Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 37 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 37 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.0

Emanuel K.
Austria
March 05, 2013
fantastic setting, nice rooms
ideal for diving but also snorkeling as beautiful house reef can be reached directly from the beach
nice setting an rooms, unfortunately a little off with a very small but beautiful beach; probably not ideal if you don't want to dive or snorkel; offers a pretty little pool; rooms are spaceious (didn't see the cottages) and very clean, but not very beautifully designed; in house restaurant offers decent foods but nothing that blows your mind - also it's rather pricy and there are few alternatives and or / nightlife around it seems! WiFi at the club house but not very reliable definitely great for any diving related activity (as the name suggests)

Jouni K.
Finland
February 21, 2013
Amazing view
View, atmosphere
Nice place high on the rocks, Staff was friendly and even helped light a fire on the (small) beach in the night. Food was ok, but nothing to write home about and rather expensive for Bohol. It was a bit noisy in the mornings with Roosters and other people in the Huts, but still hoped could have stayed longer as the view from the restaurant looking down the ocean is superb.

Jing H.
China
February 18, 2013
Simply love it!
Perfect place for a quiet and relaxing vacation
Since we decided to spend a few days in Boracay after Bohol, so we chose Blue Star Dive in Anda instead of Alona beach, a bit far away from the noisy crowd, but just what we expected for a quiet and relaxing vacation. I'm travelling with an elderly and a child, and the resort offers everything we needed for the 3 of us -- a fantastic view to enjoy especially in early morning for my mother, a lovely pool and a jacuzzi for my daughter, and all day diving fun for adults. We also booked road trips to the Chocolate Hill, Loboc River and Lamanoc Island through the resort, and the services were simply surperb!

Fernando A.
United States
December 19, 2012
Great Location with Excellent Service
Breakfast buffet is very good
The resort manager is very friendly and helpful. Great view from the restaurant-area.

Peter V.
Australia
November 21, 2012
Fantastic hotel and location with glorious views
Location, ambiance, staff, restaurant, views, local reef and great outdoor picture perfect spa
fantastic hotel, set on top of a cliff, overlooking the sea from everywhere and perfect for either a romantic holiday, a great dive experience (very good dive facilities), snorkeling on its "own" reef (100 meters from the shore), going on bohol tours in your own private car, sitting in a big spa overlooking the sea or looking at the stars or going diving. the restaurant is great and the staff fantastic. the only thing is tyhe distance from the airport (1 1/2 hour drive) and the php (one way) airport transfer fee.

Louise G.
United Kingdom
October 08, 2012
I couldn't recommend a place more.
Friendly and helpful staff, good diving, beautiful location, lovely accomodation
I have never written a review before but felt compelled to do so this time as the place was SO exceptional. The resort is beautiful, the views stunning (especially from the cottage rooms) and Diggi and his team could not have been more friendly or helpful. We were there for ten days in August (the supposed rainy season) and had sunshine everyday with the odd spectacular storm, mainly in the evenings. The resort is right next to a stunning coral reef and all the instructors have such enthusiasm and (importantly) patience, along with expertise of the area, and know exactly where to go and when. They cater for all experiences, we were beginners and saw some amazing underwater sights, but there were others staying who had been diving all their lives and where still blown away but what they saw each day. The hotel serves delicious food and the layout allows you to be as sociable or private as you wish. We were invited along on trips - from island visits, to joining Diggi and his family for a meal at another resort - however there was never any pressure to accept, and so we had the perfect combination of quiet evenings by ourselves - lounging about on our balcony, by the pool or hot tub - or joining others for a drink or supper. Janice could not have been more helpful and friendly. She helped us with all our public transport - explaining which buses to get where - when going to the Chocolate Hills. She also went out of her way to help us hire 2 scooters and then patiently taught us how to change gears etc when we realised that the bikes were more complicated than we were used to! Hiring bikes worked very well for us as we got to explore around Anda, where everyone was friendly and around every corner there was something beautiful to see. I feel as though I am just scratching the surface with this review, as I honestly could not recommend a place more. Lovely staff, brilliant diving, friendly locals and far less touristy than most other places.

Pierre-Alain G.
France
August 16, 2012
Beautiful, beautiful location. Exceptional view.
Gorgeous Room View. Staff Attitude. Perfect quiet retreat.
the hotel is about 1.5h away from the bohol airport, in the quiet area of anda. facility wise: jacuzi, swimming pool, pool table. lobby and eating area taking great advantage of the fantastic view. rooms were clean, well maintained. no aircon in the room though. staff was polite, well informed, attentive and discreet. hotel food, if priced above local standards (at about us$ 10-15/meal) was excellent. reason to go (and come back): one of the most astonishing views in bohol. on the edge of a small cliff over the beautiful sea. for divers and snorkelers: hotels is very well equipped. equipment rental is painless and cost effective. the house reef itself is a sort swim away. caves, corals; tons of nudibranches, star fishes and other frogfishes/lion fishes await you. also excellent for snorkeling as the house reef is 50m away from the hotel. on the low side: enjoying the local filipino food was a little difficult as the local villages have very little choice in terms of eateries. that would be the only small negative point. i would also not recommend the place for party goers. this is a great quiet area, lost in the bohol nature & local villages. wonderful, wonderful place. the perfect quiet retreat.i will definitely be back. p-a

Eric B.
United States
May 31, 2012
Simply Awesome!
Less rooms means guests are given more attention. Great staff (didn't meet him personally though). I remember Valerie welcoming us too.
The two rooms that I reserved were ready since 0700 that day - totally unheard of. Normally, hotels and resorts allow you to check in after lunch or around 1100 at the earliest. Blue Star went beyond that. The attention that we received was far more personal than I've ever experienced due to the limited numbers of bungalows and rooms (I like that). Very relaxing atmosphere which I believe everyone will enjoy IF you stay at least 3 nights. Wifi repeaters should be strategically located throughout the resort to boost the signal.

Joanna T.
United Kingdom
April 16, 2012
Secluded location, friendly service
quiet, great views, excellent food
we booked this last minute and would not usually have chosen a 'dive resort' as i don't dive, but as it was easter weekend other hotels had limited availability. i think the resort sells itself short just calling itself a dive resort as you can have a lovely, relaxing, varied and active holiday there without diving. the food onsite is home-cooking comfort with restaurant standards - very good. the rooms are simple, but functional and clean. we did find that some of the extra costs e.g. hiring of snorkeling equipment and massages were very expensive. the staff are very friendly and make your stay very personal e.g. i had my birthday whilst we were there, and they sectioned off a summerhouse over looking the sea for our dinner, decorated it with flowers and gave me a bottle of wine and cake - very special.

Martin M.
United Kingdom
April 13, 2012
Stunning location , very informal and friendly
Very friendly and helpful staff. You can visit the Whale Sharks!
A great place to relax. If you are a diver then you are in a great spot with excellent facilities. However lots of other activities available. The staff will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need to enjoy your holiday. The day long boat trip to snorkel with the Wale sharks is not to be missed.