My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Capitol Square Hotel

Cnr George & Campbell Street, Chinatown, Sydney, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Restaurant Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel Interior Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel Interior Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Reception Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Bathroom Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel Exterior
Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Family Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Standard Double Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Standard Twin Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Standard Queen Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Family Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Standard Room Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Terrace Restaurant Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Reception Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel Reception Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Terrace Restaurant Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hallway Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel Entrance
Hotel Area: Chinatown Number of Rooms: 94

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

7.0

based on
327 reviews

Value for Money
7.0
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
6.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.5
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (327)
Sort by:
Swee C. Couples Malaysia, April 1, 2014
Pleasant and comfortable stay

Centrally located with easy access to public transport and clean comfortable room
7.3
Good and pleasant stay, but having to deal with one rude receptionist at night who is unfriendly when approach for assistance in wifi or internet access.
Ian B. Couples Australia, March 28, 2014
pretty good

Its location,
8.3
A good clean hotel. Friendly staff. Next door to Capital Theatre. In the heart of China Town.
John D. Groups Australia, March 26, 2014
Convenient location near Central Station

Location, staff, comfortable.
8.3
Everything was fine and we enjoyed our stay. Great convenient location, right at tram stop and so close to Central Station.
Natalie S. Families with older children Australia, March 8, 2014
Convenient

Location,
7.7
We had a pleasNt stay. Room was small and probably could do with updating but was clean and comfortable.
Robyn A. Couples Australia, March 7, 2014
Excellent location easy transport

Location/breakfast/service
9
Very good for what we wanted to see a show at the Capitol theatre and very convenient from central station one stop by tram...
Ian M. Couples Australia, March 3, 2014
Great position, average accommodation.

Location, transport, restaurants.
4.7
As my wife and I were primarily in Sydney to see The Lion King, the fact that the hotel was located directly next door to the Capitol Theatre was the incentive to stay there. We subsequently discovered that across the road in George St, the '555' free shuttle bus could take you to Circular Quay for no charge. Around the corner, there was the light rail for a nominal cost, which transported us to Star Casino and Darling Harbour in a short time. There were numerous restaurants in the area to cater for all tastes. Therefore, in our situation the location was perfect. The hotel however was a real letdown - photos can be quite deceiving and those on the internet site cleverly mask the run-down condition of this old hotel. Numerous scuff marks, old peeling paint and damage down the corridors do not engender a feeling of comfort and security in a city hotel. The room was extremely small with the only the basic facilities provided. The TV reception in the room was hopeless and the view of surrounding rooftops somewhat disappointing. The staff were polite, but not overly enthusiastic - it appeared they were just going through the motions. I know it's an old-style hotel within the CBD, but in modern times I think we are beyond having to step over a bath edge in order to have a shower. The reception area is quite dull, poorly decorated and is a depressing sight upon your arrival. If not for the location, I doubt that this hotel could survive in any other area. For nearly $500 for two nights stay (Saturday/Sunday), it is far from good value for money. Although excellently situated, I would not recommend this hotel for accommodation purposes alone.
Robert N. Couples Australia, February 17, 2014
reasonable value for money

proximity to capitol theater and the light rail and paddy's markets
6
it was what we required as far as a hotel close to the theater ( right next door ) , but choose a room that is not next to the lift shaft as the noise of the lift although not too loud does become annoying after awhile .
Judith S. Families with young children Australia, February 15, 2014
Good value for money

Central location, friendly staff and value for money
7
It was overall a good experience. Staff was friendly and helpful. However, the room was pretty small and quite clean but the beds felt like water beds. Do bear in mind that if you're going to leave your bags with them, they charge $2 per piece.
Dale S. Couples Australia, February 10, 2014
Overnight stay prior to cruise

central location, shops and sightseeing
5.7
Stay was brief staying overnight , was disappointed with the room. The bathroom was dated and dirty, the bed although big was infested with "bedbugs" causing us to scratch and itch all night
Lirong L. Solo travelers China, February 9, 2014
good location

good location
8.3
good location

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Capitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel ExteriorCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - RestaurantCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel InteriorCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel InteriorCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - ReceptionCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - BathroomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel ExteriorCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Family RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Standard Double RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Standard Twin RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Standard Queen RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Family RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Standard RoomCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Terrace RestaurantCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - ReceptionCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel ReceptionCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Terrace RestaurantCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - HallwayCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel EntranceCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Hotel ExteriorCapitol Square Hotel Sydney - Surroundings

Customer Reviews - Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney

AS-AGWEB-3B08