Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Batu Bata Guesthouse

No. 8, 1st Floor, Carpenter Street, (China Town), Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on
28 reviews

23 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.5
Location
9.6
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (28)
Sort by:
Suen H. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 17, 2015
Great location, bad luck with the bad neighbor

location
7.3
The room is small but still comfortable. Like other travelers complained in their review, you can probably heard what going on in the whole guest house. Bad luck for me as I got some one talking loud stayed next door, talking until 11pm until I finally knock on his door to ask him to shut up. Else this will be a great guest house for its location right in the Carpenter street near the River Front area.
Report this review
Chong T. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 17, 2015
Value for money

Perfect location, Cleanliness, Friendly Staff
7.7
Well located at carpenter street aka chinatown in kuching.. Very helpful and friendly staff...Different feel and arrangement on this revisiting perios.. Guesthouse is clean and very comfortable even though room was abit tiny and poor sound proof among two rooms
Report this review
Chong T. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 17, 2015
Affordable Stay

Convenient, Location, Staff
7.7
Very clean and comfortable guesthouse, Friendly staff always provided us tons of infos on local POI and F & B and sharing their own life experience to us for our knowledge in this cat city. Located nicely in carpenter street which there's tons of hawker gems hiding inside this street
Report this review
Kevin M. Couples France, July 17, 2015
"Ghosthouse"

Nice location in the middle of Chinatown (Carpenter street, clean, cheap
6
Batu bata is a clean and well located guesthouse in Kuching city. However, we had to wait for quite a long time at the door waiting for someone to open the door and check in (it is not possible to enter the guesthouse without a card or a code...). And no one was here when we checked out, which was an issue to get back our 50rm caution for the key. Don't know if we were unlucky or if it's their casual way of managing the place... So to put it in a nutshell, the place is really well located, affordable, but don't expect any kind of services.
Report this review
Rafal M. Couples Poland, April 14, 2015
Quite good

location and cleanlines is a real plus. The staff is friendly.
8
Ok The double room was verticale small.
Report this review
Igor D. Solo travelers United States of America, March 16, 2015
Clean new gueshouse in Chinatown

location, cleanness, staff
8.7
Located across the street from a superb food court enables one to eat even when it rains hard. Beds are clean and comfortable. There are few rooms, so it's quiet and not crowded at all. The only minor problem were thin walls. I could hear my neighbor talk on the phone and watch videos on the computer.
Report this review
Eric O. Solo travelers Canada, March 8, 2015
Basic but great location

Location, cheap, great a/c and Wi-Fi
7.3
The rooms are very small but cheap. Great Wi-Fi and great a/c. Perfect location in Chinatown
Report this review
Brigitta T. Solo travelers Hungary, January 15, 2015
Nice little room in good location

location, staff helpfulness, wifi
8.3
room was tiny but overall good experience with cleanliness, security and advice given in different touristic questions
Report this review
Eng W. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 4, 2014
Small room and inaccurate information

Location
6.7
1) The information on their website is inaccurate example the facilities offered at each room was wrongly stated (e.g., Tv, table etc), none was offered in the room I booked -which were clearly stated as part of the facilities offered. 2) And the website didn't mentioned one has to climb stairs to get to the guesthouse. This might caused a lot of problem for guests who are elderly or handicapped. 3) Plus the main entrance to the guesthouse was just a typical small room door beside the 7-Eleven. When I tried to check-in, no one answer the bell, we even had to ask the 7-Eleven workers to help us call the caretaker as no one answer the bell. At last after 10 minutes, finally someone opened the door.
Report this review
Ridzwan A. Couples Malaysia, October 25, 2014
great stay at batu bata guesthouse

cozy, clean, nice ambient
10
had a great stay of 3days 2 nights. near to restaurant, Kuching waterfront and shops. really nice and cozy hotel environment. its best if there are rooms with bathroom attached. good for muslim couple.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 23 reviews Next page
Batu Bata Guesthouse KuchingBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Dorm FanBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Dorm FanBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Dorm FanBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Double Room Window With AirconBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Double Room Window With AirconBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Double Room With AirconBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - BathroomBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - BathroomBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - KitchenBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - CorridorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - InteriorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - InteriorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - InteriorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - InteriorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - InteriorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - InteriorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - InteriorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - InteriorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - ExteriorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - ExteriorBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Dining  & Rest AreaBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Rest AreaBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Rest AreaBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Rest AreaBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Rest AreaBatu Bata Guesthouse Kuching - Exterior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01