Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Batik Boutique Hotel

No. 38, Jalan Padungan, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on 388 reviews

336 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.8
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (388)
Sort by:
Saifulizan B. Solo travelers Singapore, April 23, 2016
It was ok.
5.7
Staff made guest feel welcome. Good location. Spacious room. Comfortable bed. The body shower gel smells wonderful. There is a small and convenient balcony for me to smoke. Noisy aircon. Noisy surroundings due to construction next to the hotel. The room key card machine was not working due to low battery, i have to wait for almost 2 hours to get into my room.
Report this review
Peter S. Couples United Kingdom, March 28, 2016
A great base in Kuching
6
The Batik Boutique has character and is a little 'shabby' but it's great value and the staff, especially, Jo-Lynn, are really helpful and enthusiastic.
Report this review
Monica W. Families with older children Malaysia, March 20, 2016
Great stay.
6.7
Very friendly and helpful staff, Great location, clean and comfortable room with the choicest of amenities given.
Report this review
Donald G. Couples United Kingdom, March 14, 2016
Disappointing hotel
4.7
Booked this because of the good reviews but were overall disappointed. Staff were super friendly and helpful, but the hotel felt dingy and neglected, there were no decent public places to sit. Breakfast was uninspiring.The design is quite quirky, but the place is in need of some tlc - we got the feeling that the original personal passion in its development has now been superceded by the owners new project at Damai. The room was spacious and we did have a window which some rooms did not but it was a bit scruffy for a 'boutique' hotel. OK as a superior backpackers.
Report this review
Nola D. Couples United States of America, February 18, 2016
Great staff, great, room, great value.

Staff, staff, staff.
10
Definitely planning on making this hotel our base next time we are in Borneo for a longer visit. Rooms are sophisticated in design, spacious, clean, and comfortable. They provide an excellent variety of coffee and tea for free with the room. Not the Nescafé and cheap sabah brand tea I'm used to seeing at hotels. Even the 4 star, $300 a night resort we stayed in didn't provide as good quality coffee and tea with the room. That extra bit of effort and care by Batik was not taken for granted. Even the little welcoming/information booklet they provide along with the room key when you first check in was a welcome breath of fresh air. Free Breakfast is delicious! Especially the banjo breakfast sandwich. They also let you try a variety of local rice wines brewed by one of the staffs aunties. So nice and so delicious. Had I been confident we could get it back home through customs I'd have purchased some. Lastly, I cannot stress enough how lovely and welcoming the staff is at this establishment. We really felt at home and everyone was above and beyond accommodating with our requests. I feel a lot of other hotels could learn soon much from Batik. Not that we had bad experiences with hotels In Malaysia, quite the opposite. Everywhere we stayed was great. It's just that Batik takes it to a whole other level of greatness. Greatness 2.0!
Report this review
Matthew J. Couples Australia, February 16, 2016
Beyond Amazing
6.7
Every 5 star review you have read doesn't even touch on the hospitality, friendliness and pure enjoyment we experienced at Batik Boutique. The staff are extremely friendly, welcoming, & genuine. It was like walking into a friends place and having a chat. The rooms are great: spacious, clean as can be and stocked with great coffee, tea and all amenities you would need. The bath tub even had bath salts, however we didn't have time to experience those. Food around town is good but if you have any specific needs the staff tell you where to find it, what is good and draw it out on their own Batik Boutique map. We stayed 1 night, followed by another night in Mulu. After this experience we came back to Kuching after Mulu and stayed another night as the service was beyond any review or normal hotel experience. I have never stayed in a hotel that offers the use of their shower post check-out! After checking out we visited Bako National Park before our 9pm flight. Understandably we were a bit sweaty, and the fine folk at Batik Boutique offered (we didn't even ask!) us the use of a spare room to have a quick shower before our flight. As I said, I have never ever heard of a hotel treating anyone this way post check-out. Worth going back to Kuching from Sydney simply to experience the hotel again! Thank you so much.
Report this review
Kwan L. Solo travelers Malaysia, February 3, 2016
Good, helpful and friendly staff

Good service
8.7
Brilliant. Very good location.
Report this review
Yeo S. Couples Malaysia, January 31, 2016
nice hotel
6
good 4 stay
Report this review
Christina Y. Groups Malaysia, January 31, 2016
Friendly staff, tuak and batik cake as welcome ref
5.7
Served batik cake and tuak when check in, room and bathroom very spacious. Only bed sheet and duvet cover looks not clean.
Report this review
Krishnan S. Couples India, January 25, 2016
They really exceeded our expectations in every way
6.7
We made a two day trip to Kuching last week. We froze our program just two days prior to our departure. I wanted to economize on this trip, so I chose Batk Butique, a relatively inexpensive hotel among those with good reviews. I requested for complimentary airport pickup, a spacious room with a large bed, just to check how far the hotel would strive to meet the high expectations set by the reviews. We did not receive any confirmation from the hotel prior to our departure, but to our utter surprise, we were picked up at the airport, initially provided a deluxe room consistent with our order, but later the same evening moved to a very spacious room with a nice large king size bed and nice bath. The hotel staff were extraordinarily friendly and always more than happy to guide us and assist in arranging our local sightseeing trips. We visited the Orangutan reserve, Bako national park, waterfront and river cruise, Sarawak cultural village all with their guidance and assistance. We were dropped back at the airport by the hotel staff. Honestly, this was the first time ever that I actually felt deeply obliged to a hotel for the services provided. The treatment was truly touching, indeed a treat to see youngsters have a great sense of joy in service. May their passion, teamwork and customer focus take Batik Butique to greater heights of success, and with it each of the staff.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 336 reviews Next page
Batik Boutique Hotel KuchingBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Deluxe SuiteBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Deluxe SuiteBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Deluxe SuiteBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Deluxe SuiteBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Deluxe SuiteBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Deluxe SuiteBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Deluxe Suite - BathroomBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Courtyard Suites - KingBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Courtyard Suites - KingBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Courtyard Suites - KingBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Courtyard Suites - TwinBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Courtyard Suites - TwinBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Courtyard Suites - TwinBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - City Facing Suite King BedBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - City Facing Suite King BedBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - City Facing Suite King BedBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - City Facing Suite King BedBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - City Facing Suite King Bed - BathroomBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - InteriorBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Guest RoomBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Exterior Batik Boutique Hotel Kuching - ExteriorBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - EntranceBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - EntranceBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - InteriorBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - InteriorBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - InteriorBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - InteriorBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - InteriorBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - InteriorBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Bites RestaurantBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - CourtyardBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - ToiletriesBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - ExteriorBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - FacilitiesBatik Boutique Hotel Kuching - Facilities


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07