Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Bungalow@Maikhao

128/3 Moo 3 Tambol Maikhao Thalang district, Mai Khao, Phuket, Thailand 83110 (Show on map)

Book now!

Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest Room Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Beach Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Beach Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Bathroom Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Playground Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Exterior Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Reception Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest Room Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Restaurant Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest Room Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest Room Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Exterior Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Restaurant Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Restaurant Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Maikhao beach Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest Room
Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Exterior Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Exterior Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest Room Bungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Exterior
Area: Mai Khao Number of Rooms: 11
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

from 43 reviews

Value for Money
8.7
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
8.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.8
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (43)
Sort by:
Claire L. Solo travelers United States of America, June 29, 2015
Great host, but isolated

Dao, the owner; ocean nearby; birds
6.7
Mixed experience. It was off-season, so restaurant was closed. As solo traveler, it was isolated & pricey to take cab anywhere. But Dao is gracious & if you want solitude, it is peaceful.
Report this review
Edward R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 19, 2015
Great little stop over

Staff, proximity to beach, staff
7.7
I only had a one night stop after landing Phuket. Mai Khao is generally a little out of the way so getting there was a little tricky for the taxi driver and it cost the usual 600bht. It would have been easier to just tell him Holiday Inn Mai Khao as it's right next door. And I would say that's the only downside to the the place, it's in the shadow of a huge concrete Holiday Inn. Not sure if you can go next door and enjoy any of the facilities but it just felt a bit crammed in. It's a a short walk down to the beach though, which was my reason for staying and I enjoyed a morning stroll along the sand and a dip in the sea. Overall it's sleepy and very relaxed and a great place for a relaxing couple of days with the family or as a couple. The bungalow was a nice size and the air con was great once it got going. All basic but just what's needed for a beach bungalow and more advanced than most I stayed in in Thailand. The restaurant by the beach did basic but very good food for decent prices and the staff were friendly. The best thing about my stay was the staff. I think the ladie's name was Dao. She basically saved me 1200 Bht by showing me how I could get the locals bus up to Khao Lak. Her English was very good and her helping me is one of the nicest bits of Thai hospitality of my trip. Thanks!
Report this review
Stephen P. Couples Australia, February 9, 2015
Great Beach

Near the beach, price, location
7.3
Had a great relaxing time sitting under the shade of the trees along the shoreline. There is a nearby restaurant for breakfast and dinner and there are other restaurants along the beach front where you can get your lunch. Biggest draw back is the soi dogs that own the road to the beach and the convenience store. We found it too intimidating to get past them each day, so we won't go back there. It's unfortunate really because we quite enjoyed our stay.
Report this review
Frank G. Couples United States of America, December 22, 2014
Awesome beach, sandwiched between resorts.

Proximity to amazing beach, nice and quiet, friendly staff,
9
We had a great stay for two nights. After moving on to Khao Lak, we wished we had stayed in Mai Khao another night or two. The bungalows are clean and basic in a good way -- no TV, no loud party bars nearby... Just a nice garden, a decent/reasonable restaurant, and one heck of a beach (all to yourself!). Very very very peaceful and chill. As mentioned in other reviews, it is right next door to a pricey Holiday Inn Resort. Save the money and stay here! The owner Dao is extremely friendly and will help out when she can with rides to the bus stop or laundry, and is full of helpful information.
Report this review
Shirley L. Couples Australia, June 13, 2014
good airport nearby option

close to airport, friendly staff, cheap
6.7
As my flight arrived midnight, Bungalow@Maikhao was a cheap and handy option as it's only within 30 mins drive. The lady was very nice and waited our arrival. Breakfast was served to us even though it wasn't included when booking.
Report this review
Rebecca C. Solo travelers Australia, May 19, 2014
Great if you love being around nature!

I wouldn't book through agoda because your information doesn't get passed on. Booking . Com is better the lady told me or cheaper if you just rock up. It's great for what you pay. Quiet. Cosy.
9
Great, it was nice and quiet. I woke up to the sound of happy birds chirping away in the trees, the beach water was so warm it was like a hot tub! Dao the lady who runs is was super friendly and helpful offered me breakfast free of charge though I left her some money. She also gave me a lift out to the main road as I was being picked up by mini bus to head out to Koh Samui. Any problems she was happy to help no matter what time it was. I will definitely be back. It's close to the airport you only need to pay $600 baht unless its night time then it's $1000 baht. There is a restaurant 5 mins walk away that is great food and a very good price.
Report this review
Martin R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 5, 2014
Fantastic friendly and wonderful value for money

service cleanliness value for money
10
Picked up at 1am from the airport, greeted by the owner Dio and straight into a clean air conditioned bungalow, wonderful!!! !followed by breakfast freshly cooked then 1 min walk to the beach having been to a wedding ar the 5 star renaissance I know which one I preferred, the service was second to none at the bungalows and it's only a shame that the ratings go up to 10 as I would give this a 12!
Report this review
Carly G. Solo travelers Australia, April 3, 2014
Great quiet spot for relaxing

The staff, location & affordability
8.7
I had a great stay at Bungalow@Maikhao. The staff were fantastic & helpful. I felt safe as a solo traveler. Great spot on the beach. Bungalows are budget accom but very clean.
Report this review
James O. Couples United Kingdom, February 18, 2014
very isolated

if you want to be away from it all this is the place for you. The bungalows were very clean but too far from the beach with no restaurant.
5.3
It was too isolated for us. We had just come off a boat after a week's sailing and were looking for a bit of luxury. You won't find that here. Beach very gritty and difficult for long distance walks.
Report this review
James O. Couples United Kingdom, February 17, 2014
Bit remote.

If you want complete solitude, this is for you. Rooms were very clean.
6
It was too remote for us. No food on site and the bar open occasionally. There was one down towards the beach. No lounging chairs on the veranda only stools so you had to go to the beach if you wanted to sunbath.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Bungalow@Maikhao PhuketBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - BeachBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - BeachBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - BathroomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - PlaygroundBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - ExteriorBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - ReceptionBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - RestaurantBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - ExteriorBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - RestaurantBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - RestaurantBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Maikhao beachBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - ExteriorBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - ExteriorBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Guest RoomBungalow@Maikhao Phuket - Exterior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05