or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Maribago, Buyong, Mactan Island, Cebu, Philippines 6015 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Lobby Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Surroundings Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Allegro Swimming Pool Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Beach Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Swimming Pool Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Lobby Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Bathroom Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Swimming Pool Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Meeting Room Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Meeting Room Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Garden Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Swimming Pool Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest Room Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest Room Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest Room Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Premier Deluxe
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Jet Ski Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Beach Luau Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest Room Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest Room Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest Room
Area: Mactan Island Number of Rooms: 157

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
1396 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (1396)
Sort by:
Nancy C. Solo travelers Canada, October 23, 2009
October 2009

Beautiful resort, nice beach, friendly staff
7.7
Robert P. Couples United States of America, October 22, 2009
The Second Time Around

The Compound is private, wellmanicured and beautiful with a beautiful beach.
5
This time we were upgraded to a Spa Room. I assume it was because of the difficulties we experienced on our previous visit. The beach stones surrounding the tub and shower look nice but are not practical; they hurt my feet. If we had not booked the second stay in advance of the first stay I would have chosen a different hotel, but their attempt to make up for our previous experience was appreciated. The food quality is POOR. On the first visit three of our party ordered grilled chicken. Without exception all three chickens were served partially raw. I like rare steak but I cannot say that I enjoy rare chicken. The whole process (lunch) took 90 minutes, 75 of which we spent waiting. We had to ask 4 times before finally receiving the drinks we ordered. One of the salads never was delivered. We finally gave up and left the resturant. The breakfast is a buffet and was better than most that are offered at comparable properties in the Philippines. My advice regarding meals is to get them in the resturants in the area. Avoid Antonio's Seafood Resturant. They were out of every selection we made. They did however have live warm water lobster for 4,700php (about $100.USD)for a medium sized lobster; we passed on this recomendation. We finally left and found BBQ at a roadside stand. Two days later we were directed to a very nice resturant on Maribago street close to the hotel; The "Maribago Grill". The food was good, reasonably priced and there was a wide variety on the menu from lobster (offered at 1,600php (about $35.USD)to BBQ ribs sll of which were available. I highly recommend this resturant. All-in-all, if you avoid the resturants for other than breakfast the Maribago Bluewater hotel is not a bad choice if you want a beach front resort. For a more sophisticated setting with great views I recommend the Marco Polo. It is set halfway up the mountain with very nice views, nice rooms and good food.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Top of the Hill offers a beautiful panorama of Cebu. Make your own deal with the cab driver, not through the hotel. We negotiated a 5 our trip that included a trip to the mall, the Taoist temple and the Top of the Hill for 4 people for 1,300php (about $28.USD) An interesting overnight trip is the Island of Bohol to take the river cruise, and see the Chocolate Hills. The monkeys were a waste of time. They were kept in a roadside stand; Kind of sad really.
Robert P. Couples United States of America, October 20, 2009
There is a First Time for Everything

Private, quiet, beautifully manicured compound Good security Beautiful Beach
5.3
Enjoy the welcome drink that you receive upon arrival, it will be that last thing that is delivered promptly. After we dropped our bags in the room we went directly to the seafood resturant for lunch. The resturant was closed for remodeling and had been relocated to the beach. Good we thought, a nice view of the ocean while we enjoy a peaceful lunch after a long trip. The resturant was setup under a large tent on the beach which would have been nice if they had provided for ventilation. Without any ventilation a tent sitting in the hot sun can become very warm and this one was. If there had been an ocean breeze we wouldn have been fine but mother nature was not cooperating. We ordered tall glasses of the ginger spiced lime ade that we were served when we checked in and proceeded to peruse the menu. It was hard to believe from the menu that we were on a beach, on an island in the south pacific. Only two seafood offerings and both of them frozen; what is the world is going on? Sad to say the most inviting thing on the menu was the grilled half chicken. Three of us ordered the chicken the other ordered the grilled pork belly. Two of us ordered a salad and two ordered appitizers. Fortyfive minutes later our salads and appitizers had not arrived, the chicken was still grilling and our drinks, remember our drinks that we ordeered upon arrival in the resturant? Well, they had yet to arrive as well. Questioned about the drinks, our waitress headed off in search of the missing beverages never to be heard of again. Another thirty minutes passed before two of the three chickens were served along with the pork belly. The third chicken for some reason needed another twenty minutes on the grill. Twenty minutes the third chicken was served. The appitizers and salads were still missing and the drinks had yet to arrive. Questioned again about the drinks, the resturant manager appologized and went herself to find them. Five minutes later three of our four drinks arrived. The fourth
Restaurant Tip: Dont eat at the hotel. Avoid Antonio's Seafood Resturant (another long story). Try the Maribago Grill just a short walk from the hotel compound.
James D. Couples United States of America, October 20, 2009
Great Value-Service and Amenities

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Staff was accomodating.The rooms were clean and nicely decorated.
10
Overall, I would definitely go back to the Maribago Bluewater for it's nice beach,water sports, island hopping amenities and it's swimming pool.the resort staff is very friendly and courteous.The food in the restaraunts were also good avoiding going out in the crazy traffic that surrounds the city of Cebu.
Restaurant Tip: check out the Maribago Grill very close to the resort with great food and fantastic atmosphere.
Stanislav M. Solo travelers Australia, October 19, 2009
Overall, a lovely experience ruined by one problem

Beautiful, spacious rooms Great pool Friendly staff Wonderful beach
8.3
The facilities are great, food diverse, beach is nice and there are a lot of things to do. The location also isn't too bad. However, it only takes one problem to ruin an experience. I was coming back to the hotel with a female friend. The guards stopped us and didn't let us enter. She had to surrender her ID and sign that she wouldn't steal anything - I had to permit her to come in with me. I understand if she was wearing a short skirt, was wearing excessive makeup, etc., but this was a high profile and well-educated and spoken girl in the city. In order for her to even leave the hotel I had to sign a permission slip. However, if asked: would I stay in the hotel again, I would say "yes".
Yao B. Couples Hong Kong, October 14, 2009
2 nights in bluewater

The quatity of customer service is excellent. the surrounding makes place is very relaxing.
7.3
the location of the place is not too convenient. the closest local market or stores is about a 15-20min walk away. on the way you will most probably pump into loads of random local who will sell you massages and trips around the cebu. bluewater is quiet and not too many things to do. it's a brilliant place if you just want to get away with a beer and bookin hand. the beach side is a nice scenic area, not really a swimming beach.
Restaurant Tip: Brilliant little grill street store around the conern from bluewater about 10min walking distance. gotta try the ribs!
Yao B. Groups Hong Kong, October 12, 2009
2 nights at blue water

Beautiful environment, clean and fresh. friendly people (some might be over firendly as times). Safe and high security presence.
7
Overall, for it's price Bluewater is a nice resort. I would go back, but it's really a resort for those that are looking to relax. Enjoy the sun, a beer or a book for a day. The pools are more ideal for swimming but the beach side is a nice spot to chill.
Restaurant Tip: there is a little local grill place around the corner. it's about 5-10min walking distance. very local, but great food and very cheap price. have to try the ribs!
Eugene W. Groups China, October 11, 2009
Very friendly hotel with excellent service

Very secure hotel just like home Excellent service and friendly staff
8
The beach is beautiful, but actually no one would swim at the beach as it was full of boat and shallow. The service is excellent and staff was friendly with smile. However, I am very sad about the staff selling island hopping. Their staff would sell you with discount. Don’t be happy, as they would take the deposit and then refer you to other people, and then the people would request you to pay one by one. Therefore, you would finally pay more than the deal at the beginning. Never trust that the staff would sell you good thing.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: No sight nearby.
Chen W. Groups United States of America, October 5, 2009
Awesome place

Friendly staff, there is a nurse on staff, fast service and good atmosphere.
8.3
This resort is a great choice if you just want a place to relax with a friend or your loved ones. The service is great, the staff is extra friendly, the rooms are clean and the place is beautiful. I was sick one of the days and they even got me a nurse to check me out -- for free! They should clean the water in the afternoon though. There is some sort of algae build up later on the day.
Shopping Tip: Always tell the taxi driver to use his meter!
Travis H. Couples Singapore, October 5, 2009
Overall a Good Place to recommend

Good facilities (pools, gym, table tennis, pool table, etc), friendly staff, good service
9
I liked my stay here; it has good facilities and friendly staff; the beach front is very beautiful and provides instant acces to sports facilities like jet ski, ferry for island hopping, tours for scuba diving and snokering. You can also nice meals at the 24hr resaturant as well as room service. Recommended to people who want a by-the-beach resort at competitive prices.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Ask the boatmen for recommendations to nice islands; the boatmen could bring you to different islands based on your preferences.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort CebuBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - LobbyBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - SurroundingsBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Allegro Swimming PoolBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - BeachBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Swimming PoolBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - LobbyBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - BathroomBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Swimming PoolBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Meeting RoomBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Meeting RoomBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - GardenBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Swimming PoolBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest RoomBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest RoomBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest RoomBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Premier DeluxeBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Jet SkiBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Beach LuauBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest RoomBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest RoomBluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, Cebu

AS-AGWEB-3B06