Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bansei by Hotel J

340, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa beach, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka 80240 (Show on map)

Book now!

Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Restaurant Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/Terrace Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming Pool Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Exterior Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Interior Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/Terrace Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - View Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/Terrace Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Guest Room Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Pub/Lounge Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Lobby Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming Pool Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Pub/Lounge Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming Pool Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Exterior Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/Terrace
Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming Pool Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming Pool
Area: Hikkaduwa beach Number of Rooms: 32
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
171 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (171)
Sort by:
Srini P. Groups Sri Lanka, April 14, 2015
lovely location

pool location and rooms
9.3
Nicholas W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 8, 2015
Cheap and Cheerful

Price, location and pool area
8
I had read other reviews on this site and some had an issue with not getting free stuff. I guess it's like budget airlines, they can offer competitive rates because they don't give their customers things which they don't always want and need. So, you don't get the toiletries or tea and coffee making facilities but I don't care as I never use that stuff anyway. I'm more interesting in the price and it was very competitively priced and if staying somewhere that's clean, fresh and modern (as it's recently been updated) is more important than little bottles of shampoo, this is a good option. One reviewer complained that the noise made by the sea in the sea-view rooms was disturbing and yes, surprise surprise the sea does make a noise. You will also be able to hear traffic if you get a room on the other side of the hotel but that's true of pretty much any hotel room on that side in any of the hotels alone the main Galle Road. I was only there one night, so it didn't matter. I really liked the pool, bar, decking area - very cool. Again, someone complained about no private beach but none of the hotels on the Galle Road have a private beach - not one. So all in all a good decision.
Chathini U. Couples Sri Lanka, February 15, 2015
“Do not go there! Terrible!”

location, location and location
5
Max H. Couples Sweden, January 7, 2015
Bansei

Location, location , location
5
Staff wasn't helpfull, couldnt even get us a taxi. Poor breakfast. The poolarea is the worst.
Kalum K. Couples Sri Lanka, April 13, 2014
Overpriced & no proper beach access

staff were friendly, breakfast was ok & secluded
6.3
Not very good as we were allocated a corner room although we paid for a higher priced category. The room was big & comfortable. Room was overlooking a security hut roof, beyond which was the beach. Service was poor. We called for assistance to get the safety locker opened which we received the following day. Overall the hotel is overpriced and not value for money.
Sven H. Solo travelers Sweden, March 4, 2014
Nice ocean view

Location, food and staff
8
David L. Solo travelers United States of America, March 2, 2014
Good location - but rooms need attention!

Beach View, Conveniently Located, Comfortable Bed
5.3
Room had a nice comfortable bed and hotel has a nice view of the ocean. However, if you are coming with a driver, be warned that unlike most larger hotels in Sri Lanka, this hotel does not provide accommodations for drivers - you will need to pay for room across the street for them. This was an unwelcome surprise upon arrival. Also, room needed upkeep - paint showed peeling and there was an odor in the room. Waves also made loud crashing sounds on rocks outside hotel windows making it noisy at night when trying to sleep. Finally, bellboy brought only some of bags down when checking out - he never came back for the rest of them. I had to go back up to room and bring last bags down. Overall, a surprisingly disappointing experience.
Kshitij S. Families with young children India, January 26, 2014
fabulous

The Chef, The pool and the location
9.3
Shakioa M. Couples United States of America, January 22, 2014
Beach at your doorstep

Location, location, location
9
Agoda, let us down with this booking. We were not told of the extra 25usd/day we will have to pay for 2nd person. The booking remarks from agoda say the booking is for 2people. But the venue didn't accept it and was determined we pay this at check in. The reception staff told us they informed agoda of this but agoda didn't tell us. As for the hotel we had a pleasant stay with plenty of rest and very private location.
Susanne W. Families with older children Sweden, January 10, 2014
Fantastic

bed,saff,view
10
Fantastic, kindly,serviceminded staff,lovely food,lovely view,lovely beds, everyting was best! New year party att the hotell was outstanding I vill be back!!!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Bansei by Hotel J HikkaduwaBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - RestaurantBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/TerraceBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming PoolBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - ExteriorBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - InteriorBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/TerraceBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - ViewBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/TerraceBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Guest RoomBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Pub/LoungeBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - LobbyBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming PoolBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Pub/LoungeBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming PoolBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - ExteriorBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/TerraceBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming PoolBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming Pool


AS-AGWEB-3A04