime. On positive note am sure after the renovation the place should be good again in the next 6 months from now. The staff are amazing anyway and makes our stay as comfortable as they can do.
Report this review
Peter E. Couples Australia, August 7, 2015
New life ahead for a beautifully located resort

the quiet, location, dining room
7
It looks like a lot is about to change at this still lovely but tired resort. BEV has just changed hands and the new owner is currently reviewing the operation. She is very aware of the potential to improve and is full of energy and vision. There are big plans to restore this beautiful old resort to what it might become. Anyway, as we found it now.. If your ears need a holiday Bali Eco Village is a perfect place. It's quiet, wonderfully, deliciously still and even the roosters are muffled. Should you go looking for it you'll find the sounds of gently running water everywhere, discreet bird chatter and other aural delights. And if you need quiet to sleep, get ready for..ZZZZZ. Your ears, seriously, they'll be loving it here. If your ears are happy at BEV it's likely your eyes will be smiling too. While it's a taxi driver daunting trek to get here the valley setting surrounded by jungle is quite beautiful. Using the word Eco in the name of a place however, often seems to give permission to be a bit run down and to skimp on maintenance. There were elements of neglect in our standard room which was tired and a bit mouldy. It seems pretty clear though that this is about to change Where this lovely, resort was let down for us though was in the food. This is not unimportant as there are no alternative dining options for many miles. You stay here, you will eat here. We were served a couple of meals that were really not that good. To be fair though, it turned out the usual chef was away and kitchen duties had been thrust on someone who tried hard but was unprepared for the task. We stayed a second night and the meal was slightly better Also, any disappointment with the cooking was almost forgotten sitting in the gothic bamboo of the main dining hall which at night is quite a spectacular space So a gloriously isolated, rustic resort in a serene location with smiling helpful staff, well worth a visit now but soon to be updated and much improved by a new owner.
Report this review
Michael P. Couples Germany, June 24, 2015
Splendid isolation

Right in the jungle, very friendly staff, eco friendly
8
A good location to explore the mountains and to relax in tranquility.
Report this review
Kimberlee R. Families with young children Australia, May 28, 2015
goid to be away

food, relaxation, no tv
8
Fantastic night. No tv or internet meant exploring and family time in the games room
Report this review
Annelies V. Families with young children Belgium, May 18, 2015
Trip with 10-month old

Friendly staff, quality of the food, superb location
7
The complex is located on the most beautiful place, with beatifull materials and has a very nice Eco- vision which we want to support! But overall the construction does not seem well- maintained. It's in the details... Lots of broken things, paint that bladders, mold in the rooms, very dirty curtains and cushion covers in the room... In general it is a super nice place, but due to these little things you have the feeling that the value for money is not really the best. Staff was super friendly, we traveled with a 10month old and they helped with whatever they could, but in general not a very pro-actif staff. It was not clear to us who was in charge and everything we asked (info about Trekkings, tours, possibility for a motorbike) had to be checked first on the phone, and we got answers hours later, which is very inconvenient if you are trying to plan your stay. Our most expensive accommodation on a 3 week trip in Bali, but sadly not the best experience we had. Food was super good, but overpriced compared to most places in Bali.
Report this review
Laurence L. Families with young children France, April 15, 2015
Great place

lost in the middle of nowhere, wonderful place to stay for a peaceful experience. The food was great also!
8.7
Report this review
Marie-Claire S. Families with older children Canada, December 30, 2014
A modern but exotic haven

The staff is very helpful and friendly.
8.3
Our stay was very pleasant. The hotel is away from the bustle of Ubud, yet close enough that it can be reached in a 10-minute drive. Resting by the pool after a hot day of activities makes for a divine experience. The outdoor shower was terrific. Our breakfast was delicious. Some reviews mentioned the toasts not being up to snuff. Now they have whole wheat or white, and they were very good. Overall, we all had a delightful stay.
Report this review
Kerry M. Couples Australia, September 6, 2014
Not what it seems....

Quiet location
2.7
After seeing other reviews and looking at pictures, I decided to book this place. Well...even our driver did not want to leave us here. A long way from the main road on a very dodgy track. The cabins are so old, weeds everywhere. People living under the Cabins. Lights not working, Our cabin balcony had a lean...we did not want to stay. In fact we had paid for 3 nights and got out of there after 1st night. Luckily we got a ride with another couple who were also leaving. What a shame as the accommodation looked lovely , but nothing like this when you arrive. I believe it has changed hands and hopefully they might put some money back into the maintenance and facilities. What a disappointment and also extra cost to pay a driver back to Ubud (2 hours) then find another place to stay. NO refund was offered. Would not recommend this place unless you are prepared to really rough it.
Report this review
Victoria N. Families with older children United Kingdom, August 31, 2014
remote entrancing eco hotel

the location, the views, the peace
7.7
Very fine views and peaceful nights. Sadly, it is changing hands....but a marvellous experience
Report this review
Jul M. Couples Canada, August 22, 2014
Incredible escape from the city

Stunning area, quiet, isolated
7
Only got to stay for one night but it was everything we hoped it would be. Perfect escape from the city scape - hard to believe a place like that in Bali exists. Had a good time in free morning yoga and free breakfast was tasty and filling. Room was a little difficult to keep clean but not different from what you would expect given that it's in the middle of the forest. Make sure you wash out the kettle properly as we managed to breed some kind of eggs in ours.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 43 reviews Next page
Bali Eco Village BaliBali Eco Village Bali - Surrounded by natureBali Eco Village Bali - SurroundingsBali Eco Village Bali - ExteriorBali Eco Village Bali - SurroundingsBali Eco Village Bali - SurroundingsBali Eco Village Bali - SurroundingsBali Eco Village Bali - ExteriorBali Eco Village Bali - Balcony/TerraceBali Eco Village Bali - Guest RoomBali Eco Village Bali - Guest RoomBali Eco Village Bali - GardenBali Eco Village Bali - SurroundingsBali Eco Village Bali - ExteriorBali Eco Village Bali - Recreational FacilitiesBali Eco Village Bali - ExteriorBali Eco Village Bali - InteriorBali Eco Village Bali - Guest RoomBali Eco Village Bali - Guest RoomBali Eco Village Bali - Exterior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C07