arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 19 reviews
Exceptional 9.1
Based on 556 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 19 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 8.3

Michael S.
South Africa
January 23, 2013
Nice hotel but noisy room
location, breakfast great, friendly staff
Stayed in a downstairs room, small but comfortable. However at around 4am in the morning we had to listen to the floorboards above and people stomping around upstairs. This went on till 7am. Got no decent sleep whatsoever. Terrible experience and will not return.

Martin
South Africa
March 08, 2016
Cosy and comfortable
Lovely coffee on arrival. Enjoyed the swimming pool and chat to other guests. Also the "private" bar. Appreciate that we only need to be out by 11.
Room was a bit small, but we knew that. Cannot think of anything else

Jacob
Namibia
March 07, 2016
Exceptional
The smoking allowed on the breakfast verandah really spoiled our breakfast

Zureka L.
South Africa
January 22, 2013
Charming guest house, good location
Friendly service, convenient location
We stayed for only one night. We were treated very well, and the airconditioning in the room was a lifesaver in the Stellenbosch heat!

Elsie B.
United States
December 30, 2012
Gracious hospitality ~ lovely rooms
a refuge after a long safari
We originally booked 2 days, as a respite from 2 months on safari. We arrived a bit early, and obviously worn out. The staff jumped to get our room ready, asked if we needed anything... we were grateful for their thoughtfulness. We walked for miles every day, content and safe in the lovely environs of Stellenbosch. We liked it so much, we would have stayed for a week!

Charlotta
Sweden
February 28, 2016
Lovely guesthouse in Stellenbosch.
Great breakfast and we loved sitting on the veranda in the morning. Close to restaurants and the gorgeous botanical garden, yet in a quiet neighbourhood. And the staff were so sweet and helped us with...
The pool was small and not enough lounge chairs.

Paul
Canada
February 27, 2016
Convenient for wine touring
Good breakfast. Good location. Helpful staff

Elsie B.
United States
December 29, 2012
Elegant ~ Lovely Hospitality
The personal touch of a guesthouse, with the fine touches of an elegant wine country inn.
We have spent two Christmas holidays at the Bonne Esperance. And we will return. The service is attentive and personal without being invasive. Breakfasts were delicious, and port availabe for an evening apertif in the library. From the Bonne Esperance, you can walk into Stellenbosch, to the botanical gardens or into the vineyards and hills.

Estelle
South Africa
February 02, 2016
Good
Good locotion, clean and comfortable rooms
Expensive, pool not clean

marie-gaelle C.
France
March 29, 2014
le calme près du centre
architecture pleine de charme, agréable piscine, à quelques pas du centre.
Petite chambre agréable donnant sur le jardin mais trop proche de la réception. Très petite salle de bain. Piscine rafraîchissante, copieux petit déjeuner.

Laura
United States
January 28, 2016
Very Charming
This is such a charming property. The location is right in the center of town. We had two wonderful breakfasts there, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend this ...

Annegret S.
Germany
April 27, 2014
Wunderschönes Guesthouse
Sehr gute Lage; alles zu Fuß zu erreichen; sehr schöner Garten!

Peter S.
Germany
December 17, 2013
Entspannung in toller Landschaft
Garten, Service und das Ambiente
Entspannung pur in einem romantischem Hotel in traumhafter Landschaft

Marijke
Netherlands
January 14, 2016
Fabulous
Nice room with patio
Not such a clean pool...

Herman
South Africa
January 13, 2016
Beautiful guesthouse in Stellenbosch
Beautiful garden and house!

Marco Z.
Germany
December 03, 2013
Ein wunderbares Hotel zum Entspannen
Großes Zimmer, Nettes Personal, Sehr schönes Gebäude mit tollem Garten

Hendrik
South Africa
January 11, 2016
Great and enjoyable stay!
Setting, location, staff very helpful and friendly, great breakfast
Room small, parking not safe

SATOKO N.
Japan
January 21, 2013
スタッフの対応がとてもよい!
立地と朝食
花の溢れる庭を見ながら朝食を取れます。 また朝食がとても美味しかったです。 スタッフがとても親切で聞いたことに丁寧に応えてくれます。 ステレンボッシュの中心部まで徒歩で行けるし、のんびりしていてとても気に入りました。

Mairtin
Ireland
January 10, 2016
Quaint Oldie Worlde guesthouse in...
Location was excellent, 5 minutes from centre of town. Staff very helpful and informative.
Fridge wasn't cold enough for beer, but it was exceptionally hot during our stay so it was probably an anomaly.