Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 930 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Manish J. from India
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Not as good as i thought
location
i stayed in building a. they have upgraded me to deluxe room without asking. room was big but air condition was not good at all. avoid staying in summers. location is okay, convenient to go to wangfujing street and tiananman square. overall rating should be three and half star and not five star. better stay in novotel which is on same street down the road. building b seems new and with better facilities however i did not get time to see that.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Jittapon J. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2012
Good location and good value
Good location
The hotel is very close to city and shopping centre. 5 minutes walk to subway and 10 minutes walk to old city. Good value for money.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Tey G. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Lovely Hotel in a great location.
Convenience, strategies location and walking distance easy access to bus and subway stations.
I feel very comfortable staying in Capital Hotel. Staffs there are friendly and helpful but some of them not well trained. Convenience, strategies location and walking distance easy access to bus and subway stations.Their facilities are very good. Due to business trip hardly to use them. I would stay there again, although the hotel is positioned more for the tourist trade.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

David L. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2012
4 star personal rating when I expected only 3 star
location, very recent rennovations, okay breakfast, good for business or tourism
I am an academic who stays in a lot of what I would call 3 star businessmen's hotels in Asia (meaning hotels for local businessmen, since most Western businessmen are normally staying in 4 to 5 star international class venues). I was pleasantly surprised by the Beijing Capital, since it was a bona fide 4 star hotel (local star ratings are dodgy in Asia, so you take them with a grain of salt). I think with their recent renovations that they have achieved that mythic "international standard" that all Asian hotels aspire to. The facilities are very good, and the chief difference between the Beijing Capital and a legitimate 5 star hotel would be in the staff. They are helpful but not as plentiful or trained to the standard of a Shangri La or Four Seasons. But the price is a third of those hotels, so I would consider it very good value as is. They seemed to have circa 75% Chinese guests, 25% mostly Western European tourists, and a significant local convention business. I would definitely stay there again, although the hotel is positioned more for the tourist trade (close to Tianamen Square and the Forbidden City) than business. Good metro access (Chongwenmin stop is circa 7-10 minutes on foot; take exit A and keep walking away from the Novotel to head in the direction of the Beijing Capital) too, which is important since Beijing traffic is pretty bad.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

MuYi L. from Taiwan
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
hotel location and service are just roughly accept
quite
this hotel is not so closed to subway station and without significant instruction. During living in this hotel, it's inconvenient that security card was not working sometimes. The smell inside this hotel is not so good, has room to improve. And when I asking some car service, I found it's price is much higher than general price outside the hotel. Besides that,it's roughly acceptable.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Tan C. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 6 nights in May 2012
Great location, spacious room and good service
Location
Everything are good but except the poor Wifi service.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Abdul W. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 9 nights in May 2012
Great Location near very friendly and clean
Upgraded at no extra cost, large room, quite, well kept
a good hotel, well kept, friendly staff, a little expensive but woth it for the location near tian an men square. upgraded at no extra cost without asking. good range of food in hotel but a little expensive. plenty of local variety and western alternatives near by.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Kin L. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Value for Money
Great lobby
We were given the new wing which opened only a couple of years ago, very happy to see our neighbors at a distance, great view in one of the precious clear day with big blue sky and big sun which we have never seen in Beijing before. Great Hotel, nice lobby, only carpet a bit old.
Reviewed June 09, 2012

Allan D. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in May 2012
Great location, but need of modernisation
Clean, good location for sight-seeing
The hotel is very dated and needs upgrading, however it is clean and tidy. Although it has several restaurants and bars, they were very quiet and had no atmosphere. Drinks in the hotel are very expensive. Staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed on the Capital Club floor with breakfast included, this was good. Afternoon teas were disappointing, as not enough food was available. Walking distance from many attractions and shops. Taxis are reasonably cheap, if needed, but language is a problem and you need to make sure they will use the meter to get the correct price. Always keep a hotel card with you showing address in Chinese and location.
Reviewed June 06, 2012

Dilip G. from India
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Good Value for money
Friendly and helpful staff, good sized, well appointed rooms
airconditioning not ineffective and is shutdown at night! the mattresses are lumpy and unconfortable. the hotel looks old and tired and needs refurbishing.
Reviewed June 04, 2012