Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bell Tower Hotel

No.110 South Avenue, Beilin District, City Midst District, Xian, China 710001 (Show on map)

Book now!

Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Exterior Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Exterior Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Entrance Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Interior Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Surroundings Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Restaurant Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Guest Room Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Guest Room Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Guest Room Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Special Offer  Double or Twin Room Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Restaurant Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Lobby Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Interior Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Pub/Lounge Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Interior Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Exterior
Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Surroundings Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Lobby Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Surroundings Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Restaurant Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Lobby Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Pub/Lounge Bell Tower Hotel Xian - Restaurant
Area: City Midst District Number of Rooms: 300

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
878 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (878)
Sort by:
Marcella W. Families with older children Canada, August 11, 2011
good location rooms a little older

location
6.7
the location could not be better. the city wall is near by and the bell tower is out the front door. the muslim quart is within walking distance all great
Simon M. Couples United Kingdom, August 8, 2011
Perfect location in the heart of Xi'an

Location, high quality room
8.3
The Bell Tower Hotel is in an amazing location - directly staring at the Bell Tower itself, with the Drum Tower and shopping district next door. It's a 4 star hotel, and the lobby and the rooms reflect that. My girlfriend and I asked for our room to be changed, and the desk staff were incredibly helpful, giving us a romantic room overlooking the town square. However - the showers are below standard. Also, don't book a tour through the hotel - we paid more than 100 yuan more than other couples who had booked the same trip through the internet or hostel. Additionally, the trip wasn't particularly good and the service was awful. Also, don't visit the spa for a massage in the hotel. The staff looked surprised my girlfriend and I were there, and we were taken into a room with a massage table...and a bed. Hmm. DON'T book a taxi through the hotel - they will call an unlicensed car which costs double that of a metered taxi. Instead, when going to the airport, go 5 minutes around the corner where the airport shuttle bus will take you for only 26 yuan. The breakfast isn't very good either. I hate to say it, but there's a Starbucks around the corner, so go there instead.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: DON'T book trips through the hotel. Go through the internet or a hostel. The tour guide may also try to cheat you out of sightseeing - we paid to visit 4 attractions, and the guide only wanted to show us 2 claiming the others 'weren't worth seeing.' Be strong and firm, and demand what you paid for and a compromise can be reached (even if it's not ideal). If you want to visit attraction such as the big goose pagoda, take a taxi as it's incredibly cheap.
Glenn S. Solo travelers Australia, August 8, 2011
A bit disappointed with this hotel...

I think only the location and the breakfast buffet
5
I booked this hotel on a recommendation from a friend. I booked it online and requested a non-smoking room with a view of the Bell Tower. I ended up with a room which smelt like an ashtray and a view of a carpark and filthy buildings; however I was apparently 'upgraded' to a two room (lounge area and bedroom). The bed was hard as a rock and in fact I think the carpet (which was filthy) would have been softer - however most hotel beds in China are particularly firm. One could be deceived when entering the lobby as it's nice and clean but the room I was given was not. TV had about 40 channels - nothing in English except CCTV News. The standard of English was poor, I wanted a massage however the masseuse did not know any English and after using hand gestures trying to explain that I wanted a firmer massage, I gave up in the end. It does have free broadband (as does many Chinese hotels) but no WiFi. It was rated as a four-star hotel but hotels outside of major cities tend to be overrated, I would rate this (or at least my room) at perhaps two and a half, three at a stretch. I stayed in another four-star hotel in Chengdu and it was far superior to The Bell Tower Hotel.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: It is close to the Bell Tower and some major shopping centres, not far from the City Wall.
Michael A. Solo travelers United States of America, July 24, 2011
wonderful location

clean and fresh rooms
8.3
quick and fast free upgrade to a larger room .staff sharp and as i said clean x 2 .
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: muslim section should be seen only at night , wonderful .
Jasmine W. Families with young children Indonesia, July 21, 2011
Great location but small room

Great location
5
The location is really great. Located in the historic city wall area. But the room is dirty, a bit old, and not clean. Asked for an extra bed it was very wobbly, bad bed, and broken. I was only staying for one night so it's bearable. But, would not return to this hotel.
John R. Solo travelers New Zealand, July 19, 2011
Stay in Xi'an's iconic hotel

comfortable room, if on the small side; friendly staff, great position for sightseeing and buses, handy to lots of local restaurants/cafes.
9.3
The airport bus finishes it's journey just around corner for your arrival, and of course as a starting point when going to the airport. Handy and close to the Muslim quarter, and the famous dumpling restaurant in the centre of the old city. Two blocks towards the South gate, turn left and find interesting local restaurants or a Walmarts if you are that way inclined. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. I can't rate food or facilities because I never used them: I will put 3 just so that I can out of this page. But the ratings are meaning less when they don't apply.
Travel tip: The buses to the railway station stop opposite the hotel. Take 603 from the Hotel to the station (cost 1 yuan - about 10p), walk about 200m passing through the arches towards the station, heading East and then get 306 to the Terra Cotta Warriors for the cheapest ride (7 yuan - about 70p) to this icon.
Scott F. Families with young children United Kingdom, July 17, 2011
Nice clean hotel in a great location.

Convenient to major sites, clean and well run, lovely tea house.
8
Brilliant location with a room looking over the Bell and Drum towers which has a draw back with the traffic noise. The breakfast has a range of Chinese and western options. We also had mosquitoes in our room. We enjoyed a lovely afternoon in the tranquil Tea House while our daughter slept in the stroller. It is disappointing the hotel doesn't enforce the no smoking policy, but it was bearable.
Hotel Feature Tip: Bring earplugs and mosquito repellent.
Rickmen G. Couples Canada, July 17, 2011
Great Location with friendly helpful staff

Location is excellent! close to everthing you would want to see - bell and drum towers just a few minutes away. rooms were well cared for and the staff was very helpful with any question.
9.3
Agoda said it was a descent hotel for the money and they were right. the food was a little expensive but we live on Thailand so it is unfair to compare.the breakfast was OK for their star rating so we didn't expect 5 star. they arranged all our tours from their tour desk on the second floor. very helpful and fair prices. the walk around the wall walk though was a bit of a disappointing. explore the walkways around the outside of the wall through some park-like scenes is better. the hotel arranged for our taxi to the airport for our departure and that was very helpful. overall this hotel is a good deal for the money.
Shopping Tip: take a tour of the Muslim quarter. it is very unique with lots of specialty shops. the people are friendly and the food is different and worth trying.
Li D. Couples China, July 15, 2011
great location

close to everything
8.3
it was really easy to find the hotel, and the hotel is close to all inter city tourist attractions and lots of public transport, yet the hotel itself is very old and not up to a 4 star standard, so it is only good for traveler
Nightlife Tip: muslim street (xi yang shi steet / bei ji guang street) has many bbq food openned till 1-2 am
Nancy B. Solo travelers United States of America, July 14, 2011
Lovely hotel, great location, great service

Location right in front of Bell Tower
10
I arrived very late and requested a pick-up which was done by a polite English speaking driver. I was upgraded to a suite with spectacular view of Bell Tower. Service was excellent. I'd recommend.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Bell Tower Hotel XianBell Tower Hotel Xian - ExteriorBell Tower Hotel Xian - ExteriorBell Tower Hotel Xian - EntranceBell Tower Hotel Xian - InteriorBell Tower Hotel Xian - SurroundingsBell Tower Hotel Xian - RestaurantBell Tower Hotel Xian - Guest RoomBell Tower Hotel Xian - Guest RoomBell Tower Hotel Xian - Guest RoomBell Tower Hotel Xian - Special Offer  Double or Twin RoomBell Tower Hotel Xian - RestaurantBell Tower Hotel Xian - LobbyBell Tower Hotel Xian - InteriorBell Tower Hotel Xian - Pub/LoungeBell Tower Hotel Xian - InteriorBell Tower Hotel Xian - ExteriorBell Tower Hotel Xian - SurroundingsBell Tower Hotel Xian - LobbyBell Tower Hotel Xian - SurroundingsBell Tower Hotel Xian - RestaurantBell Tower Hotel Xian - LobbyBell Tower Hotel Xian - Pub/LoungeBell Tower Hotel Xian - Restaurant

Customer Reviews - Bell Tower Hotel, Xian

AS-AGWEB-3B08