Back to hotel info

Good 6.8
Based on 31 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 31 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.0
  • Location 6.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 6.5
  • Food/Dining 6.1

Peter V. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
Intimate, Relaxing and Personal
Amazing friendly service and home-cooked meals in a cabana right by the beach and sound of surf!!!
The Barefoot White Beach Resort was an ideal place for my wife and I to spend our 1st Anniversary together! The Honeymoon Suite is right on the beach and very relaxing and intimate and the prices are very reasonable and affordable. The Honeymoon Suite, itself, is wonderful. It features a grass-roofed dining cabana out front, a combination kitchen/living room area, a bedroom in the back complete with a romantic canopy bed, and both an indoor and outdoor shower. The resort itself is a little unusual in that it is very narrow - not much wider than The Honeymoon Suite itself - and The Honeymoon Suite is the only room/suite/cottage with direct beach access. All other patrons of the resort access the beach using a little path that runs adjacent to The Honeymoon Suite. Getting to the resort was a little confusing, since the resort doesn't have its own direct driveway. It is just south of the Club Serena Resort, which is a nice thing anyway, as The Barefoot Beach Resort does not feature a restaurant or bar, and the Club Serena Resort, which has both, is a just surprisingly short walk up the beach. Before traveling there, we had read articles online stating that is was possible the woman running the place would cook fresh fish dinners for us, but I didn't know quite what to expect or how that would work out. We were delighted upon meeting the woman I just mentioned, and the polite eager and helpful young man assisting her. The dinner meals cooked were fabulous - fresh grilled fish, a variety of shrimp dishes and her chop suey was the best we have ever had! she would come to our suite, take our order for our choice of meal items and would do all the shopping required (even picking up a few other requested items, such as staples or things to make lunch with the following day) and would only charge us for the cost of the items - no surcharge for service or cooking. I hope my wife and I can stay there again in the future, but preferably often!?!
Reviewed February 26, 2012

David T. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Room was big and bed was surprisingly comfortable
bed and aircon
My airport pickup didn't arrive and the owner didn't pick-up my 1,000 calls so i ended up taking a 3 hour cab ride, which wasn't so bad and ended up being cheaper, to the resort. When I got there, there was nobody around to check me in as everyone was in bed. Finally got checked in and to bed which was nice and comfy. The next morning i was treated to a bacon and egg sandwich which was good. The staff offered to get me stuff from the village which is miles away - i took up the offer and had some cash changed only to have been hugely ripped off about the prices and the exchange rate. Apart from that, everything was good.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

howard J. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
nice rooms in quiet location
very friendly service and welcoming owner.
hotel is quite off the beaten track and quite hard to locate due to not much signposting.located in the white beach area where there is good diving and snorkelling. owner very accomodating as are all the staff and she cooks sumptuous meals.recomend hiring a motorbike to get about the place.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

edgardo N. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in November 2011
poor access
friendly staff
lack of directional signs to get there no parking space within the resort itself, a good 100 meters away, though a motorcycle backride is provided. inconvenient. general appearance of the hotel is good. staff are accomodating, and helpful rice cooker is defective, no good view of the beach, you have to cross 2 gates
Reviewed November 08, 2011

Rowan M. from United States
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in October 2011
Remote place in the middle of nowhere
Right on the beach, access to three good restaurants
The entrance to the property prevents vehicles from driving in, so you have to hand-carry luggage due to a large, ugly block fence from a property dispute. Only one staff member was available to help. If coming from Cebu City, make *certain* your driver has been there before because there are no signs for it at all! The Honeymoon Suite is the only room with a direct water view. It was air conditioned really well and had a large refrigerator and comfortable bed. However, it had only an ice cream scoop and an electric tea pot. We were subject to some predetermined water limits of which we were not made aware in advance; therefore, we would run out of water during showers or when we were using the toilet. When asked, the staff were able to turn on more water immediately. The wifi was located in a villa that is sometimes rented and therefore inaccessible from the Honeymoon Suite, so at those times we had to stand outside the villa in direct line of sight for it to work (plus slow to begin with; unusable when many people accessing). When no one is around, you can sit in the villa and use it, so that was nice. If you have a view, you do not have internet access; if you have internet access, you do not have a view. There were ants both inside and outside the suite who appeared if you left even one little morsel of food out. The staff were very helpful, cooking dinner for us the first night and bring our desired fruit from the market. They also did our laundry quickly and inexpensively and helped us rent a $250P/day motorbike. They seemed limited in resources - very few towels that were not torn, and no purified drinking water (you cannot drink the tap water there!) for us the last two days of our stay. In short, this was not a resort in the traditional sense of the word, but it was a fun getaway!
Reviewed November 06, 2011

Paul C. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in October 2011
Nice little resort with excellent staff
Quiet, friendly, close to beach, cheap.
We were looking for a quiet destination to spend a week and we found it here. Accommodation is simple and inexpensive. There are restaurants along the beach or you can get the owner to do the cooking for you. The staff were friendly and very helpful. White Beach is a quiet place so if you are looking for nightlife, you won't find it here. Great for swimming and diving though.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Maria H. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2011
Great Room, Excellent Customer Service
Clean, Comfy, Private, Very Courteous and Helpful Hotel Caretakers
I'd certainly go back to Barefoot. I just wish the rate would be a little lower during offpeak.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Rosalen Q. from Philippines
Groups
Stayed one night in August 2011
beside the sea hotel
the sand quality and free use of kitchen
This hotel has a very narrow beach frontage. Not that it matters, because to enjoy the beach, one would just have to choose a spot anywhere along the stretch. The rooms are located towards the back (the only beachfront unit is the honeymoon suite), about 30 steps from the beach. The resort does not have a restaurant, but there's a kitchen which can be use for free. Others: The hotel staffs were the most helpful. :)
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Wolfgang S. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2013
Verregneter Tag
Strandnähe, Nähe zu gutem anderen Resort
Bei Ankunft einziger Gast, Kaffee ist erst, nachdem die Haushälterin kommt, zu erhalten. Mittags werde ich nach meinen Wünschen fürs Abendessen gefragt, alle Zutaten wie Fisch, Butter, Gemüse und Bier (wollen Sie eine oder zwei Flaschen) werden noch eingekauft und von mir vorab bezahlt. Auch ein Glas Marmelade zum Frühstück zahle ich vorab, soll das angebrochene Glas am nächsten Tag bei der Abreise mitnehmen. Soft drinks müssten besorgt werden, eine Bar gibt es nicht, der Zimmerkühlschrank ist natürlich leer. Einen Sonnenschirm für den Strand habe ich nicht gesehen, es gibt wohl eine Liege, die ich irgendwo in einer Ecke gammeln sah. insgesamt weit überhöhter Zimmerpreis, eher für Campingurlauber mit Selbstversorgung.
Reviewed August 07, 2013

Gertrudes C. from Switzerland
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Schön gelegenes Resort mit freundlichem Personal
Ist gepflegt und sauber
Die Betreuung war sehr gut. Personal sehr hilfsbereit und freundlich. Das Resort liegt etwas abseits und der Weg ist schlecht bezeichnet. Schade dass man das Resort nicht mit dem Auto direkt befahren kann. Schade ist nur, dass es kein Restaurant hat. Das naheliegende Resort ist sehr teuer. Es hat einen weissen Sandstrand . Herrlich zum Baden und zum spazieren der Bucht entlang. Wir haben uns sehr gut erholen können und werden das nächste mal sicher wieder in dieses Resort gehen.
Reviewed March 25, 2012