Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 1152 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1152 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Laurie N.
New Zealand
March 11, 2013
No elevator and nicer hotels near by
Not sure
The Bouganvilliar needs a total upgrade and althought the food is fine french dining I was a little scepticle that this was the case. Much nicer and better value places around this area and I would recommend you shop around.

Jacob V.
Netherlands
March 09, 2013
Old but charming boutique hotel
Location
Hotel Bougainvillier is a series of charming townhouses that comprise one hotel across from the waterfront promenade in Phnom Penh. There are no elevators, so if you aren't willing to climb the beautiful polished wood staircases, this hotel isn't for you! Rooms are furnished with old-style Khmer furnishings, but also have WiFi and air-conditioning and other modern conveniences. You pay a premium for rooms facing the street/river. There is a lovely rooftop bar that allows you to relax with a drink or a meal and watch the action on the promenade. The breakfast is so so, although dining room service isn't the friendliest; the front desk: some staff are lovely. I loved my room and the location, too -- the promenade is always full of strolling tourists and locals, and the Royal Palace and National Museum are only a couple of blocks away

Mario C.
Portugal
March 08, 2013
A very disappoited stay.
Great location. Nice old style restaurant.
Poor breakfast. The rooms need to be renovatede. We never get internet conection. No hot water in the bacin. A problem to shaving. Were are the king bad? No lift. As they put us at the 3th floor and we have to climb 72 (24x3)steps 2 or 3 times a day to access our room. The stairs hare a very hot place, and we sweat a lot.

Kevin R.
United Kingdom
March 03, 2013
Great location and friendly staff
rooftop terrace bar, lovely young staff,
The riverfront location was great and perfect for easy access to key places. The service was very good and the staff truly friendly. Unfortunately, the elevator is still out of action and I had to climb 90 steps to the 4th floor. OK for me, but perhaps not for others.

ramy R.
Egypt
March 01, 2013
great hotel
best place in the town
best area in phnom penh, very good service and breakfast, i recommend this hotel for anyone want to spend very nice time in phnom penh.

Thoa K.
February 28, 2013
Strategic location but poor room facilities
Good location. Near King Palace.
We had a memorable stay in this hotel. The hotel's location is very good point because it is on the riverside and very near to King Palace. However, the room facilities are quite poor and the staff is not good enough at English communication. It always takes time to explain to them what we wanted.

Jean G.
France
February 27, 2013
Disappointing
location
Very disappointed with an obvious lack of hospitality in this hotel, reception staff unfriendly. Location of the hotel is excellent with a view on the river and nearby the Palais. Room are ok with old furnitures but well maintained, amenities are poor. No elevator to reach the various floor to the roof top where the bar restaurant is located, good food service at this restaurant, service average and wait staff not always friendly. B'fast buffet is boring (everyday the same, choice limited and no service at all.

JEROME S.
France
February 27, 2013
Nice hotel offering basic needs
Location
Nothing to be amazed of but nice hotel. Nice location and staff willing to help. Basic rooms and bathrooms.

Melvin S.
United States
February 26, 2013
A very nice place
great location
The hotel is beautiful and very well run. The room was great, and it's right on the river where all the restaurants are. It was easy to find, also, which is not always the case in Cambodia...

eva B.
United Kingdom
February 26, 2013
A wonderful colonial hotel
gorgeous old hotel in best location
This was the nicest hotels we stayed in in Cambodia. A really authentic and unspoilt old colonial hotel, yet comfortable and with all modern amenities. The entrance hall was so impressive with carved doors, wooden elephants and antiques scattered around. The bedrooms were huge with a lovely view overlooking the river. There was an antique writing desk, impressive carvings to the wood to the cupboard doors, a comfortable bed and an enormous bathroom. The lovation of the hotel was perfect, next to the palace, opposite the river and among restaurants. We loved this hotel