Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Brassey Hotel

Belmore Gardens & Macquarie Street, Barton, Barton, Canberra, Australia 2600 (Show on map)

Book now!

Brassey Hotel Canberra - Exterior Brassey Hotel Canberra - Guest Room Brassey Hotel Canberra - Guest Room
Area: Barton Number of Rooms: 75

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on
17 reviews

17 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.9
Staff Performance
8.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (17)
Sort by:
Peter R. Couples Australia, January 31, 2016
Heritage Charm

Ambieance and location
6.7
The Hotel is undergoing renovations. There are no dining or bar facilities. Like many places in Canberra, is difficult to find.The building has charm.
Report this review
David W. Couples Australia, January 14, 2016
Didn't actually stay here!

We were upgraded to the Little National Hotel which is more modern!
8.7
Brilliant
Report this review
June B. Couples Australia, January 7, 2016
Good value & location

Value Location Staff
8.3
Enjoyed meeting friends from Melbourne, & visiting attractions of Canberra, with Brassey Hotel as a base. We enjoyed meeting up in the lounges - upstairs for a champagne before going out for the evening, downstairs for a tea or coffee on our return
Report this review
Caroline M. Couples Australia, December 13, 2015
Clean and quiet hotel, left on a sour note.

Clean, quiet and easy parking.
7
Good Points: We found the room to be clean and a decent size, hotel appears freshly painted. In a quiet suburb not far from anything you need, easy parking at the front or the back of the hotel. Bad Points: I booked and paid online through agoda at a good price. When we checked in it was confirmed by reception that the room had been paid for and I gave card details for incidentals. When we checked OUT I was charged a SECOND time for the accommodation at a much higher rate and nothing was said that this was occurring, I was given a folded up receipt which I assumed was for my original payment via agoda. It was only when we left the hotel and had breakfast in the city did I realise that I had been charged a second time! After returning to the hotel to complain I was told to await a phone call about the issue. I did not think this was a good enough answer as I wanted the issue dealt with before we left the city. I felt as though we were being conned and it felt dodgy. If I had been told that my card was to be charged at check-out then the situation could have been avoided. We left the hotel and waited for a phone call on our drive home. The young man at reception called me and solved the issue by refunding the second charge. I appreciated that he called so quickly but would have preferred that it was dealt with on the spot. He explained why it happened but I did not really understand the reason. It took 3 days to see the refund. There is a serious issue with a booking system if when you check in they know you have paid and when you check out the system says you haven't paid and not a word is said when you get charged for the room. I do thank the young man at reception for calling me quickly and fixing the issue though. In the end it was sorted out quickly but I would never go back.
Report this review
M J. Solo travelers Thailand, December 7, 2015
overnight

the location, the bed, the room
8.7
I was only in canberra overnight, so I can't comment on the food or service. The room was very comfortable, the restoration very sympathetic to the post war era, the location and parking ideal for my reunion in griffith but the best was the very comfortable bed.
Report this review
Peter D. Business travelers Australia, September 16, 2015
THE PAINT FUMES ARE VERY UNPLEASANT

GOOD LOCATION AND RECENTLY RENOVATED BUT MAYBE TOO SOON TO START USING SOME OF THE ROOMS
7.3
REASONABLE
Report this review
Jami B. Business travelers Australia, June 18, 2015
old world charm

location,
8.3
Its a nice place to stay if you're in Canberra for business. they bring you the paper and the staff are friendly and helpful. Maybe not quite the 4 star as things are getting a bit worn out and aged - but the old world charm of the place and the proximity to parliament house and the National gallery make it a convenient and good quality experience.
Report this review
Leanne T. Solo travelers Australia, December 14, 2014
Love the Brassey

Warm old world feel, lovely breakfast, great location
9.7
I am a return guest and each time I stay it feels like home. The staff are efficient, friendly and very accommodating. The rooms are basic but well appointed and spotless. The location is great and parking is never a problem. There is a lovely outdoor area to sit in a quiet but central location. The buffet breakfast is very good and the chefs are very accommodating for guest like myself with special dietry requirements. This is not the place to stay if you like a modern concrete and steel hotel, The Brassey has the gracious ambience of a country guesthouse.
Report this review
Michael L. Business travelers Australia, June 7, 2014
the best accommodation in Canberra

The quiet and central location, the superb meals and friendly staff
10
I thorougly enjoyed my stay at the Brassey. Unfortunatey, it was only for one night this time, but I enjoyed my first sound night's sleep in a fortnight. The evening meal in the restaurant was a superbly cooked T-bone steak, roast potato and sour cream and, as usual, the breakfast was brilliant. The Brassey is right inside the Parliamentary zone at Canberra, and you can literally walk anywhere you might want to go. The staff are always helpful and friendly, and I recommend this hotel most highly.
Report this review
Elizabeth S. Couples Australia, June 2, 2014
very relaxing quiet peacefull

food peace and tranquility
8.3
the air conditioner was very noisy and the tap in the bathroom was dripping we spoke to reception about it
Report this review
1 - 10 of 17 reviews
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Brassey Hotel CanberraBrassey Hotel Canberra - ExteriorBrassey Hotel Canberra - Guest RoomBrassey Hotel Canberra - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03