Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Calypso Grand Hotel

27A Cua Dong Street, Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Exceptional

9.1

based on 369 reviews

297 reviews in English

Value for Money
9.3
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
9.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.4
Room Comfort/Standard
9.4
Food/Dining
8.6
All reviews (369)
Sort by:
Philip L. Couples United States of America, April 20, 2016
Look No Further
6.7
This was our first hotel stay in Vietnam. The hotel itself is quite small and tucked away on a nice road on the edge of Old Quarter. The room was clean, well-equipped, and comfortable for the price. We were upgraded to from superior to a deluxe room at no extra cost. Breakfast was delicious and is made up of a buffet and menu of made to order items. There’s something for every palate. We ordered pho and Vietnamese coffee along with some western style dishes each morning. What made the stay here so enjoyable was the staff. Everyone from the doorman, to the breakfast staff and front desk, were courteous. Linda and Hana from reception were phenomenal. They were always enthusiastic and did everything they could and more to ensure we had the perfect stay. Most memorably, they introduced us to the local bun cha stand at the end of the street, which yielded an incredible culinary experience. The only comment is that we found some of the bath towels to be dirty. We look forward to staying at this hotel again when we revisit Hanoi in the future. Thanks to everyone for making our first leg of our holiday so delightful.
Report this review
Tomer G. Solo travelers Israel, April 11, 2016
Great stay
6.7
The staff were very nice and helpful and the room was cery clean with an excellent A/C. I came 6 hours before check in time and Everyone was really nice and even let me say in a temporary room and rest until my room was ready. Overall, a great stay!
Report this review
Nerilee T. Couples Australia, April 4, 2016
Great Hotel in excellent location. Could not faul
6.7
We stayed at the Calypso Grand for three separate nights in between trips to Sapa and Halong Bay. We were met each time with smiles and a refreshing welcome drink. It felt like coming home. On our first night we were given lots of information about Hanoi and a very helpful map with things to see and do and places to eat. Linda also organised a trip to Sapa for us which we enjoyed very much. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast had plenty of variety as well as a menu to order from. The location of the Calypso was perfect, right on the edge of the Old Quarter but seemingly in a quieter street. Lastly, the staff make this hotel. The front office staff, the porters, the breakfast room staff always had a smile, nothing was ever a problem and Linda, the Manager, is a gem. She can organise anything at a moments notice. When our plans changed she even organised another hotel close by when the Calypso had no rooms available. We would highly recommend the Calypso Grand Hotel.
Report this review
Mike I. Solo travelers United States of America, April 3, 2016
Quaint hotel with outstanding qualities”
6.7
First trip to Hanoi and my first 2 nights I stayed at the Calypso Grand. From the moment they see your taxi pull up, to the early morning checkout, the attentiveness of the staff was 5 star. The front desk made me feel welcomed throughout the visit and answered all my questions. I requested a day tour of Ninh Binh, Saba Express Bus tickets and airport pickup, all went as planned with extra reminders of pickup times by calling the room. They even packed a breakfast to go as I was going to miss the breakfast one early morning. Regarding the breakfast buffet, no complaints at all and if you don't like the buffett choices just pick any of the made to order food items listed on the table. I found the food very good. The rooms were nice and comfortable, not one complaint. I will have 2 more nights on my way back from Sapa and I'm looking forward to staying at the Calypso Grand. If you want to experience old quarter Hanoi, this is a great place to stay for a very reasonable price.
Report this review
Kittisak S. Couples Thailand, February 24, 2016
Awesome

Staff breakfast and room are very good
9
The room are clean and beautiful with comfort. All Staff are friendly and can help everything. Truly appreciated.
Report this review
Benjamin L. Couples Singapore, January 31, 2016
very good
6.7
Very good
Report this review
Zhong H. Solo travelers Singapore, November 25, 2015
Enjoyable stay at Calypso Grand!

1. Location - ideal location as its inside old quarters but away from the noise and crowd
9.7
Report this review
Zhong H. Solo travelers Singapore, November 25, 2015
Enjoyable stay at Calypso Grand!

1. Location - its interesting that its able to be located in old quarter itself, but away from the crowded zone. 2. Hotel is new and clean. 3. great friendly staff!!
9.7
Report this review
Juan L. Business travelers Spain, September 19, 2015
Lovely hotel near the Old Quarter

Staff, breakfast, comfy rooms
7.7
The hotel is very nice, friendly staff who wants to practice their English with you, good attitude and attention, fantastic breakfast, and generally speaking, it gives you a very good impression about the place.
Report this review
Tan F. Couples Malaysia, September 4, 2015
Best in hanoi

Clean , service , good food
10
It was really fantastic staying this hotel . Variety choice for ur breakfast , rooms very clean . Service is superb. Three star hotel with five star service .
Report this review
1 - 10 of 297 reviews Next page
Calypso Grand Hotel HanoiCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Suite RoomCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe RoomCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Superior DoubleCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Suite RoomCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Family RoomCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Superior RoomCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe RoomCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - BalconyCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - LobbyCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - FacilitiesCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Guest RoomCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - InteriorCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - LobbyCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - BathroomCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - RestaurantCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - BuffetCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Junior Suite with BalconyCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Daily Fresh FruitCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - FlowerCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Fresh FruitCalypso Grand Hotel Hanoi - Deluxe Room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08