or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon

No. 35, Taw Win Road, Dagon Township, Northern Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : The Governor's Residence Hotel
Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Open Restaurant Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Exterior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Exterior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Exterior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Garden Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Entrance Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Surroundings Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest Room Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Surroundings Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest Room Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Pub/Lounge Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant
Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Surroundings Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant
Area: Northern Yangon Number of Rooms: 48
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.8

based on
129 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.6
Room Comfort/Standard
9.4
Food/Dining
8.6
All reviews (129)
Sort by:
Lily P. Business travelers United States of America, March 24, 2013
good

friendly,clean,nice
8
Fiona P. Families with older children March 1, 2013
Quite spot in Yangon with outstanding breakfast!

Site, restaurant, pool
8.7
The hotel is located in the embassy area near the shwedagon pagoda. The pool and the outside area and the restaurant is very nice with a "colonial touch". The breakfast is outstanding and very nice if you seat outside in the garden. The people at the reception were extremly helpful and handled our mix-up with an extra bed very professionally. Personally I prefered the site of the hotel to that of "The Strand" because its a bit away from the very busy and noisy main street.
Steve R. Couples United Kingdom, February 20, 2013
Beautiful hotel - tranquil and comfortable

Excellent staff
9
Beautiful hotel - tranquil and comfortable, and an oasis from the busy streets of Yangon. Lovely pool, very attentive staff who we couldn't fault, very comfortable room (although it was beginning to look a little dated), lovely restaurant with an imaginative menu. If you can afford it, spend some time here for a treat.
Catherine S. Couples United States of America, January 30, 2013
Exquisite Place

Swimming pool, gardens, service
9.7
Alhtough it is very expensive, this hotel is wonderful. Our room was enormous and beautifully equipped (with a granite tub the size of a small swimming pool). The gardens are lovley and the swimming pool is a tropical fantasy. The staff was charming, frinedly and attentive.
Restaurant Tip: The hotel restuarant charges New York prices but the food is excellent and the gardne setting most romantic. I had some of the best scallops ever.
Helen T. Couples Australia, January 3, 2013
Excelent an comfortable

well appointed rooms, lovely grounds, fabulous food
9.3
Excellent and memorable Would return and recommend
Tracey A. Families with older children United States of America, January 2, 2013
Gorgeous oasis in busy Yangon

beautiful pool, charming and stylish main building and luxurious rooms
9
Wish we could have stayed longer. Luxurious rooms and beautiful grounds. Friendly, professional and helpful staff. Terrific breakfast. Only quibble was the piped in music in the main house which imposed a commercial feel on the otherwise tranquil atmosphere. Also a bit on the pricey side. Hotel arranged for a driver to take us around the city who was excellent.
Diane P. Couples United States of America, December 4, 2012
Governor's Residence -a retreat in Yangon

Quiet - elegant - nicely appointed
8.7
GR is well located in the heart of Yangon. You do need a taxi or car and driver to get anywhere. Rooms are comfortable - pool is set in a lovely garden - breakfast has many good choices. dinner is well done. Dine in AC room or on patio. Staff is very welcoming.
Shopping Tip: Augustine's for good artifacts, L'Opera in the garden for dinner
Huai-Hsuan E. Solo travelers Afghanistan, December 3, 2012
Colonial charm in a nice neighborhood

Beautiful mansion, decent location
7.3
Located slightly away from the city centre in the Embassy Quarter, The Governor's Residence is in a quiet and safe neighborhood. The landmark of Yangon, Shwedagon Padoda, is within walking distance (although I wouldn't say it's really that close). The estate features a colonial charm and you can indeed get a sense of its beautiful history while wondering around the pool, the garden and public areas. Our room is huge, with a humongous bath tub in the washroom, although I would say the overall decoration is more on the minimalist front. Breakfast should be nice, but the hot food station was not ready at 6ish when we had our breakfast (although we were told breakfast starts from 4:30am) - frankly quite a disappointment. Overall I would say it's a nice boutique hotel but probably a bit overrated given its price (hotels with similar quality in Bagan or Inle Lake would cost at most half of the price as the Governor's Residence).
Katherine C. Families with older children United States of America, November 23, 2012
One of the best hotels I've ever experienced

Beautiful hotel, wonderful/relaxing setting, great food - - excellent all around
9.3
Stayed for only one night, wish it could have been a week. Hotel is absolutely stunning. Staff are excellent. Grounds are beautiful - rooms/common areas/pool/etc. Food is very good. All around a wonderful stay and if ever in Myanmar again will definitely stay here!!
Melissa H. Couples Singapore, November 19, 2012
Excellent hotel for couples to have a relaxed stay

Room is romantic and hotel ambience is great
8.3
Excellent service staff, beautiful hotel and romantic getaway

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Open RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - GardenBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - EntranceBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - SurroundingsBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest RoomBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - SurroundingsBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest RoomBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Pub/LoungeBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - SurroundingsBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3A06