or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Basaga Holiday Residences

Lot 69 Jalan Tabuan, Sarawak, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Mainhouse King Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Verandah Deluxe Twin Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Courtyard Queen with Open Shower Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room
Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest Room Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Entrance Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Entrance to basaga holiday residences Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Check in counter Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - terrace Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Lobby Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Lobby Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Lobby Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Lobby Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Lobby
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 34
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
485 reviews

Value for Money
8.4
Location
7.2
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (485)
Sort by:
Abang F. Groups Malaysia, December 30, 2012
Lovely environment

Nice bed...
8
We stayed here 1 night only. Why we choose here, 1st they got swimming pool. But quite disappointing, the swimming pool look like abandon. The taste of swimming pool also taste weird and seem like no regular treatment. I love the environment, full fill the trees... yes, it feel like to been to somewhere far from the city... For the room itself, we stayed in a twin room. Its down stair, just in front of swimming pool. But not like upstairs room, which they don't have like a chair to sit outside the room. Better get the upstair room. For the TV, some of the channel got bad coverage. Our bathroom door for Room 1 (cannot be closed, which makes me angry....!) because I had pay and because I'm local, they gave me maybe a bad room. We got 2 free breakfast, but didn't make it because we were too sleepy. They got problem with their WIFI.... eventhough can connected, but still cannot be use... useless... so tention, then the problem solve because I brought the external broadband. You cannot smoke in the room nor the bathroom. If u get caught, you will be fine RM100. And the reception like repeat it to me for a few times feels like Im going to get caught.. haha.. And for the security, we tested it with we coming back late from the club. Around 5am. Of course the security was sleeping. We call the security for about 10minutes before he get up. With the angry face, he come up... he asked fiercely what we want. So we said we staying there, because we are local, of course he didnt believe.. SO he asked us to show the key.... so we showed it, then we get through.. thanks security! we know u just doing ur job... For the price.. they actually got promotion which were very cheap. If I know, will not booked through Agoda.... but if I walk-in, I cant guranteed that I can get the room. So.. overall, awesome basaga retreat for us! we will be back
Restaurant Tip: Try their restaurant. A lot of good food!
Pei Y. Couples Malaysia, December 25, 2012
Everything is great

Green scenery and romantic concept
8
It was definitely a pleasant stay, we enjoyed ourselves a lot. Relaxing and comfortable with friendly staff at front desk and also yummy breakfast that made us so full. There is a garden themed cafe in the hotel, so we had our dinner there as well, no extra charge even though it was Christmas Eve. Thumbs up and will definitely choose Basaga again.
Shamundiswari G. Solo travelers Singapore, December 25, 2012
An oasis of green in bustling Kuching

Charming hotel, helpful and friendly staff reflect the best of Kuching
7.3
This was one of my best stays away from home. Basaga is indeed amazing. An oasis of green, the overall concept conveys the best of the tropics. My single room was large, airy and had its own little balcony. Loved the wooden floors and the bed was perfect. Overhead fan and air-con were included but as the room was mostly cool, I just had the fan on. The french-style windows also kept the room pleasantly cool. Surprisingly, there were no mozzies. Basaga seems to burn citronella candles to keep them away. If there is anything, I'd say wi-fi connections are weak and cable TV channels few. The in-room shower is also small and may be a squeeze for some. Though service was a tad slow, the western-styled breakfast was adequate. It would be nice if Basaga could consider Malaysian breakfast alternatives. Coffee and kaya toast perhaps? I must also say that coffee served was a strange brew. Malaysian style Nescafe would've been a better choice I think. Basaga is not centrally located, although taxis to the centre are cheap (about RM15/-). It is within walking distance to Spring Mall but there're no sidewalks. Either take a taxi or cycle. Trips to Semmenggoh and the Sarawak cultural village can be arranged by Basaga, if like myself, your stay in Kuching is short. Basaga also has its resident cats and if you're lucky, you just might be greeted by one.
Hotel Feature Tip: If you're a light sleeper, I'd suggest you request rooms at the back. Traffic can be loud for rooms facing the main driveway.
Joseph W. Couples Malaysia, December 22, 2012
relaxing

realx , easy , nature
5.7
room a bit smelly but overall satisfied
Ruud V. Couples Netherlands, December 21, 2012
Very friendly hotel in a peaceful setting

The hotel is located in a kind of oasis, just out of the centre of Kuching. Very helpful and friendly staff.
8
The hotel is too far from the centre to walk, but there are free shuttles and (cheap) taxis to the highlights. The restaurant is reasonable, with lots of Western food and drinks. The wifi is not very reliable. Very nice swimming pool for the guests. If you stay in a poolside room on the ground floor, as we did, there is quite a bit of noise from the neighbours above.
Restaurant Tip: Top Spot servers excellent seafood
Philippa B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 19, 2012
Super place just check location

Value for money bar and on site restaurant very useful
7.7
Great place, very busy Saturday nights as very popular with locals always a good sign. Room simple but very clean with everything you need. Good bed. Lovely staff offering a relaxed service but attentive. I stayed in upstairs room at front, be warned very noisy on Saturday nights which may be an issue for some but not a problem for me as part of city life. Bar great ate 3 nights just the local dishes but good value and tasty. Beer reasonable price.
Liew T. Couples Malaysia, December 17, 2012
Nice environment but no sound proofing

Green environment, relaxing place
6
the stay was more like a homestay than hotel. rooms are not sound proofed. when it's raining, you might stay awake all night long due to the noise of the rain. the good side about this residence is the greenary around the area. fresh air and away from city hassle may delight people to loves green environment. food not really nice as what was recommended in some of the reviewers. although breakfast is included, but the food was insufficient, would suggest the management to provide free flow of food instead of 1 person 1 set from the menu.
Eng W. Couples Malaysia, December 16, 2012
Great location close to nature

Lovely serene setting within the city
8
This was a repeat trip to the hotel as we love its serene setting in a city. We booked a room with a private courtyard. On the arrival at the room, we double checked the room number against our hotel key as the place pretty much looked like somebody's backdoor.. However, we were immediately impressed by the inner layout. What an experience to take shower in a private courtyard while gazing at the moon and stars.
Timothy M. Couples Australia, December 12, 2012
A little out of the way

Nice garden setting
7
I was a little disappointed with Basaga, firstly because it is a 20 min walk along a busy road away from the waterfront. The rooms are very clean and the bed was comfy, but there was more noise than I was expecting, especially traffic noise from the 4 lane road out the front, and also because of the large amounts of timber flooring which echoes alot. The Hotel is an old converted school building and it does have charm in its architecture. The restaurant is set in the middle of the property behind the main house (where we stayed for 3 nights), and has a great rainforest feel with lots of gardens and big trees. Behind the restaurant is the pool and a double storey set of rooms. I think these would have far less traffic noise than the main house rooms. The restaurant has a large well stocked casual bar, giving it a backpacker feel, but the prices for food are quite high compared with many of the other mid range hotels in Kuching. The food is ok, nothing special, but then again nothing wrong with it. The service I found to be patchy, with some waiters attentive at first but then never ever coming back to ask if you would like more drinks or to order food. The breakfast staff bordered on surley sometimes. On the other hand some staff are very helpful and friendly so maybe I just encountered a few people who didnt want to be working those days? The price was reasonable for the rooms but due to the location and hit and miss service I probably wouldnt come back when there are so many excellent hotels right down by the waterfront.
Eng W. Couples Malaysia, December 9, 2012
Great location close to nature

Nice environment setting close to nature
7.7
We drove to the hotel guided by GPS. However, we missed the entrance as the hotel can't be seen from the main road. Guess what.. all anxiety was disappeared at the moment we look at the stunning and literally old-school building in a green oasis in the midst of the city. Our stay was so enjoyable.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Basaga Holiday Residences KuchingBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Mainhouse King RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Verandah Deluxe Twin RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Courtyard Queen with Open ShowerBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Guest RoomBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - EntranceBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Entrance to basaga holiday residencesBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Check in counterBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - terraceBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - LobbyBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - LobbyBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - LobbyBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - LobbyBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - LobbyBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - ReceptionBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Balcony/TerraceBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Balcony/TerraceBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - InteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - InteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - InteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - InteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - InteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - InteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - InteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - InteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - InteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Swimming PoolBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Swimming PoolBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Swimming PoolBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Swimming PoolBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Cultural showBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - RestaurantBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - RestaurantBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - RestaurantBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Basaga barBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - BarBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Pub/LoungeBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Pub/LoungeBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Pub/LoungeBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Poolside RoomsBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - ExteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Basaga MainhouseBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Basaga barBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - New wing dinning areaBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - ExteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - ExteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - ExteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - ExteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - ExteriorBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - ViewBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - SurroundingsBasaga Holiday Residences Kuching - Surroundings

Customer Reviews - Basaga Holiday Residences, Kuching

AS-AGWEB-3B02