or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon

No. 35, Taw Win Road, Dagon Township, Northern Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : The Governor's Residence Hotel

Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Open Restaurant Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Exterior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Exterior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Exterior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Garden Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Entrance Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Surroundings Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest Room Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Surroundings Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest Room Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Pub/Lounge Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant
Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Surroundings Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant
Area: Northern Yangon Number of Rooms: 48
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.8

based on
121 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.6
Room Comfort/Standard
9.4
Food/Dining
8.6
All reviews (121)
Sort by:
Huai-Hsuan E. Solo travelers Afghanistan, December 3, 2012
Colonial charm in a nice neighborhood

Beautiful mansion, decent location
7.3
Located slightly away from the city centre in the Embassy Quarter, The Governor's Residence is in a quiet and safe neighborhood. The landmark of Yangon, Shwedagon Padoda, is within walking distance (although I wouldn't say it's really that close). The estate features a colonial charm and you can indeed get a sense of its beautiful history while wondering around the pool, the garden and public areas. Our room is huge, with a humongous bath tub in the washroom, although I would say the overall decoration is more on the minimalist front. Breakfast should be nice, but the hot food station was not ready at 6ish when we had our breakfast (although we were told breakfast starts from 4:30am) - frankly quite a disappointment. Overall I would say it's a nice boutique hotel but probably a bit overrated given its price (hotels with similar quality in Bagan or Inle Lake would cost at most half of the price as the Governor's Residence).
Katherine C. Families with older children United States of America, November 23, 2012
One of the best hotels I've ever experienced

Beautiful hotel, wonderful/relaxing setting, great food - - excellent all around
9.3
Stayed for only one night, wish it could have been a week. Hotel is absolutely stunning. Staff are excellent. Grounds are beautiful - rooms/common areas/pool/etc. Food is very good. All around a wonderful stay and if ever in Myanmar again will definitely stay here!!
Melissa H. Couples Singapore, November 19, 2012
Excellent hotel for couples to have a relaxed stay

Room is romantic and hotel ambience is great
8.3
Excellent service staff, beautiful hotel and romantic getaway
Marjan P. Business travelers Macedonia, November 11, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

hotel staff
8.3
business trip.pleasant stay at the hotel with many polite people. good location
Robert M. Solo travelers Indonesia, November 4, 2012
The fabulous service is what makes this Hotel

Service is superb from the moment I was met at the Airport by Mary Ann a d the driver until I checked out .I found no other establishment , hotel , restaurant etc , to compare during my visit to Burma
9
My thanks especially to Mary Ann and to Oscar both excellent in the wonderful service they provided. Actually my communication with Mary Ann started via email some couple of weeks before arrival as i need assistance with airline bookings to Bagan as well as airport transfers .... Nothing was ever too much trouble . I also ate in the hotel on two evenings .. Superb food and again fantastic service at the bar and at the table ... At the bar ... The best dry martinis ! The rooms were nice , large , clean and very comfortable but it is all about serviice at The Governors Residence Hotel ...
Hotel Feature Tip: A pre dinner Martini in the bar !
Margaret L. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 29, 2012
Beautiful hotel with outstanding service

Swimming pool in the garden provides an oasis. Hotel's colonial style features transport you back to another era.
9.3
From the minute the reception sounded the gong to announce my arrival I felt like a special guest. Having just arrived off an all night flight it was marvellous to relax in the colonial style lounges and by the pool with attentive staff on hand to serve a cold drink. The small number of rooms (47) meant that staff seemed to know all the residents and take a real interest in them providing helpful information about local sights and organise trips as well as finding lost property. Eating in the restaurents was inevitably more expensive than going out but very pleasant. It is a bit of a distance from shops and down town but near the National Musuem and the main pagoda and taxis are relatively inexpensive.
Restaurant Tip: Moonson in downtown Yangon provides good quality food and is not too expensive. It has an extensive cocktail list (assuming you have not stopped by the Strand hotel first) and a handicraft shop in its upstairs Loft
Charlotte C. Families with older children Germany, October 9, 2012
Very nice hotel and friendly service

Nice setting in quiet area, phantastic breakfast, close to National Museum and Shwedagon Paya
8.3
We had a very relaxing stay of 3 nights at the hotel. After hours of walking, driving and visiting the hot and busy city we always looked forward to coming back to the cool and quiet hotel. The breakfast was just wonderful and rich. The restaurant is slightly overpriced for what is offered, but the beautiful place makes up for it. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, the only inconvenient was the noisy air-con. Even when we switched ours off, we still heard the one of the neighboring room.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Besides the obligatory Shwedagon (which is best around 5pm to sunset), visit the National Museum that has many beautiful things, even if they are not well exposed, ill-lit and there are only a few explanations in English. The staff helps out if wished!
Emmanuel F. Solo travelers France, October 4, 2012
Home in Yangon

Quiet, very good food, excellent atmosphere, kindness all around.
9
allow yourself a moment away from the busy and noisy city center. treat yourself to a charming environment. with perfect service attention and smiles all around. the selection of meals is appropriate for a couple of days. keep a moment in the gardens to imagine yourself in different times.
Ian B. Couples Australia, September 28, 2012
Luxury hotel in quiet location.

Located amidst quiet, expansive gardens with a great pool - good food and service.
8.7
it has the best location compared to The Strand Hotel(on a busy street corner with continual traffic noise) and the Savoy (not as bad as the Strand).It is interesting to walk around the area and see the colonial era Embassy buildings. The (free)WiFi was impressive.Close to the National Museum - but little else. Like many hotels, the electric lighting in the room could have been stronger. Air conditioning excellent.
Travel tip: Did not see any local restaurants, but taxis are cheap.
Jacques O. Couples France, September 24, 2012
Exquisite and utterly civilized

Exceptionally high standards
10
the place is beautiful governor room was quite splendid! (lucky enough to get upgraded - our deluxe room was not ready) swimming pool is seriously nice service as it should be truly exceptional: even breakfast was both of very high quality and offering truely great local flavour options. boutique hotel managers should rush to the governor to learn from the masters.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: City Centre is quite exceptional for anyone enjoying a truly buzzing city

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Open RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - GardenBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - EntranceBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - SurroundingsBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest RoomBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - SurroundingsBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest RoomBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Pub/LoungeBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - SurroundingsBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3A04