or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Balmain Backpackers

673-677 Darling Street, Rozelle, Balmain, Sydney, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Double/Twin Room Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Dormitory Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Bathroom Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Shared Bathroom Facilities Balmain Backpackers Sydney - BBQ Balcony Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Hotel Exterior Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Common Lounge Room Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Common Lounge Area Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Common Lounge Room Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Surrounding Area Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Thumb Ferry Balmain Backpackers Sydney - Hotel Exterior
Hotel Area: Balmain Number of Rooms: 20

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Above average

5.6

based on
14 reviews

Value for Money
6.3
Location
6.3
Staff Performance
6.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
4.9
Room Comfort/Standard
5.4
Food/Dining
4.3
All reviews (14)
Sort by:
Samuel S. Solo travelers Germany, July 11, 2013
superb staff. felt like a home away from home.

clean room, comfortable bed, well equipped kitchen
8.7
it is a hostel and not a hotel. yes. but it has everything you need and is by far the cheapest option you can find in sydney. it has a vivid and international student flat-sharing atmosphere during the day and it is quite during the night. rooms ad bathrooms are cleaned every day. owner and staff are very helpful and easy to talk with. i would defo stay here again!
Tal G. Solo travelers Australia, April 9, 2013
Enjoyed my stay

friendly, good location, good bed
7
It's definitely a backpackers, so don't expect a hotel. But the day manager was very helpful and friendly, the bed and bedding was fine - clean and comfortable, and the place was cleaned very regularly. About 20 mins to the city centre once you are on the bus. I enjoyed my stay.
Nanae I. Solo travelers Japan, March 10, 2013
Nice people

Staff, People living tghere, atmosphere
4.3
There were many tourists or working holiday people in Balmain Backpackers. If you really like to communicate with people from all over the world, Balmain Backpackers would be the best!
Michael B. Couples Germany, May 29, 2012
Nightmare!

"Interesting" residents; unforgettable experience
2.3
Please never stay there! The building in general is rather strange with mix of different rooms. There are plenty of bathrooms, unfortunately all of them are very filthy and decorated with puddles of urin and lots of mold despite being superficially cleaned each morning. We had a tiny twin room with a bunk bed. When we first stepped in, we couldn't believe our eyes: The mattresses were covered in dandruff and other materials I prefer not to know exactly. The blanket was full of stains and smelt disgustingly. They didn't provide us with clean sheets! Everything in the room felt very sticky but you woudn't want to touch anything anyway. My girlfriend cried a lot there and wanted to cancel the whole trip. Thus we had to leave two days early, actually three, but we couldn't find any other place on such short notice. So be careful when booking, because they don't give any refunds. They will provide you, however, with a nontransferable voucher. I am rather convinced that I won't make use of this "generous courtesy". tl;dr Don't stay there.
Niina N. Solo travelers Finland, April 29, 2012
Great people hotel

Other people staying at the hotel and the location
5.7
My room at the Backpackers was one of the smallest ones and at first I was quite shocked about it. But when I got to know the other people in that room it wasn't so bad after all. The hotel wasn't the cleanest or the nicest on I stayed in but the atmosphere and the other people were the best. I really liked the common rooms and it was good that there were enough bathrooms in the hostel. And the location at Balmain was actually quite good because there were lots of restaurants, grocery stores, bars, bottle shops and pharmacies around. Bus stops were near and there was taxis going all the time so it was also easy to go see rest of Sydney. I would recommend this hotel to people who are open minded and social and aren't afraid of a little mess.
Rossella E. Couples Italy, April 29, 2012
Avoid this hostel...it's the worste hostel

cheap
3
Our room was really dirty,matress very old and unconfortable,they never use the vacuum,the bin was full when we arrived and sheet with stain and bad smell.The bathrooms very very dirty.The breakfast was only bread and coffee/tea nothing else.The wi-fi don't worked just anytime in a garage.It's just cheap but orrible hostels with unfriendly staff.
Hanspeter H. Solo travelers Germany, December 22, 2013
Nicht empfehlenswert

Personal war freundlich,gute Anbindung an den Busverkehr, inter. Gaeste
3
Der Zustand des Gebaudes ist schlecht, weit ausserhalb des Zentrums und z.Zt. defekte(bzw. beschaedigte) , nicht empfehlenswert das Preis-Leistungsverhaeltnis stimmt nicht.
Melanie D. Groups Germany, November 11, 2013
sehr nette leute, aber sehr dreckig

die mitreisenden, schnell in der city
3.7
nicht sehr angenehm: sehr laut, sehr dreckig, alt aber das personal war nett (sie trifft keine schuld) alle anderen gäste sehr nett
Marco M. Solo travelers Germany, June 8, 2013
Sehr freundliche Leute und günstige Übernachtungen

Guter Preis, nette Leute, gut gelegen
8
Nobuhiko S. Solo travelers Japan, November 11, 2012
宿泊客同士が楽しめる宿

宿泊客に対する干渉がなく、伸び伸びと客同士が対話を楽しんでいた。
6.7
私は、年配者なのでシングルに宿泊しましたが、若い人は相部屋でした。でも、自由な雰囲気があり、世界中から集まった皆さんは、夜になるとバ-ベキュ-、カ-ドゲ-ム等で意思疎通を図っていました。ただ、英語の苦手な人には、ちょつときついかもしれません。
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: ブル-マウンテンツア-に参加しましたが、ホテルの手配で迎えに来てくれる等、不便さを感じませんでした。

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Balmain Backpackers Sydney - EntranceBalmain Backpackers Sydney - Double/Twin RoomBalmain Backpackers Sydney - DormitoryBalmain Backpackers Sydney - BathroomBalmain Backpackers Sydney - Shared Bathroom FacilitiesBalmain Backpackers Sydney - BBQ BalconyBalmain Backpackers Sydney - Hotel ExteriorBalmain Backpackers Sydney - Common Lounge RoomBalmain Backpackers Sydney - Common Lounge AreaBalmain Backpackers Sydney - Common Lounge RoomBalmain Backpackers Sydney - Surrounding AreaBalmain Backpackers Sydney - Thumb FerryBalmain Backpackers Sydney - Hotel Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3C07