arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.7
Based on 19 reviews
Exceptional 9.1
Based on 543 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 19 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Staff Performance 8.6
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 8.3

6.3 Michael S.
South Africa
January 23, 2013
Nice hotel but noisy room
location, breakfast great, friendly staff
Stayed in a downstairs room, small but comfortable. However at around 4am in the morning we had to listen to the floorboards above and people stomping around upstairs. This went on till 7am. Got no decent sleep whatsoever. Terrible experience and will not return.

7.5 De
France
January 03, 2016
Good
Staff very friendly
room next to the breakfast lounge and office, noisy

6.3 Anonymous
South Africa
January 03, 2016
Hot As Hell
The room was nice and cool
There was no cloth on the table outside our room We'd brought snacks & champagne to celebrate The public areas were unbearably hot reception lounge & diningroom In the morning the ...

8.7 Zureka L.
South Africa
January 22, 2013
Charming guest house, good location
Friendly service, convenient location
We stayed for only one night. We were treated very well, and the airconditioning in the room was a lifesaver in the Stellenbosch heat!

10 Elsie B.
United States
December 30, 2012
Gracious hospitality ~ lovely rooms
a refuge after a long safari
We originally booked 2 days, as a respite from 2 months on safari. We arrived a bit early, and obviously worn out. The staff jumped to get our room ready, asked if we needed anything... we were grateful for their thoughtfulness. We walked for miles every day, content and safe in the lovely environs of Stellenbosch. We liked it so much, we would have stayed for a week!

9.2 George-louíz
Netherlands
December 28, 2015
Lovely stay
Tastefull breakfast, great location and decent room.

9.2 Gert
South Africa
December 24, 2015
Excellent stay
Breakfast on the stoep

10 Elsie B.
United States
December 29, 2012
Elegant ~ Lovely Hospitality
The personal touch of a guesthouse, with the fine touches of an elegant wine country inn.
We have spent two Christmas holidays at the Bonne Esperance. And we will return. The service is attentive and personal without being invasive. Breakfasts were delicious, and port availabe for an evening apertif in the library. From the Bonne Esperance, you can walk into Stellenbosch, to the botanical gardens or into the vineyards and hills.

9.6 Frank
Germany
December 20, 2015
Top value for money
Centrally located for wine tasting tours in all directions, Restaurants nearby. Value for money top!
Pool very small and with cleaning roboter inside not inviting for swimming.

8 marie-gaelle C.
France
March 29, 2014
le calme près du centre
architecture pleine de charme, agréable piscine, à quelques pas du centre.
Petite chambre agréable donnant sur le jardin mais trop proche de la réception. Très petite salle de bain. Piscine rafraîchissante, copieux petit déjeuner.

8.3 Paul
United States
December 20, 2015
Lovely facility; convenient to airport.
Clean; bed was comfortable; pleasant host; delicious breakfast.
Aircon in room didn't work. Neighborhood seemed a bit sketchy.

8 Annegret S.
Germany
April 27, 2014
Wunderschönes Guesthouse
Sehr gute Lage; alles zu Fuß zu erreichen; sehr schöner Garten!

9.3 Peter S.
Germany
December 17, 2013
Entspannung in toller Landschaft
Garten, Service und das Ambiente
Entspannung pur in einem romantischem Hotel in traumhafter Landschaft

6.7 Andre
South Africa
December 19, 2015
will come again.
Situation
Small room..no space.

8.8 Jmarc
Belgium
December 08, 2015
Fabulous
Beautiful guesthouse
No secure carpark . No gate

9.7 Marco Z.
Germany
December 03, 2013
Ein wunderbares Hotel zum Entspannen
Großes Zimmer, Nettes Personal, Sehr schönes Gebäude mit tollem Garten

10 Kirstin
United States
November 30, 2015
A wonderful place with a...
Fresh flowers! The friendly staff. Beautiful gardens. We felt very much at home. We were visiting our son and BE was very open to accommodating him as well during our stay.
The only thing that was a challenge was the parking. It seems there aren't enough places when busy. We managed.

9.3 SATOKO N.
Japan
January 21, 2013
スタッフの対応がとてもよい!
立地と朝食
花の溢れる庭を見ながら朝食を取れます。 また朝食がとても美味しかったです。 スタッフがとても親切で聞いたことに丁寧に応えてくれます。 ステレンボッシュの中心部まで徒歩で行けるし、のんびりしていてとても気に入りました。

10 Susan
South Africa
November 22, 2015
Exceptional
The garden was beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful