Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 35 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 6.1
Sort by

Hsin-Yu T. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2016
Nice and Easy
We were selected for upgrade and the room was nice. The hotel is a vintage style but very clean. The only thing is it is very far to food and things.
Reviewed April 02, 2016

Candice H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2016
Pleasant last-minute stay
Large comfortable bed. Lovely shower with great water pressure. Friendly staff. Short drive to everything. Would stay again.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

Shailesh K. from India
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Nice Place
A good location. Confusing parking locations
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Grantley S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
comments on Brassey Hotel
location, old world charm, friendliness
Hotel was in renovation stage, but no inconvenience. Surrounding area outside had been let go, perhaps because of renovations. Realm complex over the road was great to eat and drink at.
Reviewed March 21, 2016

Sally B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2016
Canberra tour
Location, beds, pillows
While our room was very comfortable and clean, our friends had to change rooms twice before they got one with air conditioning that worked and didn't smell of pigeons. The beds were incredibly comfortable once we got there.
Reviewed March 07, 2016

Peter R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Heritage Charm
Ambieance and location
The Hotel is undergoing renovations. There are no dining or bar facilities. Like many places in Canberra, is difficult to find.The building has charm.
Reviewed February 04, 2016

Helen F. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2016
Value for money in an expensive city.
The room had everything needed. There were pheasants walks down to the lake. Not having breakfast service on weekends was a disadvantage, and car parks would be an issue on weekdays.
Reviewed January 24, 2016

David W. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Didn't actually stay here!
We were upgraded to the Little National Hotel which is more modern!
Brilliant
Reviewed January 18, 2016

June B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Good value & location
Value Location Staff
Enjoyed meeting friends from Melbourne, & visiting attractions of Canberra, with Brassey Hotel as a base. We enjoyed meeting up in the lounges - upstairs for a champagne before going out for the evening, downstairs for a tea or coffee on our return
Reviewed January 09, 2016

Caroline M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Clean and quiet hotel, left on a sour note.
Clean, quiet and easy parking.
Good Points: We found the room to be clean and a decent size, hotel appears freshly painted. In a quiet suburb not far from anything you need, easy parking at the front or the back of the hotel. Bad Points: I booked and paid online through agoda at a good price. When we checked in it was confirmed by reception that the room had been paid for and I gave card details for incidentals. When we checked OUT I was charged a SECOND time for the accommodation at a much higher rate and nothing was said that this was occurring, I was given a folded up receipt which I assumed was for my original payment via agoda. It was only when we left the hotel and had breakfast in the city did I realise that I had been charged a second time! After returning to the hotel to complain I was told to await a phone call about the issue. I did not think this was a good enough answer as I wanted the issue dealt with before we left the city. I felt as though we were being conned and it felt dodgy. If I had been told that my card was to be charged at check-out then the situation could have been avoided. We left the hotel and waited for a phone call on our drive home. The young man at reception called me and solved the issue by refunding the second charge. I appreciated that he called so quickly but would have preferred that it was dealt with on the spot. He explained why it happened but I did not really understand the reason. It took 3 days to see the refund. There is a serious issue with a booking system if when you check in they know you have paid and when you check out the system says you haven't paid and not a word is said when you get charged for the room. I do thank the young man at reception for calling me quickly and fixing the issue though. In the end it was sorted out quickly but I would never go back.
Reviewed December 16, 2015