Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Budget Hotel Hortus

Plantage Parklaan 8, Amsterdam-Centrum, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1018SR (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Pension Hotel Hortus
Area: Amsterdam-Centrum Number of Rooms: 21

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
35 reviews

22 reviews in English

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (35)
Sort by:
Tracey K. Families with older children Australia, September 29, 2015
Hotel Hortus Review

The position is good, it is fairly quiet and room was spacious
The stay was as expected, it is a "budget" hotel and that is what you get. There is no lift so lugging two suitcases up very steep stairs was a hassle. The luggage storage is a back shed out the back. Front door is secure and reception is 24 hours. We only stayed for one night and it was fine for a budget hotel.
Report this review
Muhamad A. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 8, 2014
Bad experience. Nothing good.
Horrible staff, food & facilities
Report this review
David K. Groups Malaysia, November 6, 2014
Event full stay

Not at all except for staff like who are helpfull
1. Upon check the staff (Manger) was not helpfull at all and very arragon. we requested for early breakfast and he turn us down. In the evening we met up with and we had a nice conversation. She than offered to arranged breakfast the next morning. Next morning while having breakfast, the Manager arrived for his duty and saw us having breakfast. He than throw his tantrum by banging the table and pushing the chair around showing his dislike. On third day while waiting for our transport to the airport (arrange kindly) the Said manager we talking very loudly with is friend without regard of others. He even rudely request us to tone down while he was talking very loudly with his friend. We will not recommend any of our friends or my guest to stay at this hotel at all cost. I do not see how a person could work in this service industry with his attitude. As I am also in the travel business where my clients come first and we provide first class service.
Report this review
Mohd S. Families with young children Malaysia, October 9, 2014
receptionist is so rude. bed too small!!
The receptionist is too rude. Plz tell her to learn how to be polite. Hotel bed is too small for two. Better get another hotel.
Report this review
Panitcha K. Business travelers Thailand, September 19, 2014
Nice hotel

Clean Good Location comfortable
Report this review
Daryl B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 20, 2014

Location Comfortable Good area
Nice stay , very friendly staff.
Report this review
Mingte W. Solo travelers Taiwan, January 25, 2014

breakfast, service person
Report this review
Mark S. Families with older children United Kingdom, June 11, 2013
Budget Hotel, clean well located & nice staff

Price, location and friendly staff
This is a real budget hotel, no lift. We were on 3rd floor with very high stairs, will be a problem for elderly or families with small kids. Amsterdam is a tourist friendly city, so easy to get from airport to central station, the tourist office then the metro...about a 5-10 min walk (if you go right way) This hotel is in quieter area, about 15-20 mins walk from the hustle of downtown. The front desk manager was great.....would not stay here again, as better to take a hotel with lift etc.
Report this review
Lim W. Couples Malaysia, June 6, 2013
Great stay

breakfast, stuffs, internet
Report this review
Yun L. Couples Hong Kong, May 17, 2013
Nice staff and hotel

Friendly staff, near tram station, can borrow kitchen from hotel
Report this review
1 - 10 of 22 reviews Next page

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.