Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bell Chennai

Old Door No 21, New Door No 47, Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai City Center, Chennai, India 600003

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 53 reviews

36 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
7.1
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (53)
Sort by:
Russell H. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 11, 2016
Really helpful staff
5.7
I had the misfortune to have my wallet stolen on a public city bus while In Chennai & the Bell staff especially a young guy:- Mr M Elangovan were so good to me I can't praise him/them enough. Good hotel, Food especially evening meals are very tasty too.
Deborah K. Solo travelers United States of America, March 27, 2016
Good Modern Rooms but Location is not Great
4.7
This is my third time here on business. The location is within walking distance from the central train station. Facilities are modern and clean inside. The rooms are small but modern and comfortable. I am also glad to see that Wifi is now free. I stay here because it is close to the merchant I do business with. That said, the location is between a main road and rumbling trains passing in the back. In three years, the sidewalks have not been built yet on this street and you are walking in congested traffic. The tuktuks in front will try to rip you off, usually charging double if they see you are a westerner. Have the front desk call a fixed-rate taxi for you- cheaper and much more comfortable. You will need a taxi to get to malls or the center of town.
Cathy C. Groups Australia, December 30, 2015
A great place to stay as an overnight stop.

Breakfast, friendliness, helpfulness of staff
9.3
we stayed overnight and were pleased with our choice. They trains that run outside did not disturb us at all and we enjoyed watching the trains go by in the morning. Breakfast was included in the price and of excellent quality.
Mohamed W. Business travelers Maldives, August 29, 2015
Its a reasonable hotel in a good location

location and staff performance
8
Very good
Deborah K. Solo travelers United States of America, February 19, 2014
Value for Money, clean modern room

Helpful and friendly staff, modern clean room, nice shower
9
As a western single woman, I appreciated that the staff looked out for me. My room was right next to the elevator, away from the loud boisterous male crowd up all night in the hallways. They also made sure I did nor overpay for a cab/tuktuk, and even helped me with getting a sim card for my phone. The air conditioning "white noise" hid any rumble from the trains and there were plently of English channels on the LCD TV. Although the neighborhood is near Central Railway, it is not the best, but the hotel is like a refuge. My only gripe is having to pay by the hour for an unreliable internet. This should be free, as is standard in almost all hotels around the world.
Biswajyoti D. Couples India, September 29, 2013
best stay in affordable price!

friendly staff.... good Chinese food....best location
8.3
Comfy and well serviced .,......,..............,..........,......,......?.............................
Munian N. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 15, 2013
Value for Money

Clean, Business Hotel
6.7
The room and the hotel interior was great. Clean and decent environment. Good working aircond and confortable bed and bath. Downside - Breakfast is same every day and limited choice. Room at the end of corridor is a little far from the reception. No free internet and the service is expensive. For the price of the hotel, the internet and breakfas should be upgraded. Few minutes walk to Chennai Central Station and can even walk to Egmore station. Great location. Easy bus & train.
Dharmaraja R. Groups India, May 23, 2013
Excellent staff behaviour

very near to railway station. Good breakfast, Budget hotel
8.7
Michael D. Couples Australia, February 22, 2013
good clean hotel good service

restauraunt and food
7.7
as far as indian hotels go bell hotel was a good clean place to stay, restaraunt nanager dishan was very helpful and went out of his way to please us. we were pleasantly surprised by the food and service
Oeystein H. Couples Norway, February 13, 2013
A Hotel in the worst part of Chennai

Attitudes of the Staff
5.7
Railway track is going just outside the window and terrible sound starting from 5.30 in the morning were interrupted sleeping during my stay in the hotel. The Area where hotel is located is very very dirty and people was just peeing on the road without caring the crowd. i found it as the most worst area in Chennai. Trishaw drivers always try to cheat the foreigners and to get as much as possible charging more than the double. Public transportation is OK and 30 times cheaper than the fair we paid for the trishaws. Indians are not much friendly people and they are very reluctant to smile to the strangers like other south Asian countries like Sri Lanka.
Shopping Tip: Spencer Plaza, Express Avenue, Sky Walk shopping centers from some kilometers away.
1 - 10 of 36 reviews Next page
Bell Chennai ChennaiBell Chennai Chennai - InteriorBell Chennai Chennai - RestaurantBell Chennai Chennai - EntranceBell Chennai Chennai - BuffetBell Chennai Chennai - LobbyBell Chennai Chennai - Nearby- Central Railway StationBell Chennai Chennai - BUFFET COUNTERBell Chennai Chennai - AMENITIESBell Chennai Chennai - DELUXE SINGLE ROOMBell Chennai Chennai - RECEPTIONBell Chennai Chennai - NIGHT VIEWBell Chennai Chennai - NIGHT VIEWBell Chennai Chennai - FRONT DESKBell Chennai Chennai - TWIN BEDDED ROOMBell Chennai Chennai - MASTER BEDDED ROOMBell Chennai Chennai - AMENITIESBell Chennai Chennai - TABLE SETTINGBell Chennai Chennai - DELUXE DOUBLE ROOMBell Chennai Chennai - EXECUTIVE DOUBLE ROOMBell Chennai Chennai - FAMILY TABLEBell Chennai Chennai - DELUXE SINGLE ROOMBell Chennai Chennai - TRAM SETTINGBell Chennai Chennai - TEA COFFE MAKERBell Chennai Chennai - TENT CARDBell Chennai Chennai - TABLE SETTINGBell Chennai Chennai - TABLE SETTINGBell Chennai Chennai - WAITRESS SERVICEBell Chennai Chennai - WASH ROOMBell Chennai Chennai - SHOWER CUBICLEBell Chennai Chennai - NIGHT VIEWBell Chennai Chennai - CORRIDOR NIGHT VIEWBell Chennai Chennai - BuffetBell Chennai Chennai - Executive Twin RoomBell Chennai Chennai - Deluxe RoomBell Chennai Chennai - Executive RoomBell Chennai Chennai - EntranceBell Chennai Chennai - Room InteriorBell Chennai Chennai - RestaurantBell Chennai Chennai - RestaurantBell Chennai Chennai - Executive RoomBell Chennai Chennai - RestaurantBell Chennai Chennai - RestaurantBell Chennai Chennai - Pathway Bell Chennai Chennai - Deluxe RoomBell Chennai Chennai - Bathroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A01