Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Borneo Global Backpackers Hotel

Lot 29, Ground & 1st Floor, Karamunsing Godown, Jalan Karamunsing, Central Business District, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

6.5

based on
94 reviews

62 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
5.9
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.4
Room Comfort/Standard
6.4
Food/Dining
5.4
All reviews (94)
Sort by:
Daniel D. Solo travelers Philippines, January 11, 2016
Cheap and fairly nice

Easy to access, friendly staffs, clean room
8.3
It was pleasant and really designed for backpackers/mountaineers like me. The value for money is great.
Report this review
Torsten R. Couples Germany, December 24, 2015
BGBKK

Price, lots of communal space
8
For RM10 great value, even including simple breakfast. Plenty of communal space, quite big, hot water showers, clean, usable WiFi. Very friendly staff. That said, dorms with bunk beds might feel crowded when full (when we were there, 2/3 of beds were empty), beds and mattresses OK but squeaky. Lockers would Br great, however you can leave your valuable stuff w/ staff. All in all we felt quite at home here.
Report this review
Richard B. Solo travelers Indonesia, December 13, 2015
Shocking
4.3
hmmmm....
Report this review
Ritz K. Couples Philippines, October 20, 2015
It was not perfect for us

Staff, Value, Breakfast
5
For me, I don't like this place. This place is a bit far from where we want to be. The taxi driver doesn't even know the place. We were going around in circles. We were frustrated with the entire thing. Good thing the staff is very friendly and helpful. She even wake up early in the morning to serve our breakfast since we need to catch up an early morning flight. The breakfast is at 6am but she woke up at 4am to prepare coffee and tea for us. If you have a flight early morning, there are no buses or taxis. They offer a shuttle but it costs 30 ringgit per person. We opted to walk going to the airport. It's a 45-minute walk.
Report this review
Ritz K. Couples Philippines, October 20, 2015
If you want to save money, avoid this place

Staff, Cheap, Food
5
If you want to save money, avoid this place. We chose this place to save money because its cheap but we realized that its not worth it. It's not located at the center of the city. You need to have a long walk to reach the attractions and some malls. The taxi driver doesn't know where it is. The place looks old and the beds are too soft. To be fair, the staff is very friendly and helpful. She woke up very early to serve us breakfast since we had an early morning flight.
Report this review
Angelyn V. Solo travelers Philippines, October 8, 2015
FUN at KK

the staff are very accomodating.The value of your money is worth it. The place is quite safe and the best is that te staff tried their best to let their guests enjoy! 😊
8
Report this review
Borja S. Couples Spain, September 7, 2015
Very nice people, so so place.

Staff, staff, location.
6
We had a great time there thanks to the interaction with the guys and girls working there though. The reception and common area downstairs is ok but the rest and the room was not really up to scratch. However, the price is very low so you get what you pay. For budget travellers it is a very good not comfortable option.
Report this review
Borja S. Couples Spain, September 6, 2015
Nice staff

Staff, staff, location
6.7
We had a great time thanks to the staff!
Report this review
Kian Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 29, 2015
HiDoG's Backpacker

Cheap, Friendly, Simple
6
Bathroom/Toilet door lock spoiled, water leaking from the top as well.
Report this review
Jillian J. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 20, 2015
reasonable and accessable.

the location is stategic, the staffs are friendly and approachable and the price is reasonable
9
Everything was good except the matress is too thin and felt uncomfortable during sleep. Improve this and all will be good.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 62 reviews Next page
Borneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota KinabaluBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - Ceiling Fan BunkerBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - Ceiling Fan BunkerBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - Aircond BunkerBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - Aircond BunkerBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - Queen RoomBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - Queen RoomBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - Twin RoomBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - Twin RoomBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - BathroomBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - BathroomBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - ReceptionBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - ReceptionBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - LobbyBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - LobbyBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - LobbyBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - LobbyBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - LobbyBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - LobbyBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - LobbyBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - LobbyBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - InteriorBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - InteriorBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - InteriorBorneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu - Exterior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04