arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (630)

Business travelers (61)

Couples (237)

Solo travelers (85)

Families with young children (82)

Families with older children (93)

Groups (72)

Very good
7.4
based on 630 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Facilities
5.9
Location
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Value for Money
7.8
Food/Dining
6.0

6.3 David B.
New Zealand
August 02, 2015
A Quick Overnight Stay
Close to CBD Spacious inside Independent for long stay
We requested a carpark and double bed but got neither. Had to show them our online reply for them to believe us. The carpet and bedspread badly needed cleaning. There was only 1 mug, 1 drinking glass, 2 teabags, no tea towel. Staff replaced these promptly. The receptionist loaned me an umbrella when it was raining.

5.3 Patricia D.
New Zealand
July 27, 2015
A no sleep night in auckland
The shower, the location
The first time has disappointed. I requested a quiet room and we were placed in a room beside the front desk, elevators and which was at ground level beside the entrance. On a Saturday night there was loud. Drunken noise that totally prevented sleep. Nothing was done by the desk to alleviate the noise. When I complained I was told that if I had paid more I could have been given a higher floor but nothing of this was mentioned at check in. You would have to be destitute to stay here on a Saturday night. The A Agoda special request was ignored.

3.3 Jade K.
New Zealand
July 28, 2015
Very dirty and no car park as promised
Location to K Road.
The ONLY reason I booked our stay at this apartment instead of staying at a hotel was because it advertised car parking. I made my booking 4-5 weeks before my stay and mentioned in my booking that I needed a car park. When I arrived, I was told all the parks were full and that I could park in the public car park next door for $15!!!! When I mentioned to the staff member that I had requested a park, and this was the only reason I had decided to stay here, he was no empathetic and didn't seem to care. The room was filthy. Slop down the kitchen cupboards and bin, badly stained carpet etc. The room did not look like the photos on the internet. I would give this a 2 star rating, not the 4 star they claim to be. Also the bed was very hard and cheap. I would never stay here again.

3 Dhana S.
Australia
July 24, 2015
I've stayed in backpackers that were better!
The first room we were put in was worse than a hostel. Room was next to reception. Balcony was on the street. Second room was not cleaned. Hair all over shower floor, sticky kitchen floor. After dealing with some extremely rude ataff members we were offered an ugrade and to check the new room. Upon coming back down we were told we'd have to pay for the upgrade. Description says free wifi. Then we were told it was 1gb per room per day. Upon check out and complaining we were told that we were given incorrect information. Carpets were not clean and had bleach stains all over them. We were told by one staff member that had we upgraded from a standard apartment our room would have been better - website says only difference is air conditioning. Then to be told by another staff member that they are all the same. We witnessed staff members being rudento other guests as well. Room is not how it looks at all. All things together our stay was horrible and made harder than it should have been.

3.7 Lynise J.
New Zealand
July 25, 2015
We will NOT be returning
We arrived just after 8.30pm and were told the person who could check us in had popped out, so ended up waiting 25mins for them to return. We were initially allocated a parking space, but when we went to park our car, the spot was already taken. A new spot was allocated, but within 5mins of parking a staff member came down into the basement (just as we had unloaded the car) and advised us we needed to move the car. We decided to take our things up to the room and come back to move the car. This suggestion was not accepted by the staff member who advised we needed to move the car straight away. (although they had not found another space to move to at this stage). My husband ended up taking the car back to the street to wait for another spot to be allocated, while I took our three year old up to the room. Upon entering the room I was hit with a repulsive smell. I turned on the lights and was shocked at the terrible condition of the apartment. The carpet had numberous stains and in the bedroom I found the source of the smell. There was vomit on the carpet that had attempted to be cleaned off, but the smell was overwhelming. The bathroom was also dirty with a toilet that clearly had not been cleaned from previous use. We went to reception and asked for a refund but was told no, they would change our room. (by this time it was 11pm and I had a very tired child). We went to the new room only to find it had not been serviced from the previous occupants. The beds were completely unmade, there were dirty dishes on the bench, the rubbish bins were over flowing. At 11.20pm we finally obtained a refund and left to find alternative accommodation. This was our worst experience we have ever had in New Zealand. Awful.

2.7 Isabel D.
New Zealand
July 23, 2015
dirt nappy, dirty carpet, just felt dirty
Location good, front desk friendly, view at night ok
The apartment felt dirty, there was a dirty nappy we only found the next morning after finally tracking the bad smell and stains on the toilet bowl! Made us feel we were in squalor

6.3 Jan R.
New Zealand
July 17, 2015
Apartments need re-vamping
Front desk service very good. Checking in and out good.
ok. The apartment we had was grungy. In house servicing I felt wasn't good. No vacuuming done or things wiped down and both beds were very hard. Also had a couple of holes on one wall. It was still a novelty to stay somewhere different. But a little disappointing.

6 Danlu C.
China
July 09, 2015
the bed is not made while the staying
location

7 Fons H.
Netherlands
August 06, 2015
Good stay
Close to the CBD, modern appartment, nice staff
Nice stay. Close to the city. Nice staff. Not enough cutlery and plates, but we got them as soon as we asked.

4.7 melissa S.
New Zealand
July 07, 2015
Bianco off Queen - Serviced Apartments
Bianco off Queen - Serviced Apartments