Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.8
Based on 1318 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1318 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.3

Jak A. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2015
Excellent, but customers allowed to take liberties
Staff/Room/Breakfast
My Trip in the Caravelle was great, apart from one issue. A family I believe from China allowed their baby to poo in the pool. I made my thoughts clear to the pool staff who (eventually) did all they could to clean the pool- however the family were not removed from the pool and continued to clean the baby (who at this point is wearing nothing) in the water. I will be honest this was the main thing that let the hotel down, and even though i'd paid full price for the room I never really felt I was compensated for a child doing this in the pool which pretty much ended my trip usage of what is a very nice pool area. Also one other gripe is I needed to add another night as my wife got sick, but yet rather than just extend my stay on their system I had to go online and book another night. This is from my room in the actual hotel... I found it bizzare. But apart from that it was a nice stay, the Casino however is not a casino and more a smoky gaming/slot machine designed for middle aged sweaty guys to waste away the day.... If you are thinking Vegas, think again.
Reviewed May 07, 2015

Ian C. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2014
Superb Hotel
Location, Luxury, Staff
Great hotel, beautifully appointed, and well worth the extra money
Reviewed April 26, 2015

ALEX C. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Great service and location
Close to shopping and food places
Wonderful stay
Reviewed April 24, 2015

Colette G. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Caravelle stay
The Friendly staff, breakfast, location
We had an excellent stay. I would highly recommend it, the staff were very I formative and friendly. I left headphones at the hotel and they've delivered them to the airport the day I fly out. Would definetly stay here again.
Reviewed April 14, 2015

Quek S. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Very good
Comfort
Relaxing & convenient to historical places
Reviewed April 06, 2015

Arvind M. from India
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2015
Fab location, excellent hotel, great breakfast
location, staff, breakfast
terrific experience. Very good hotel, in the ideal location with lots of great eats and arts around the block and the opera house just across. Breakfast was one of the best we have had.
Reviewed March 28, 2015

John B. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
Caravelle okay but not 5 star.
Hotel staff, location.
My stay was okay but the hotel is looking a little worse for wear, worn carpets, peeling caulk in the bathroom, sewer smell in all the elevators.
Reviewed March 23, 2015

Lee Y. from Brunei Darussalam
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
the best hotel
food/staff/clean
excellent
Reviewed March 18, 2015

Ingo M. from Germany
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Excellent Hotel
Location Food Cleanliness
Very nice Hotel Will come again.
Reviewed March 02, 2015

Leonard M. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Recent Caravelle Saigon Stay
The three best things about this hotel are: cleanliness, food and location
The hotel and rooms are very clean. The breakfast is very, very good with lots of Western and Eastern options. The quality of the food is exceptional. The location is right in the center of District 1. The A/C works great. The staff speak English and are very nice. I make note of the following issue with Caravelle. 1. The water pressure and hot water availability was exceptional. However, in our room, the shower head was kind of cheap and didn't allow for a nice spray pattern. The shower head really only had a narrow stream. It would be nice if they upgraded their shower heads to a higher-quality that allowed a better spray pattern/more spray pattern options. After all, we are talking about a 5-star hotel here - right. 2. My wife and I attempted to enter the Gambling area on the second floor. It should be noted that this area is restricted to foreign passport holders only. While I was able to freely walk in (as I'm Caucasian and clearly not a local), my wife, who is of Vietnamese descent, but is a US citizen, was restricted from entry. While we advised the manger of the gambling facility (inside the Caravalle) that she was a US citizen, she was still not allowed to enter. I can understand their foreign policy for admittance (as gambling is not legal for local residents), this experience came across as discriminatory. We submitted a copy of our Passports to the Front Desk. The manager of Gambling facility could made an effort to contact the Front Desk to cross-check our background - but - was unwilling to do so. This reflects negatively on the Caravelle Hotel. I complained about this to Caravelle management. We received what we feel was an unsympathetic apology. Our stay here was brief. If I had more time I would have escalated or taken more action on this. 3. The staff were nice, friendly and spoke English well. However, I think they fall a little short of 5-star. 4. All this aside, I would definitely stay at the Caravelle again.
Reviewed March 01, 2015