Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 114 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.0
Sort by

Hong A.
Singapore
December 20, 2015
Good location apartment with cooking facilities
Location is near convenience shop and shopping center, not to mention a short walk to the Esplanade. Cooking facilities allow family to cook up simple meal after the shops after close in the evening.
Location is near convenience shop and shopping center, not to mention a short walk to the Esplanade. Cooking facilities allow family to cook up simple meal after the shops after close in the evening.

Judy Y.
Australia
December 19, 2015
more like 3 stars
service, view
the stay was fine. room was fine, but for 4.5 stars probably not so much..maybe 3stars and for the amount per night as well. Service was great though.

Craig S.
Australia
December 07, 2015
excellent stay
in town and accessible to everything
excellent

PARVESH B.
India
November 24, 2015
Cairns holiday
Kitchen equipped , Lundry machine,room with view
Good comfortable, but wish that the bedroom had an airconditioner !!

Amanda O.
Singapore
November 24, 2015
Convenience
Location, Cleanliness, Wifi
Located opposite the mall, you get Target, K-mart, Supermarkets and plenty cafes. this makes up for the restaurant not having dining options. It is about 10-15 min walk to the Esplanade which can be a bit of a quiet stretch at night. The room is very clean and excellent kitchenette and toilet. Do note making up of the room is at a cost. So for those in for a long stay, you might have to fork up some money for housekeeping. Internet is fast. Friendly reception desk.

Lisa F.
Australia
November 09, 2015
hot and unclean
bed
Disapointed with bathroom cleanliness as there was remains of previous tenant's. Partially enclosed baconly made it impossible to sit outside because of Aircon units from adjoining rooms generated alot of heat. No extra pillows provided and aircon didn't work. Dirty mugs put back in cupboard. Unfotunately I wouldn't recomment to family or friends

Susan W.
Thailand
October 30, 2015
Review of BW Cairns
Location, cleanliness, staff
The hot water didn't work in my room, by the time I found this out I was about to step into it. So had to have a cold shower. The instructions in the room on how to operate the TV weren't accurate - when I called a staff member they said that the instructions shouldn't have been in the room. Then I couldn't use the remote (I think it was low in batteries). I was cold during the night but there was no extra blankets in the room.

Christina M.
Australia
October 12, 2015
Great location. Value for money.
Location. Price. Staff
Everything you need. Great location. Helpful staff. Great price.

Anthony V.
Australia
October 06, 2015
Friendly staff - misleading webpage
1. Great location 2. Really friendly staff 3. Comfy bed
While the staff were very nice and We don't fault their service ( had a laugh with them right from the start when our pen exploded!), but couldn't help feeling a little disappointed with the experience - • the best western plus cairns central website said that the rooms had a large flatscreen tv (and CD player)and we were looking forward to watching the footy on it but the TV in our room was tiny - when we asked at reception we were told the large flatscreens TV were only in the one and two bedroom studio apartments. This was not mentioned on their website. They also claimed to have a games room that no longer exists so watch out parents! •We paid $150 for the room through Agoda and after looking on the best western website found that we could of gotten a one bedroom studio apartment for an extra $3 - which we would of done had we known we were missing out on the large flatscreen and the CD player! • The toilet seat was stained and gross it needs to be replaced and there was rubbish under the bed that didn't belong to us. • There is no way to store Ice for your drinks! (we had to go get an esky!) anyone who likes a cold drink beware! • Lastly, though the guy from reception was happy to show us how to access the foxtel/Austar channels it was kinda complecated and there is no way of bringing up the channel/TV guide/info function so it was hard to know what channel you were on, what show you were watching and what was on next... So all in all we didn't hate it there but felt a little deceived by their website advertising (they really should update/addend it) and devo about having to watch the footy on a tiny screen and not having the CD player we were expecting to play of CDs with and felt at the time that we could of got a better room for around the same price elsewhere... (though perhaps that room would of been less convieniently located)

Marvin L.
Singapore
September 02, 2015
decent hotel
location was pretty good
no daily cleaning services but room was decent although small