Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Gonnakraal Road, Little Brak River, Mossel Bay, Mossel Bay, South Africa 6503

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.9

based on 27 reviews

22 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
9.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
9.0
All reviews (27)
Sort by:
Alison H. Couples United Kingdom, February 1, 2016
4 Star Game Reserve

The proximity of the rhinos, The setting of the hotel, The executive tents.
8.3
We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is beautiful and our Executive tent was a wow! You are very close to nature and some people may prefer not to be. The Game Drive was very good and we saw all of the big animals at the reserve.
Report this review
David N. Couples Australia, December 16, 2015
Beautifully designed reserve

Beautiful interior, great food, great views
8.3
We loved staying here, beautifully designed reserve. The food was amazing and the cocktails. We had a great time on the game drives. The pools could do with a good clean though.
Report this review
Christine S. Couples Australia, June 15, 2015
Botlierskop

Location, amenities, staff
9.3
My only complaint was one night was not enough. Lovely location, great staff and very good food. The facilities, in particular the lodge and luxury tented accommodation was fantastic.
Report this review
Ulrich S. Couples Switzerland, May 14, 2015
Truly fantastic

The suite was fantastic. Dinner and breakfast just superb. Best and friendliest staff during our 3 weeks trip.
9.7
This is a unique place, super well organized, offers gorgeous rooms/suites, delicious meals. Just don't be disappointed: the animals in the park were all born in captivity, therefore not really wild.
Report this review
Tracy F. Couples South Africa, March 14, 2015
Tranquil escape.

Quiet, dining area, rimflow pool overlooking game
7
A lovely tranquil escape... A pity some of the staff were not up to scratch on privacy and etiquette- we were phoned 22h20 while already asleep to confirm activities we had already declined! The lodge is beautifully built though and maximizes the views/ ambience, despite still having a slight 'game farm' feel rather than a bushveld experience.
Report this review
Marshall J. Couples United States of America, January 12, 2015
Great place, friendly staff, good value

Good selection of animals, good food, friendly staff
9.7
Everything was great; only have a very few minor complaints. AC in room did not work properly, but this was not a problem because it was cool enough at night. We were not impressed that the rhino horns had been removed to make them less attractive to poachers. Overall, we would recommend this place to others.
Report this review
Hyslop I. Couples Australia, December 24, 2014
Fabulous Accom on the pricey side

Game Drive, Cat Walk, Deluxe Tent
8.7
Once finally found (which took effort) we thought the location was fabulous - the property is generally very (African) up-market and most charming. The tented accom was lovely with a huge bed, open-sky shower and big front verandah with comfy furniture to lie back and watch the animals wander around. You park at reception & ferried around by golf cart vehicles and there's also a little rope-pull raft to get across the little lake. A resident tortoise visited us several and other animals (eland, nyala, zebra, rhino, warthog, monkeys) visible from our tent. Only criticism was the night noise level of the birds - so loud and piercing that I needed ear plugs. Went on a game drive the 1st morning & saw many animals including a male & female lion feeding (they're in a separate area & fed by staff - they don't hunt the other animals) The up-side of a super large zoo is that you can find animals fairly easily without having to hunt all day & find little, which sometimes can happen in the true wild. On the 2nd morning we did the 'cat walk' - an hour long walk with the lions - no leashes, just 3 handlers & a guide - professionally run & got many photos posed with the 2 females, one a white lion (very touristy I know!) Buffet breakfast was great, but was disappointed it wasn't included in our very expensive room rate (even water was charged for separately). The dinner was OK - soup and starters served at the table were excellent - but main course has to be queued for, which I didn't wish to do. The first night we had bought picnic items from the nearest town (not close) and had an in-room picnic and an early night - that's not a bad option. We certainly enjoyed the overall experience; there were many other options that we didn't explore - elephant rides, horse riding, fishing (catch and release), kayaking - maybe next time!
Report this review
Ronell E. Couples South Africa, October 26, 2014
Paradise

The service at Botlierskop, the food and the peaceful atmosphere was the best 3 things.
9.3
We only stayed for 1 night, but would love to come back and stay a bit longer. The food and service was very good, you can just relax or make use of all the activities on offer. A place to return to.
Report this review
Sabina Q. Families with young children United Kingdom, October 25, 2014
Amazing stay at an amazing location!

The facilities, the location, the experience
9
Report this review
Andrijan L. Couples Germany, August 26, 2014
Amazing stay

Hotel terrace, food, design
10
We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel and the rooms are so beautiful designed. Especially the hotel terrace with the view and dining room. The food was awesome. We liked the pool although it was quite cold, but you can watch wild beasts, Zebras and wild horses while Swimming. One negative Point not on the hotel, but on their attractions: We really did not like the Lion walk and the guided Safari as it seems like the animals are more or less in a zoo.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 22 reviews Next page
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Main LodgeBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Pool and Deck Area at NightBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - InteriorBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Game DriveBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - RestaurantBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - RestaurantBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Balcony/TerraceBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Game DriveBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - InteriorBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - RestaurantBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Game driveBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Swimming PoolBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - BathroomBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - InteriorBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - InteriorBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Game DriveBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - RestaurantBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - FacilitiesBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Botlierskop Bush SpaBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Game DriveBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - RestaurantBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - BuffaloBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Rare Black ImpalaBotlierskop Private Game Reserve Mossel Bay - Manor House Luxury Suites


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C02