or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection

19 North Bridge, Edinburgh Old Town, Edinburgh, United Kingdom EH1 1SD (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Barcelo Edinburgh Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Restaurant Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Interior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Exterior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Entrance Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Swimming Pool Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Fitness Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Exterior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Exterior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Interior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Interior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Interior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Interior
Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room
Area: Edinburgh Old Town Number of Rooms: 189
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
110 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (110)
Sort by:
Amanda M. Families with older children United Kingdom, December 10, 2014
x

x
9.3
X
Elizabeth B. Families with older children United Kingdom, November 24, 2014
Good location.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location. Nice breakfast.
7.3
The room was small and as it faced the railway station it was noisy. Air conditioning would have been nice as we wouldn't then have needed to open the window at night. The bathroom smelt 'foisty'. I couldn't fault the staff who were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice and the hotels location was ideal. Overall we had a nice stay.
Tehseen M. Couples United Kingdom, November 14, 2014
Bad
3.7
This customer has only rated this hotel and has not submitted any comments.
Christian I. Couples Philippines, October 11, 2014
Great location

Location, people, big rooms
10
Fantastic
Velvet W. Solo travelers Canada, September 17, 2014
A waste of money

Location location location
6.3
Bed too large for room . Impossible to move suitcase to other side room without lifting it over bed. Old dirty thread bare chairs. Oversized sink unit in bathroom. Very high sided chipped. Tub. At five ft two interesting getting in and out of tub. If you open windows street cleaners and revellers keep you awake. Close window smother in heat of room. Link to waverly is through a basement with no emergency phone Door was locked had to make way back through ramps and steps with heavy case to be argued with about door being locked The basement passage was spooky and unsafe with no emergency phone. Staying at new airport hotels a much better value for money. This hotel is not worth the four star pricing. Tired and outdated
Rino M. Couples Australia, September 7, 2014
Our stay started off bad but recovered

The location and the staff
8.7
We started off with some confusion of not having a booking, the staff were wonderful and very helpful. After some time we eventually obtained a room, thank you Rohan, the night Manager👍🍺
Christine F. Couples United Kingdom, July 31, 2014
Great Location for the station and the old city

Location, price and size of the room
8.3
We stayed during the Commonwealth Games, and we were also visiting family in Edinburgh, so it was important that we were close to the station and there is a basement exit which brings you out practically in the station. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food but we arrived back late one evening and wanted a drink in the bar - we were the only people there - I was impressed that the barman kept the bar open for us. It is close to the old own and we did hear some street noise, particularly at the weekend from people having a good time - nothing that ear plugs couldn't cope with. Comfy beds.
Glen S. Couples United Kingdom, July 3, 2014
awful dirty no food access no fan in room smelly

location
4
room not cleaned first night waited so long to be served in bar after staff told us to order at bar they stopped serving during the wait so no hot food disgusted complained supposed to be put right by manager for waitress to tell us chef closed ovens hence no food had to leave hotel to eat bathroom fan didnt work room smelt nasty mould around bath room not hoovered at all during visit not what we expected and receptionist was not at all helpful food telling me to eat in my room which was not cleaned and smelt awful experience very expensive.
Steven E. Couples United Kingdom, July 2, 2014
very discapointig drab rooms

not one
3.3
very poor room definetly due for re furb when checking out I comented to reception on the condition of the room and the response was we are due a re-fubishment . That was no cosilation to me
Mary M. Couples United Kingdom, July 2, 2014
disapointed expected better treatment of complaint

location .size.pool
3.7
not pleased at treatment. twice power went off in the bedroom .toilet pan black in the bottom and I complained but nothing done . the same thing as our last visit . there is no need in this age to have dirty toilets.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection EdinburghCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - RestaurantCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - InteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - ExteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - EntranceCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Swimming PoolCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Fitness RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - ExteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - ExteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - InteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - InteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - InteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - InteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3A08