Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bungalow@Maikhao

128/3 Moo 3 Tambol Maikhao Thalang district, Mai Khao, Phuket, Thailand 83110

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.4

based on 52 reviews

35 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.8
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
9.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.7
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (52)
Sort by:
Simon S. Families with young children Spain, March 18, 2016
Amazing location and staff very helpful

Location comfort air con
9.7
Fantastic
Report this review
Marie G. Couples China, December 26, 2015
fantastic quiet location w/ unspoilt beach

the beach, Dao the owner and the location
9.7
We really enjoyed our short vacation here during Christmas. Dao the manager looked after us with airport pick ups in the early morning and arranged a driver to drive us out to Patong on a saturday night. We enjoyed the beach, it was quiet and good to swim in the waters. If you're looking for a place to party then this isn't it but if you want a beautiful beach holiday then this is your place :)
Report this review
Kat T. Solo travelers Hong Kong, December 24, 2015
Highly recommend and will return

Dao the owner of this family business is incredibly friendly, kind, hospitable; very timely in replying emails and was so nice to be met at airport at 2am. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Good food
9.7
Fabulous. Rooms were clean, comfortable. Bathroom clean and decent. Has kettle, free wifi, porch, AC (though I prefer to open windows if mosquito nets were available - didn't bring my own). This property is just a few minutes walking to the beach, the property on the beach belongs to the same family, which is where the restaurant is located (decently priced and cooked food with vegan request tailored to). There's a nice garden/green area between restaurant and beach with hammocks to laze about (highly recommended). Very friendly and hospitable staff and owner in a not too crowded spot in phuket. The beach is miles long and this hotel is nestled in between holiday inn and dwari, so if you like fine dining or other more luxurious services (eg spa/massage) those are also close by. I stayed in mai khao as it was close to the airport (but far away enough not to hear the planes) and it was north that was convenient for onwards traveling to khao lak for diving in similans and to suratthani to catch the train. Very nice secluded part of phuket away from the crowds and shops/bars. Definitely will stay here again if I return. Dao the owner was so kind to give me a free lift to the phuket bridge to catch a bus to suratthani and helped make all the phone calls to arrange the bus pick up. Deeply grateful for her going the extra mile and for sorting everything out for me. Do come and stay here to support this family owned property (or next door in her father's hotel)!
Report this review
Kat T. Solo travelers Hong Kong, December 19, 2015
Please see my other review

Dao the owner, location, family owned
9.7
Please see my other review
Report this review
David N. Couples United States of America, August 10, 2015
Wonderful stay

cleanliness, quiet, friendly
8.7
Dao is the owner and she goes out of her way to accommodate in any way to help. We were there off season and so the restaurant was closed. Dao made us breakfast the two days which we very much appreciated it. We had a lovely dinner at the Dvaree hotel next door on the beach. The bungalows are isolated from town, but we liked the peaceful atmosphere. The room was very clean and very comfortable with coffee pot in room and safe deposit box. The bed was large, the sheets were super clean, the shower was hot. Ahhhh. It is a two minute walk to the beach where even during off season, there were several small restaurants and two large hotel restaurants available. We loved our two-night stay.
Report this review
Sarah C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, August 2, 2015
Cosy & comfortable

Comfortable
8
The bungalows are very cost with everything you need & if you need something else just ask. The owner Dao was very helpful to me helping me to sort out A problem with my cash organising taxi for me & letting me use the motorbike to go to the airport. I was very grateful to her for that. The dogs are great. Really friendly & good guard dogs for an open garden area. As a solo traveller they provided me with a bit of company. The rooms are cleaned every day.
Report this review
Claire L. Solo travelers United States of America, June 29, 2015
Great host, but isolated

Dao, the owner; ocean nearby; birds
6.7
Mixed experience. It was off-season, so restaurant was closed. As solo traveler, it was isolated & pricey to take cab anywhere. But Dao is gracious & if you want solitude, it is peaceful.
Report this review
Edward R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 19, 2015
Great little stop over

Staff, proximity to beach, staff
7.7
I only had a one night stop after landing Phuket. Mai Khao is generally a little out of the way so getting there was a little tricky for the taxi driver and it cost the usual 600bht. It would have been easier to just tell him Holiday Inn Mai Khao as it's right next door. And I would say that's the only downside to the the place, it's in the shadow of a huge concrete Holiday Inn. Not sure if you can go next door and enjoy any of the facilities but it just felt a bit crammed in. It's a a short walk down to the beach though, which was my reason for staying and I enjoyed a morning stroll along the sand and a dip in the sea. Overall it's sleepy and very relaxed and a great place for a relaxing couple of days with the family or as a couple. The bungalow was a nice size and the air con was great once it got going. All basic but just what's needed for a beach bungalow and more advanced than most I stayed in in Thailand. The restaurant by the beach did basic but very good food for decent prices and the staff were friendly. The best thing about my stay was the staff. I think the ladie's name was Dao. She basically saved me 1200 Bht by showing me how I could get the locals bus up to Khao Lak. Her English was very good and her helping me is one of the nicest bits of Thai hospitality of my trip. Thanks!
Report this review
Stephen P. Couples Australia, February 9, 2015
Great Beach

Near the beach, price, location
7.3
Had a great relaxing time sitting under the shade of the trees along the shoreline. There is a nearby restaurant for breakfast and dinner and there are other restaurants along the beach front where you can get your lunch. Biggest draw back is the soi dogs that own the road to the beach and the convenience store. We found it too intimidating to get past them each day, so we won't go back there. It's unfortunate really because we quite enjoyed our stay.
Report this review
Frank G. Couples United States of America, December 22, 2014
Awesome beach, sandwiched between resorts.

Proximity to amazing beach, nice and quiet, friendly staff,
9
We had a great stay for two nights. After moving on to Khao Lak, we wished we had stayed in Mai Khao another night or two. The bungalows are clean and basic in a good way -- no TV, no loud party bars nearby... Just a nice garden, a decent/reasonable restaurant, and one heck of a beach (all to yourself!). Very very very peaceful and chill. As mentioned in other reviews, it is right next door to a pricey Holiday Inn Resort. Save the money and stay here! The owner Dao is extremely friendly and will help out when she can with rides to the bus stop or laundry, and is full of helpful information.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 35 reviews Next page
Bungalow@Maikhao PhuketBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - BeachBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - BeachBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - BathroomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - PlaygroundBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - ExteriorBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - ReceptionBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - RestaurantBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - ExteriorBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - RestaurantBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - RestaurantBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Maikhao beachBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - ExteriorBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - ExteriorBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03