Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Burg Hotel

Szentharomsag ter 7-8, 01. Castle District - Budavár, Budapest, Hungary 1014 (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: 01. Castle District - Budavár Number of Rooms: 26
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

from 19 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
9.6
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (19)
Sort by:
Linda C. Couples Australia, August 12, 2015
Great location

Location - staff and location.
7.3
My stay was ok- the staff was outstanding . The location awesome. Our room had a mild dew smell on entry. It was clean. Had twin beds- think the top bedding can be updated. No lift so not good for very old people as one has to carry their suitcase up the stairs. Breakfast was a two star.
Report this review
Malcolm L. Couples United Kingdom, October 14, 2013
Great location low cost hotel

Location, friendly staff and 24 hour reception
8.3
My wife and I stayed at the Burg about 10 years ago. We decided to revisit and wanted to go back the Burg primarily for it's location. We both prefer Buda to Pest, especially at night and we always try and avoid chain hotels like the Hilton round the corner.All rooms I believe have views of Matthias Church and Fisherman's Bastion beyond. The staff was friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast was adequate (I particularly liked the hot chocolate) As for the negatives, the pillow was small and not very plump. Also, the church bells at 7am were unwelcome, although that is not the Burg's fault. I would certainly go back next time I'm in Budapest
Report this review
Alison G. Couples United Kingdom, May 14, 2013
wonderful situation in Buda

views of Matyas church, public transport to the door, excellent eating close by
7.7
We were upgraded to a large room at the front which was fine but rather noisy because of roadworks and buses outside. Decor and bed linen and towels all clean but old.Staff very helpful.
Report this review
Hendrikus B. Couples Netherlands, December 16, 2012
Nice hotel - good value for money

Located in a beautiful part of Buda - close to the Matthias catehedral. Simple but functionally complete rooms.
7.3
The Burg hotel is a good place to stay for a city trip to Budapest. It's located near the Matthias church (construction work going on inside the church during our stay - so we could not enjoy the weekly organ concerts on Fridays this time. The hotel personnel is friendly and service minded. The "plea" not to take food outside the breakfast room must apply to those people who are eager for everything they can get for free. You see them (mostly elderly ladies) in every hotel - secretly stuffing the fresh morning buns and an apple or two in their handbags. What is particularly good is the bus stop right in front of the hotel - where, practically every 5 minutes, you can take a bus to the center of Pest - that's the place to be to enjoy the vivd daily and nightly life of Budapest
Restaurant Tip: Kavehaz Central
Report this review
Phooi F. Couples Malaysia, April 25, 2012
good location

good location at Castle district
8.3
The hotel is located at Castle district, opposite Hilton Hotel. Breakfast is not bad. Location is good with reasonable price. HOwever, there is no lift in the hotel... carrying all heavy luggages to the higher floors are tiring. Another setback is no hot drinking water or kettle provided. We can't even make a cup of hot drink on our own.
Report this review
Raffaello F. Couples Italy, April 15, 2012
Service very friendly,and gayfreindly.Nice locatio

Best Location in Buda, generous breakfast.
7
i was there with my boyfriend. our room overlooked on the main square in buda (so romantic!). all the staff was very friendly and with bus 16 we could reach all main points of interest. by foot it's only 15 minutes from the metro station. room quite clean.
Travel tip: I advise you to bring with you some soap/bathcream; don't forget your slippers if you don't like moquette; We attend the drag show at Capella bar and it was very funny. No problems with taxi drivers and/or fake cops (as some tour guides read). Enjoy your stay, Raffaello
Report this review
Leopold O. Couples Australia, October 27, 2011
Great location, good size rooms

In the castle area opposite the Church in the main square and the fishermans bastion.
7.3
we were advised by lonely planet to ask for a room facing the main square and the church. we were granted our wish however the bus stop is right outside the hotel, the noise until late at night and early morning was incredible, with the windows closed. we asked to be placed at the back of the hotel fantastic and quiet, however they only have 2 rooms that do not face the front. would only stay there if we could get a room away from facing the front.
Restaurant Tip: would not get back in a restaurant that has live music as they really put the pressure on to buy their cd or blatantly ask for money.
Report this review
Francis G. Couples United Kingdom, October 3, 2011
great location, inBuda, fabulous views

clean,tidy, good value
7.7
our double room was a little cramped, but others were larger. Number 16 bus outside hotel - 1 GBP per journey - gets you to centre of Pest in 10 minutes.
Travel tip: ask for room with view over the church
Report this review
Delphine S. Couples Belgium, September 6, 2011
Super view for a nice price

friendly staff, great view on the St Matthias Church and Fishermen's bastion, cheap pricing
8.7
The hotel is located next to the St Mathhias church and Fishermen's bastion, two of Budapest's main touristic attractions, so the view is great. The room was quite large, but a bit outdated (old bathroom etc.). Staff was friendly and the rooms were cleaned thoroughly daily. The breakfast buffet was ok (baked egg, beans, mushrooms, various sorts of bread and spreads.
Restaurant Tip: You can eat / drink very cheap in Budapest, but not in the direct vicinity of the hotel, as it is a very touristic site. If you want to have a fancy dinner but good value/money, the Hilton hotel / restaurant is located next to the hotel. Their restaurant has a great view on the parliament and Donau and the service / food was excellent.
Report this review
Paul B. Solo travelers United States of America, August 8, 2011
Perfect location with large rooms friendly staff

Clean and efficient and located right in the middle of the Buda old town
9.3
nothing bad to say...wondered how this hotel is not fully booked year round. excellent value for money. staff went out of their way to help guests.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C06