My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bell Chennai

Old Door No 21, New Door No 47, Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai City Center, Chennai, India 600003 (Show on map)

Book now!

Bell Chennai Chennai - Executive Room Bell Chennai Chennai - Deluxe Room Bell Chennai Chennai - Corridor Bell Chennai Chennai - Bathroom Bell Chennai Chennai - Lobby Bell Chennai Chennai - Hotel Exterior
Hotel Area: Chennai City Center Number of Rooms: 49

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
17 reviews

Value for Money
8.5
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
8.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.7
Room Comfort/Standard
8.5
Food/Dining
7.4
Solo travelers (17)
Sort by:
Deborah K. Solo travelers United States of America, February 19, 2014
Value for Money, clean modern room

Helpful and friendly staff, modern clean room, nice shower
9
As a western single woman, I appreciated that the staff looked out for me. My room was right next to the elevator, away from the loud boisterous male crowd up all night in the hallways. They also made sure I did nor overpay for a cab/tuktuk, and even helped me with getting a sim card for my phone. The air conditioning "white noise" hid any rumble from the trains and there were plently of English channels on the LCD TV. Although the neighborhood is near Central Railway, it is not the best, but the hotel is like a refuge. My only gripe is having to pay by the hour for an unreliable internet. This should be free, as is standard in almost all hotels around the world.
Munian N. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 15, 2013
Value for Money

Clean, Business Hotel
6.7
The room and the hotel interior was great. Clean and decent environment. Good working aircond and confortable bed and bath. Downside - Breakfast is same every day and limited choice. Room at the end of corridor is a little far from the reception. No free internet and the service is expensive. For the price of the hotel, the internet and breakfas should be upgraded. Few minutes walk to Chennai Central Station and can even walk to Egmore station. Great location. Easy bus & train.
Deborah A. Solo travelers United States of America, January 21, 2013
Modern hotel, down the street from train station

Clean, modern, air conditioned
8.7
professional and helpful staff- even boxed up a package for me. room was a single, small but very comfortable bed and hot shower. restaurant is ok. you have to take a taxi to a good restaurant. this is my second stay here. one downer is that you have to pay for internet.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Beware the tuk-tuks- they will charge as much as they can. Ask the desk first what the fare should be.
Woei S. Solo travelers Singapore, December 25, 2012
A little noisy

Clean
6.3
The hotel is located between a road and a railway track. If the window to your room faces the railway track, you will be able to hear the blaring of horns from the regular trains that pass by the track. But it was not something that will affect you so much to the point that you cannot sleep as most of the time, you just hear the trains go by, without any blaring of horns. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room for the price I paid. The bed-sheets however had some blood stains (tiny dots and a bigger patch under the blanket). I could overcome these as there were no bed-bugs in the end (as I had thought when I saw the tiny blood-stains). Hreakfast - no good choices. Just a few dishes had food, the rest were empty. But overall, I had not much complaints.
Hiroomi O. Solo travelers Japan, October 12, 2012
Best Hotel !!

hotel's staff
10
I had a first travel india from chennai . After departure from this hotel , I had stayed many hotels . But I had no chance better hotels than this. The staffs are kindly and smoothly , and I had delicious dinner in hotel's restaurant !! Especially , Restaurant's staffs are best !!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: nothing
Julia G. Solo travelers United States of America, July 30, 2012
Great service and a nice stay

service, restaurant
9.3
It was my first time to Chennai and the front desk staff really helped me plan my trip. It was a very relaxing stay with no complications at all. Great price and great service
Barry H. Solo travelers Australia, July 16, 2012
Clean Hotel,great location

Very good value,very good staff,extremely clean,very close to railway station.
9.3
It becomes very difficult to comment about good hotels. The BELL HOTEL is one of those. In a nation that is so dirty and poor it is hard to get a good cheap hotel. The BELL meets all the needs of the modern independant traveler. A welcoming door porter. Polite and efficient check-in staff. Large very clean room with ensuite, and sweeping sound proof window over looking the street. Lots of bench space, and top matress.[good quality] Chennai not much of a city,but the Bell Hotel makes it worth while and being handy to Central station a good place for a rest and stop-over.I will be back,I have more to see in India, and Chennai,The Bell Hotel, airport,and railway station a good entrance.
William J. Solo travelers Canada, June 16, 2012
Nice hotel, excellent service.

Location
9.7
The staff here are very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant is also the best place to eat in the area and has reasonable prices - 4 USD for a curry and rice or naan. This hotel was recently renovated after a change in ownership, so the interiors are modern and clean. The WATER PRESSURE is the best I've had in years, in any country!!! The hotel is located 2 minutes walk from the main train station. The street is very busy, so that is the trade-off.
Habib S. Solo travelers Singapore, May 29, 2012
Good hotel that justifies the price

Quite centrally located next to shopping malls and train station
7.3
The room was smaller than seen in picture but was clean and comfortable. The toilet is also clean. Only the train sounds can be heard but they are not that loud considering hotel next to tracks. Good svc from front desk Suresh who try's his best to help you. The food was ordinary, nothing to rave about though.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Try not to take the auto from outside the hotel as they will charge you a lot. Try call taxi- Fast Trek as they are reasonably priced with packages. If need to go nearby shopping malls like Express Avenue, suggest you take auto further from hotel
Makoond K. Solo travelers Mauritius, February 9, 2012
Lovely hotel and good staff

helpful staff and cleanliness
8
staff was absolutely fantastic and they do every possible things to make you comfortable. Room service and food was too good.rooms and bathrooms were very clean and room sizes are very good. free tea and coffee in the rooms are a bunus.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Bell Chennai Chennai - Main BuildingBell Chennai Chennai - Executive RoomBell Chennai Chennai - Deluxe RoomBell Chennai Chennai - CorridorBell Chennai Chennai - BathroomBell Chennai Chennai - LobbyBell Chennai Chennai - Hotel Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3B05