Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ban Sabai Big Buddha Hotel

59 Moo 4, Bo Phut, Samui, Thailand 84320

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.4

based on 35 reviews

13 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.2
Location
6.9
Staff
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (35)
Sort by:
Alina A. Couples Finland, February 5, 2016
Amazing hotel but a bit far off the action

Beach, room, facilities
8.3
The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Beautiful surroundings with a lot of green around, well maintained grounds and amazing dark wood structures and décor. The private strip of beach is also definitely worth it, clean and pristine with sun lounge chairs available from the hotel. Very nice breakfast even though slightly expensive, but there is no restaurant in the premises to offer other meals for the day. It is a bit far from action (Chaweng/Bophut fisherman's village), but you can rent a scooter for 200B a day and explore the area by yourself. Only a short ride to the airport as well. For the services, the massages are very expensive though (~1500-2000B), so it is definitely worth it to get your massage fix either in the centre or other roadside massage places for tenth of the price.
Report this review
Anna K. Couples United Kingdom, January 5, 2016
Not what I expected

Being on the beach. Close to the airport. Quirky room.
4
Noisy -as its next to the main road. Lots of mosquitos.
Report this review
Wanda S. Couples Singapore, March 26, 2015
Honesty is the best policy

The quite life feels unreal! Away from city life!
10
The hospitality was pleasing! The service is very good! And the staff were honest and helpful!
Report this review
Rafael S. Couples Brazil, December 31, 2014
Excellent staff, but I have some problems...

Staff, Comfort, Quiet
6.7
The staff was nice, but hotel location didn't allow us to do anything by walk. We had to rent a bike to lunch and dinner, because hotel didn't have restaurant (only breakfast). But the worst thing was several problems with power outage. Because of this, my smartphone charger and my MacBook charger burned.
Report this review
David G. Couples Canada, December 28, 2014
Nice laid-back option on Bangrat beach

Beachfront, quiet area but good access to services
7.7
This is a very nice option if you are looking for a quiet place to stay. Rooms were comfortable. The tropical garden is really very nice. The beach is just in front of the hotel and the sound of the waves on the beach is very relaxing. Breakfast was served privately to the room. Ask the front desk to get a driver to Chaweng or other destinations. A small beach front restaurant just 50 metres west of the hotel serves excellent Thai food.
Report this review
Lew F. Couples Australia, November 23, 2013
Great untill the rain set in.

Beach, location and Wi-Fi
7
After settling into our “Superior” room, I was happy with our choice. The room was smaller than I prefer,our balcony was huge and provided a great view. Wi-Fi was great, breakfast was served to us outside on the balcony or undercover was really nice but meant limited choice, we found it adequate. Staff were lovely. Falling asleep with the waves just outside our room was memorable as was having a great massage literally right on the beach! Unfortunately, the weather set in a day later and we were “rained” in for the remaining duration of our stay. This is where sadly our experience became less than pleasant. Our room leaked in several places, this with constant high humidity made everything feel damp. One thunderstorm created a water feature in our room, with water pouring onto the bedsides that we had our phones charging on. Water leaked on where our towels were stored, the coffee table and the dresser. The “outside” shower, toilet and spa bath were novel at first, but there wasn’t enough roof coverage to use the toilet without getting wet when it was raining & runoff poured into a channel some 12 inches from your feet. It is so hard to recommend this hotel after our experience… comfort is everything during a stay, especially when weather forces you inside, with nowhere to get comfortable… the bed being really firm and feeling damp… the chairs being heavy wood were beautiful, but not comfortable and even using the shower/toilet becomes a chore. Despite the owners best efforts to reduce mosquitoes I still got plenty of mozzie bites. No restaurant or room service. The food next door was good but very expensive, instead turn left as you step onto the beach walk 200m to the beach seafood restaurant for great food at great prices! We had one massage, would have had a lot more if the prices were reasonable. Now if we had been rained in at our next hotel (Mantra Samui) and had fine weather for our stay at Ban Sabai I’m sure our experience would have been so much better!
Report this review
Ran B. Couples Israel, August 15, 2013
Nice romantic place.

Nice view to the sea. The room was big and the service was quiet efficient .
6.7
At first there was no electricity so we had to use spotlights but later when the electricity returned, we could see the room is nice and pleasant to be in.It was very romantic. The sea view was great. We wished we could stay longer time.
Report this review
Martin S. Families with young children Sweden, January 14, 2013
looks nice at the pictures but needs cleaning

personal touch and not as the others
3
This place looks nice at pictures but realy needs a total make over or at least a lot of hours cleaning. The place has probably had the same owner for many years and they were friendly and care taking. The rooms where large and cozy but the beds terrible and the hole room smelled stale. They realy should hire some one to clean all the corners and all the skirting board, top shelves, do the landry and fix the garden.
Report this review
Daoud H. Couples United Kingdom, December 25, 2012
Beautiful place

Beach front, garden and massages
9
This is nicely decorated with a beautiful garden. The garden does mean more mosquitos but just be prepared for it as i think it's worth staying here despite them. Parking is possible but not easy as there's not a lot of space so you should hope that another guest isn't droving also. I would certainly recommend it and stay here again.
Report this review
Angela M. Groups New Zealand, November 1, 2012
Unique beautiful hotel on the beach

Great staff, unique rooms
9.3
Had a restful break at this gorgeous hotel. All rooms are directly on the beach, which was just stunning. Staff went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. All rooms were different and unique, including some with outdoor bathrooms! Easy enough to get around by taxi. Highly recommend to anyone.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Ban Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - The beachBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Thai Villa BalconyBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Guest RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Beach VillaBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Room InteriorBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - BathroomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Facial TreatmentBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Thai Massage SalaBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - SpaBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - SpaBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - SpaBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - InteriorBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - GardenBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Evening lightBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Sun chairs for guestsBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Spa pavilion right on the beachBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Evening light on the beachBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Relax right on the beachBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - StandardBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Standard RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Standard RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Standard RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Standard RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Superior RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Superior RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Superior RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Superior RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Superior RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Guest RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Guest RoomBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - SurroundingsBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - BeachBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - BeachBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - SurroundingsBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - SpaBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - SurroundingsBan Sabai Big Buddha Hotel Samui - Surroundings


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05