My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon

No. 35, Taw Win Road, Dagon Township, Northern Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : The Governor's Residence Hotel

Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Garden Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Garden Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel Exterior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel Exterior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel Exterior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel Exterior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Pub/Lounge Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Garden Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Restaurant Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Pub/Lounge
Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest Room Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming Pool Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel Interior Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Pub/Lounge Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest Room Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel Exterior
Hotel Area: Northern Yangon Number of Rooms: 48
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.8

based on
113 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.6
Room Comfort/Standard
9.4
Food/Dining
8.6
All reviews (113)
Sort by:
Michael N. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 18, 2014
Great luxury hotel which is an oasis in Yangon

Food, staff and the pool
9
A lovely hotel with beautiful grounds and buildings. Amazing service where staff were so nice. Great food and a very relaxing ambience.
Paul H. Couples Australia, April 9, 2014
Charming and Great Staff

Great service
8
Janet B. Couples United Kingdom, April 8, 2014
Colonial style hotel in quiet location

Quiet location in embassy area; colonial style and gardens; curry dinner buffet
9.7
Susan C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 4, 2014
Tranquil ,with soul and ambience

Amidst theTranquility ,soaking up the ,deep Soul and Ambience whilst quaffing the exquisite food.
10
I treasured each moment Whilst enjoying theTranquility of the gardens where the peacocks roamed ,soaking up the ,deep Soul and unique timeless ambience of the hotel and quaffing the exquisite food.
Joanne R. Couples United Kingdom, February 16, 2014
Old world charm with a boutique hotel feel

Luxury oasis , attentive staff and excellent food & drinks
9.3
Governors residence What can you say? This hotel offers old world charm with a very "boutique" feel to it. Yes there are more modern establishments in town with larger pools, lots of marble and mirrors in the lobby but, if you want excellent service and a great, understated colonial style retreat in the city then you have to go quite a distance to beat this. The main body of the hotel which incorporates the restaurants, shops and bars has been tastefully formed from the original governors house that was built in the 1920's. The gardens and ponds surrounding the property are incredibly lush and even have a resident pair of peacocks. The pool area is quiet and provides an excellent respite from the city. The rooms are housed in more modern blocks to the rear of the original building but have been seamlessly grafted on and feel as though they have always been there. An earlier reviewer mentioned that neighbours could be heard, which is true but the same can be said for any hotel and I can honestly say that it never became an issue for us. We dined at both restaurants and the food and service was excellent in both. A special mention has to be made of the buffet-style curry table, a must for any curry lover with a choice of around 10 different curries as well as a grill station serving prawns and assorted satays accompanied by unlimited draught beer and soft drinks! When you consider that the room rate includes without a doubt the best breakfast buffet in town and complimentary minibar it's no surprise that this hotel remains consistently the best place to stay in Yangon. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Roger C. Couples Australia, October 18, 2013
extremely attentive staff in superb surroundings

excellent staff backed up by the great ambience generated by a luxury hotel in a quiet neighbourhood with a well maintained swimming pool and gardens.
9
One that we can look back on and say that we had superb service from extremely helpful and friendly staff.
Jennifer K. Couples United States of America, August 21, 2013
Luxury, culture, relaxation

The hotel had fabulous food, an amazing pool, and fabulous massage services
10
We stayed at the Governor's Residence during our Honeymoon in Myanmar. We absolutely loved this hotel. If we ever make it back to this amazing country/city, we will stay again. Everything was easy, the staff was incredibly helpful and nice to speak with. The hotel was situation slightly outside the city center which was nice because it was an oasis after the hustle and bustle of vibrant Yangon.
Ka H. Business travelers Hong Kong, August 6, 2013
Great Myanmar Feel to Hotel; Top 5 star in city

Beautiful pool, huge room, great breakfast for Myanmar
7.7
Enjoyed my stay at Governor's. Room and bathroom was very large and comfortable. Had internet and cable tv which is a plus being in Yangon. Nice getaway.
Christine S. Couples Australia, June 28, 2013
Luxury, peaceful setting

Impeccable professional friendly service in beautiful setting
9.7
Wonderful stay for 5 nights. The Governors Residence offers understated luxury in a perfect garden setting. Breakfast is superb, staff are attentive and friendly. We have stayed in beautiful rooms on two occasion. The beds are wonderful and bathrooms clean attractive and functional. The only minor grudge I have is that the high quality toiletries had been replaced with a mediocre substitute on the recent stay.
Kathryn V. Families with older children United States of America, June 25, 2013
Elegant, old world luxury.

Beautiful room and gardens, lovely pool, fabulous breakfast.
9
We loved everything about the hotel except one. Although the breakfast was the best we've had anywhere, the dinner in the hotel restaurant was mediocre and by far the most expensive in Myanmar even compared to other luxury hotel restaurant dinners we had. But don't miss having a drink in the wonderful upstairs terrace bar.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Belmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest RoomBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - GardenBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - GardenBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel ExteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Pub/LoungeBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - GardenBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - RestaurantBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Pub/LoungeBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest RoomBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Swimming PoolBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel InteriorBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Pub/LoungeBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Guest RoomBelmond Governor’s Residence Yangon Yangon - Hotel Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3B07