Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 91 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Katherine Q.
United States
March 12, 2013
Old Beijing charm at affordable price
Cleanliness, decor, gardens
Excellent. This hotel is the former villa of famous Chinese families, located among old style hutongs, and Is reasonably priced.I have stayed here twice and will go back anytime I am in Beijing. My scholarly friends congratulated me on choosing a hotel that represents the best of Chinese cultural tradition. And yet modern with a computer in every room, and no charge for wifi. Close to metro, Back Lakes arts, cultural, and entertainment district, and hundreds of small eateries.

Katherine Q.
United States
January 08, 2013
Old world charm with modern conveniences
Tasteful, traditional decor with modern plumbing and electrical conveniences
This is the best hotel I have stayed in since I started working in Beijing in 2003. It has traditional Chinese decor, beautiful gardens, modern electrical/plumbing/internet, is clean, and is very reasonably priced. It is close to the Metro, and close to the Back Lakes district. If you can avoid breakfast, eat somewhere else for the quality and price. Otherwise, I will definitely be back.

Stephen D.
Australia
October 26, 2012
An oasis amongst a busy city
Lovely setting, very peaceful
we enjoyed our stay here very much, the gardens were lovely, rooms very comfortable. staff helpful and also spoke english. the breakfast was lovely. location very good.

Kong W.
Malaysia
October 03, 2012
Great hotel but odd location
clean, cozy, unique experience
Hotel is nice with great service from hotel staff but location is a bit hidden where taxi driver do not want to drive there

HOCK S.
Malaysia
September 01, 2012
Not value for money and service is not friendly
Small room and not like 4 star hotel
After 3 days in Beijing, I book the Bamboo garden with Deluxe Suite.it is very hard to get a taxi reach here and the train station very far. When i reach the hotel the Deluxe Suite only have 2 single bed and the room very small, but it's show in booking for 3 person. I ask the staff how to stay 3 person and they just told me that neeed to add hundred something RMB for additional bed with no friendly. The room only provide 1 bottom of drinking water as a Deluxe Suite here and 4 Star ranking. Next days my faxed some documents from my home country but they need to charge me 30 RMB. I think this is not reasonable for me. After check out the hotel and i ask the staff call a taxi for me. they just told me that they have no such services and they want me to walk outside the hotel to get the taxi by myself. It need to walk abount 20 minutes to main road for geting taxi with heavy lugage and the train station very far from here. After walking to main road and wait 30 minutes still no taxi come here. Walk another 30 minutes to train Station. It is really not value for money like Deluxe Suite for 4 Star ranking hotel. I think it look like 2 star only.

Rita M.
United States
August 29, 2012
Quaint Courtyard Hotel in the Hutongs
Garden setting and lovely quiet street
after several trips to beijing, i wanted to try a hutong hotel. the bamboo garden was the best value online. the taxi had some difficulty getting there b/c of the narrow street, but he persevered. the hotel staff was mixed - friendly, but horrible about getting taxis any hour of the day (could be a beijing thing, but the staff's lack of support to get one was very frustrating!). the hotel was large - we had a good 5 min walk to the back area where our room was, and at night it was dark. the room was small and the amenities very simple. no frills, no pampering, but it was clean and efficient. the room was done in entirely traditional wood furnishings. perfect location for the hutongs, drum/bell towers and the lake area.

ROBERT G.
United States
August 11, 2012
Most comfortable!!
Great location, clean and modern rooms, beautiful and well kept grounds, friendly and helpful staff. All told a quite pleasant stay!
once again, the grounds were lush and well kept, the rooms large and clean and modern with everything functioning properly, the location was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. only downside is that the desk was understaffed and their english skills were marginal, at best. dispite this issue, i would highly recommend this hotel.

Melissa T.
June 23, 2012
Comfortable Hutong experience
walking distance to Subway, MacDonalds
i checked into this hutong stay with my 3 other girlfriends. we were greeted with warm friendly and polite staff who speaks good english. we stayed in the superior room which comes with spacious living area and a separate sleeping area. bedsheets were clean and towels smells fresh. toilets were clean and filled with amenities. our reservation with agoda did not come with breakfast but we rely on the great breakfast offer at macdonalds which just along the main road.

Brit S.
Norway
April 16, 2012
Beautiful hotel with garden and great service
Affordable, location (hutong area, central), great service, spacious
The hotel is centrally located in a hutong area 3 km north of The forbidden city and is an oasis! Very good location, just a few hundred metres through an authentic hutong area to small lakes with a lot of atmosphare. Great service and very spacious room. High standard bathroom. Chinese style.

Michael G.
United Kingdom
April 10, 2012
Central but quiet
Ideal for buisnessmen
Internet computer in room, restaurant in courtyard. Easy access from metro station.