Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Balmoral Hotel

125 Marine Parade Drive, Marine Parade, Durban, South Africa 4056

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
117 reviews

114 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (117)
Sort by:
Mohammed R. Families with young children South Africa, December 20, 2015
Does not Deserve to be 4 star

Location is the this good about this hotel
2.7
Not a good experience. Parking is terrible Rooms are super tiny bathroom is very small. no towels for the beach no baby cot available
Report this review
Lorraine G. Couples South Africa, December 12, 2015
good

Breakfast/prompt check in
8
Report this review
Sinenhlalnhla M. Business travelers South Africa, December 9, 2015
Dated, musty and not a very friendly service.

Location and breakfast.
6
This hotel looks great on the outside and is perfectly located for leisure guests. Inside was a different matter, there is a musty smell and the décor makes the rooms to feel very small. The reception staff was friendly when I arrived but I had never been as disrespected as I was by the door men (security). I wanted to see the manager about cancelling the rest of my stay but was told that he cannot be reached and I just had to deal with it. I will not be going back there. For the same amount, in the same area I have stayed at larger, cleaner and modern hotels where the staff was always courteous.
Report this review
Tebogo M. Solo travelers South Africa, December 3, 2015
Balmoral is the way to go

Location, food,cleanliness
7.7
i had a great stay
Report this review
Rezwanul I. Couples Bangladesh, November 30, 2015
Durban trip balmoral

Location, food , staffs
9
It was nice and pleasant
Report this review
John S. Couples South Africa, November 2, 2015
Fare and Good Remarks

Perfect Location, Good and well trained staff, quick response when required
9.7
Enjoyable
Report this review
Benedict M. Families with older children South Africa, October 31, 2015
Desperate convinience

Hotel Staff were great, located on the beach front, the breakfast was lovely
8.3
The Manager was creaming at his staff in front of us.The staff were always ready to assist us and ere pleasent. How ever the loud floors with some fault were a huge concern and ere a bit too loud for us at times one had a hard time sleeping. there was a funny smell in the room.the cleanliness well very questionable.
Report this review
Lee-Ann S. Families with young children South Africa, September 27, 2015
The best holiday

friendlyness,food,cleanliness
10
It was very good. The staff was very helpfull,polite and had good communication skills.The food was devine. The room was very neat and tidy and very clean
Report this review
Quintin P. Couples South Africa, September 27, 2015
Balmoral

Cleaning Staff
5.3
The toilet had a very strong 'chemical' smell. We complained at reception - they were very abrupt and said that they could not change our room, even when we offered to pay in the difference (if there was any) - we were told that room service would come have a look. Three hours later, the smell was now taking over the room also and no one had come to investigate the smell. Eventually (after I had called reception a few times) our room was changed. Room service was very efficient and we were very pleased with their approach and services.
Report this review
Patsy N. Couples South Africa, August 29, 2015
Bed and breakfast

cleaniness
6
we had two single beds for a couples room, this is not what was advertised when I booked it was really uncomfortable for a couple. I called to change the room and they told me that this is a standard room and didn't even bother to offer me a better room. I asked for ice to be sent to my room and never got it. The breakfast was good but there is not enough people to serve as we waited too long to get some eggs and eventually decided not to have eggs with our breakfast. I will not recommend or stay at this hotel again unless Iam very desperate. I do love your site and will definitely used it again.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 114 reviews Next page
Balmoral Hotel Durban - Hotel EntranceBalmoral Hotel Durban - Conference FacilitiesBalmoral Hotel Durban - Friendly StaffBalmoral Hotel Durban - ReceptionBalmoral Hotel Durban - ExteriorBalmoral Hotel Durban - FacilitiesBalmoral Hotel Durban - Guest RoomBalmoral Hotel Durban - Guest RoomBalmoral Hotel Durban - Guest RoomBalmoral Hotel Durban - Guest RoomBalmoral Hotel Durban - Guest RoomBalmoral Hotel Durban - Food and BeveragesBalmoral Hotel Durban - Guest RoomBalmoral Hotel Durban - Guest RoomBalmoral Hotel Durban - BathroomBalmoral Hotel Durban - InteriorBalmoral Hotel Durban - InteriorBalmoral Hotel Durban - Bathroom


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08