or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bong House

117-2, Myeongryun 3-ga, Myeongryun-dong, Jongro-gu, Jongro / Insadong, Seoul, South Korea (Show on map)

Book now!

Bong House Seoul - Meeting Room Bong House Seoul - View Bong House Seoul - Guest Room Bong House Seoul - Guest Room Bong House Seoul - Guest Room Bong House Seoul - Guest Room Bong House Seoul - Guest Room Bong House Seoul - Guest Room Bong House Seoul - Family room (7 bed, private bathroom) Bong House Seoul - Guest Room Bong House Seoul - Recreational Facilites Bong House Seoul - Recreational Facilities Bong House Seoul - The wall in living room Bong House Seoul - Deluxe Triple (Private bathroom) Bong House Seoul - View Bong House Seoul - Bar
Bong House Seoul - Guide Book Bong House Seoul - Kitchen Bong House Seoul - Interior Bong House Seoul - Interior Bong House Seoul - Exterior Bong House Seoul - Interior Bong House Seoul - Interior Bong House Seoul - Bathroom Bong House Seoul - Interior Bong House Seoul - Interior Bong House Seoul - Interior Bong House Seoul - Logo
Area: Jongro / Insadong Number of Rooms: 9

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
38 reviews

Value for Money
8.8
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.7
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (38)
Sort by:
Wei F. Groups Singapore, January 23, 2013
Perfect Stay

Bong, homey, cosy
9.3
We stayed at Bong House for 6 nights. From Gimpo airport, we took the AREX line to Seoul station and then switched to the subway. From Hyehwa Station Exit No. 4, when you come up of the exit, you will see Baskin Robbins right in front of you. Do not cross the road, just come up of the exit and turn left straightaway on that very road, which is paved with shops on both sides of the road. just remember that CGV cinemas should be on your left along that road (its a very tall building, when u exit the station just look up towards your left and you should see CGV further up). Walk along that road right to the end, and on your right across the road you will see Dunkin Donuts. Cross that big road facing Dunkin Donuts and walk on the right alongside of Dunkin Donuts. Continue walking straight till you see Ediya Coffee (never seen the signboard lit up while we were there). Turn left at Ediya and walk to the left lane and you will see the Bong House & Bong Bar signage. Fyi, Family Mart has now changed to CU Mart. Our rooms were not in the main house, but in a different building just slightly across the street. We were on the 4th floor twin room, which had a lovely outdoor terrace with wall murals, that felt homey and we could see views of the distant mountains as well as the lovely SungKyunKwan University. Bong was a really jovial and hospitable guy, and brought us for dinner at a nearby duck BBQ restaurant, our first and only duck meal in our 12day korean trip! prices were very reasonable and the food excellent! FYI we booked a taxi to the airport on our departure (only jumbo taxis available), and it costs a flat rate of 80,000W, but there was huge space for lots of luggages, perfect for 4 persons with lots of shopping
Wei F. Groups Singapore, January 23, 2013
Perfect Stay!

Bong, Hospitality, Comfort
9.3
Our room had a heating system/heated floor, an aircon, hairdryer, microwave, mini fridge and water kettle. There was cable tv with a couple of english channels, and a bean bag for comfort. plenty of space around for huge suitcases and shopping! what made us really happen was the abundance of sockets in the room for us to charge our electronic devices the room came with a queen sized bed and a single bed, which were comfortable, with firm pillows and warm blankets. the toilet can be quite cold though, but we managed fine. Hot water and shower pressure was perfect. We also enjoyed hanging out at Bong Bar, which was the only bar in the many others we visited on this trip, which had a large pool table and dart machine. Bong Bar's decor is inviting and cosy enough to chill, where you could mingle and get to know other visitors from other parts of the world. the staff there was also friendly uni students who could converse pretty well in english. we took alot of cabs there, and if you want to go back to the hotel just memorise Sungkyunkwan University, most taxi drivers know Sungkyunkwan so it wasnt a problem for us. We had a lovely stay at Bong House and would not hesitate to come back again in the future when we visit Seoul. Highly recommended. We had rooms 301 & 401, which were perfect. You can buy your korean food products and titbits at Lotte Mart & Core mart just along that stretch!
Yiqing R. Solo travelers China, November 17, 2012
nice hotel with a homelike surroundings

warm
9.3
it's really nice though there is only two bathroom〜the host is very nice and people talk to each other change experience,i like here
Travel tip: it's not that easy to find but u just remember it is right beside the university
Nadia T. Groups Malaysia, November 6, 2012
Great Location

Near subway
8.7
We have pleasant stay at Bong House.Staff very friendly and can speak English well.Great location and really nice room!
John T. Families with older children Philippines, November 2, 2012
Our Humble Abode

fast internet and we have the whole house to ourselves...
5.7
Twas a great place to stay in a cozy place for our family of 6 to come home to at night and take note we are 5 girls and my dad. The security in the place was ok - and I think generally Korea is a safe place to go wandering around. Everyone is using S3 among others. The house is equipped with heater, ac, microwave - no TV though and no keys used just type the number code at your door and it opens. Beer per night is available for every person who is booked in bong's house.
Nightlife Tip: It is really a 500m walk from hyewa station from exit 4 - outside would be a lot of street food vendors and shops of all kinds. Convenience stores, Make-up stores, Restaurants, Cafes are all around that area so walking to Bong House would feel nice..
Natat M. Solo travelers Thailand, October 15, 2012
😄Great location to go other places in Seoul

Room was clean and friendly staffs
7.3
There was good if you travel alone and you may have to consideration staying with other guests too
Hotel Feature Tip: Bong house bar just next door! It was fun if you can play pools
Rea K. Solo travelers Hong Kong, September 24, 2012
Unforgettable in a good way

Excellent location. Safe n nice owner
8
we three girls stay in bong house for three night. the location is super conveniences. it take 5 mins to the subway. and there are lots of local tranditional restaurant near by. most of them also have english menu as well. the owner bong is very nice. place are clear n convenience. excellent choice for budget traveller.
Angelo A. Groups Philippines, September 10, 2012
Great guesthouse

complete facilities, great location, very affordable, accommodating hosts, free beer
8.7
We booked a twin en-suite room but was upgraded (for free!) to the family room when we arrived. It was just me and my friend but the family room can accommodate up to 4 people. There was 1 double bed and 2 single beds for sleeping. The family room is complete with toilet and shower, sink, cooking stove, refrigerator, small cabinet, washing machine/laundry area and still have plenty of room to move around. This is perfect for group of friends travelling together or even a small family on a trip especially for longer stays as you can cook your own food and store them in the refrigerator and even wash and dry your clothes. Mr. Bong was out of the country during our stay but Violeta was more than accommodating and willing to help us with whatever questions we might have. She's very good with English too so no worries about communication. Location was great. It's just a bit off a main road but this main road (to Sungkyunkwan University) is dotted with all types of restaurants and places to eat. You'll never run out of options to eat out especially if you walk further down towards Hyehwa area. There also a convenience store, CU mart (formerly Family Mart), just around the corner for whatever emergency toiletries/snacks you might need. In terms of transportation, there's a bus stop just 5 minute walk away from the guesthouse and a lot of buses pass by this stop (including the airport limousine bus 6011!). For the subway, Hyehwa station (light blue line/ line 4) is around 7 minutes walk from the guesthouse. From this station you can transfer to any line already. There are a lot of universities around the area so you can see a lot of young people/students walking around especially during lunch time. You can also visit these universities (but we didn't have the time to do so). Changgyeong(gung) Palace and the Seoul National Science Museum is just a 10 minute walk away. Overall, Bonghouse is a great guesthouse. Excellent value for money with complete amenities
Hotel Feature Tip: Don't forget to avail of your free beer at Bong Bar! Each guest gets a free beer for each night of stay at Bong Bar just beside the guesthouse.
Donghyeon G. Solo travelers South Korea, June 23, 2012
I wouldn't stay here again

Cheap?
4.7
Well, my friends and I had to crash after a long night--and by a rule in Korea, we could not stay in a hotel room. Anyway, we got this room form Bong House; we've been to some guest house in China and we expected something quite similar... When we arrived, it was very late. It took us a long time to find the place... -- I don't think the location is easy to find especially for travelers. When we get there, we learned that they changed our room from Triple to two individual rooms with mattresses. One room was great; and we were happy that they changed it, but the other room was horrible. It was tiny and stuffy. It feels like something is growing in that room. And, the amenities. There are few bathroom/showers. The problem is that there are no locks located. When I showered, two guys "accidentally" opened the door. One of our friend, she freaked out when a guy opened the door. Guest house supposed to be a safe place. But I felt otherwise. I do not recommend this place. (The people were nice but I hated this place.)
Hotel Feature Tip: Shared bath without locks.
Hu Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, May 25, 2012
a nice location hostel with very nice owner

room a bit small and dark
7
very nice owner showing his kindness and helpful. easy to get anything eat and buy, save to walk around as it is still crowd at 12am midnight.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Bong House Seoul - Hotel ExteriorBong House Seoul - Meeting RoomBong House Seoul - ViewBong House Seoul - Guest RoomBong House Seoul - Guest RoomBong House Seoul - Guest RoomBong House Seoul - Guest RoomBong House Seoul - Guest RoomBong House Seoul - Guest RoomBong House Seoul - Family room (7 bed, private bathroom)Bong House Seoul - Guest RoomBong House Seoul - Recreational FacilitesBong House Seoul - Recreational FacilitiesBong House Seoul - The wall in living roomBong House Seoul - Deluxe Triple (Private bathroom)Bong House Seoul - ViewBong House Seoul - BarBong House Seoul - Guide BookBong House Seoul - KitchenBong House Seoul - InteriorBong House Seoul - InteriorBong House Seoul - ExteriorBong House Seoul - InteriorBong House Seoul - InteriorBong House Seoul - BathroomBong House Seoul - InteriorBong House Seoul - InteriorBong House Seoul - InteriorBong House Seoul - Logo


AS-AGWEB-3B07