or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bansei by Hotel J

340, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa beach, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka 80240 (Show on map)

Book now!

Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Restaurant Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/Terrace Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming Pool Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Exterior Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Interior Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/Terrace Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - View Bansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/Terrace
Area: Hikkaduwa beach Number of Rooms: 32
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
159 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (159)
Sort by:
Kalum K. Couples Sri Lanka, April 13, 2014
Overpriced & no proper beach access

staff were friendly, breakfast was ok & secluded
6.3
Not very good as we were allocated a corner room although we paid for a higher priced category. The room was big & comfortable. Room was overlooking a security hut roof, beyond which was the beach. Service was poor. We called for assistance to get the safety locker opened which we received the following day. Overall the hotel is overpriced and not value for money.
Sven H. Solo travelers Sweden, March 4, 2014
Nice ocean view

Location, food and staff
8
David L. Solo travelers United States of America, March 2, 2014
Good location - but rooms need attention!

Beach View, Conveniently Located, Comfortable Bed
5.3
Room had a nice comfortable bed and hotel has a nice view of the ocean. However, if you are coming with a driver, be warned that unlike most larger hotels in Sri Lanka, this hotel does not provide accommodations for drivers - you will need to pay for room across the street for them. This was an unwelcome surprise upon arrival. Also, room needed upkeep - paint showed peeling and there was an odor in the room. Waves also made loud crashing sounds on rocks outside hotel windows making it noisy at night when trying to sleep. Finally, bellboy brought only some of bags down when checking out - he never came back for the rest of them. I had to go back up to room and bring last bags down. Overall, a surprisingly disappointing experience.
Kshitij S. Families with young children India, January 26, 2014
fabulous

The Chef, The pool and the location
9.3
Shakioa M. Couples United States of America, January 22, 2014
Beach at your doorstep

Location, location, location
9
Agoda, let us down with this booking. We were not told of the extra 25usd/day we will have to pay for 2nd person. The booking remarks from agoda say the booking is for 2people. But the venue didn't accept it and was determined we pay this at check in. The reception staff told us they informed agoda of this but agoda didn't tell us. As for the hotel we had a pleasant stay with plenty of rest and very private location.
Susanne W. Families with older children Sweden, January 10, 2014
Fantastic

bed,saff,view
10
Fantastic, kindly,serviceminded staff,lovely food,lovely view,lovely beds, everyting was best! New year party att the hotell was outstanding I vill be back!!!
Harry P. Couples United Kingdom, January 8, 2014
Great

On the beach
8.3
Stayed at this hotel with my wife and we had a Great stay. the location was very good and on the beach .... Staff really freindly and food was great only bad things wer no wifi in rooms and noise from traffic . would recommend this hotel if you are a couple looking for a relaxing hotel
Lei W. Couples China, January 4, 2014
Ocean view large room with great services

Sea view room, beach pool with great sunset and breakfast
9
My boyfriend and I spend five nights at this hotel and had an amazing time over New year holiday. We had a super delux room with ocean view on the 1st floor. The room is spacious and well designed with sea view. Super clean and a very big bathroom. We enjoy the simple design but yet cozy style which makes us feel at home. The balcony was also very big right above the pool with such beautiful sea view although it's so close to the beach so sometimes we have to close the curtain as people could look into our room from the beach! The area is quite part of the beach where many boats parked but the quality of beach is still good. The hotel invited us to their New Year Eve Gala which was really well organised with an amazing international buffet. They have decorated the pool area amazingly and had a DJ for the night! Plus organised an amazing fireworks on the beach around mid night! Overall we have nothing but good thing to say about this hotel. Will definitely come back again!!!
Fredoline S. Families with young children Malaysia, December 30, 2013
Nice Stay

Beach, the view and affordable
8
Vicki-Ann D. Families with older children Australia, December 29, 2013
Relaxing by the beach

right on the ocean's edge, great poolside
8
Rooms were very small, but the bathroom was a lovely size, if only I had somewhere to hang my wet bathers so that they would dry for another day's use, would've been really useful. Staff were fairly on the ball and address my queries promptly. With adjoining rooms to the teenage kids, it was good to keep an eye on them. At the time of booking we required a third room, but couldn't get one, to be told on the day that we had other relatives coming that they could accommodate us. In the end, we booked our relatives down the road to another resort, as they had promised us an available room, we didn't like the fact that there was no spare room when we were booking, and felt it wouldn't be fair to the other hotel to therefore book a third room with them. Apart from that they were quick to respond to insects that had gotten in over night. Although the general standard of the linen and bath towels smelt really horrible, they had blood stains on them (not from us at all) and this did dampen our experience. The location was fantastic, albeit smaller rooms, but they need to buy new linen and let go of the shabby feel once and for all.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Bansei by Hotel J HikkaduwaBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - RestaurantBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/TerraceBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Swimming PoolBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - ExteriorBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - InteriorBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/TerraceBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - ViewBansei by Hotel J Hikkaduwa - Balcony/Terrace


AS-AGWEB-3C04