Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Capital Hotel

No.3 Qian Men East Street, Dongcheng District, Wangfujing Street & Forbidden City, Beijing, China

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.8

based on
918 reviews

561 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (918)
Sort by:
Lucie H. Business travelers France, January 10, 2014
average

loation, breakfast
5.3
Report this review
Nelson L. Couples Philippines, December 28, 2013
Centralize location and Large room

Good service, Large Room, and Centralize location
10
Check-in and check-out are fast, room is very clean, hotel is close with Chong Wen Men Station Line 2 walking distance about 8 minutes.
Report this review
Yek T. Business travelers Malaysia, November 24, 2013
Terrible experience. Old Worn-Out,

None
3.3
Central heater got out of order during this cold winter period! How funny is that?! I checked out right away, cos it was unbearably freezing cold They refused to make a full refund. Which I just checked in for less than 4hours. I didn't even stay over the night. The tricky part is, I was told refund could be arranged while i was talking to the receptionist! Definitely not a five-star!!
Report this review
Timothy D. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 31, 2013
Luxurious central location

Very attentive and friendly staff, great central location and very comfortable rooms.
9.7
We had read that we would struggle to find English speaking staff but were pleasantly surprised to find that everyone we spoke to were not only English speaking but very attentive, friendly and most helpful in every way. We were upgraded to junior suites on arrival and provided with all the information we needed to get around the city at night and back. We were able to arrange our trip to The Great Wall with our own driver and upon our return my friend had a birthday cake waiting for him in his room without any prompting from us, a nice touch. We were anticipating a frustrating experience but came away having had a superb time and will return very soon I'm sure.
Report this review
Steve S. Solo travelers United States of America, October 29, 2013
Fundamental problems made unpleasant stay

Location, Room Size, Lobby
5
My first impression of the Capital Hotel was quite positive, with an impressive lobby, a spacious room, and elegant traditional Chinese styling. It is well-located for sightseeing, walking distance to Tiananmen Square. But I quickly came to realize that the hotel suffered from many fundamental problems, including faulty plumbing (I was forced to change rooms due to a major leak), WiFi so poor it was essentially unusable for even basic web browsing (in both rooms), and rooms so warm at night that good sleep was impossible -- in late October with A/C on high. A 3-star hotel with decent WiFi and livable room temperatures would have been a much better choice than the "5 star" Capital Hotel.
Report this review
Chinbat T. Business travelers Mongolia, October 25, 2013
very bad customer service at the front desk

very hard to get a taxi at the hotel
7
I am going to stay next time and I would recommend to my friends
Report this review
Colin V. Couples New Zealand, October 18, 2013
Great location, close to main attractions.

Friendly staff, nice interior design and great breakfast varieties
7.7
Pleasant stay,great experience,friendly staff, nice interior design and great breakfast with varieties
Report this review
Saw L. Couples Malaysia, October 13, 2013
Nice hotel that is near to Tian An Men

Goodl location, nice hotel and great breakfast
8.7
We stayed at the Capital Room and thus we were treated like a VVIP. This hotel was a bit old but the room was comfortable. Tian An Men square was only about 1km away thus it's very convenient for visitors.
Report this review
Chris H. Couples United Kingdom, October 12, 2013
Good location

Large room with bath and walk in shower
7.7
Ideal base to explore the city, i always prefer to eat local food and there is a very good and inexpensive restaurant opposite the Capital Hotel
Report this review
Larry A. Families with young children United States of America, October 5, 2013
Ok to sleep there, other needs not so much

3 bad things: 1 rude housekeeping in pool area And check in 2: dirty tub in bathroom 3: need more knowledgeable staff
6.7
They need to get working wifi and update their staff on businesses that are closed in Beijing. Many restaurants that tourist would like to eat at have been closed but they would send you in a cab anyway to the nonexistent business.
Report this review
Previous page 21 - 30 of 561 reviews Next page
Capital Hotel BeijingCapital Hotel Beijing - RestaurantCapital Hotel Beijing - Standard Room (Sunshade Room) TwinCapital Hotel Beijing - Nearby AttractionCapital Hotel Beijing - Executive LoungeCapital Hotel Beijing - Golf CourseCapital Hotel Beijing - Recreational FacilitiesCapital Hotel Beijing - Superior RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - Meeting RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - BallroomCapital Hotel Beijing - ExteriorCapital Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - Meeting RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - BallroomCapital Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - Fitness RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - Food and BeveragesCapital Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - Business CenterCapital Hotel Beijing - Pub/LoungeCapital Hotel Beijing - Swimming PoolCapital Hotel Beijing - ReceptionCapital Hotel Beijing - RestaurantCapital Hotel Beijing - LobbyCapital Hotel Beijing - RestaurantCapital Hotel Beijing - Guest RoomCapital Hotel Beijing - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08