or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection

19 North Bridge, Edinburgh Old Town, Edinburgh, United Kingdom EH1 1SD (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Barcelo Edinburgh Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Restaurant Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Interior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Exterior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Entrance Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Swimming Pool Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Fitness Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Exterior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Exterior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Interior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Interior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Interior Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Interior
Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room
Area: Edinburgh Old Town Number of Rooms: 189
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
102 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (102)
Sort by:
Christine F. Couples United Kingdom, July 31, 2014
Great Location for the station and the old city

Location, price and size of the room
8.3
We stayed during the Commonwealth Games, and we were also visiting family in Edinburgh, so it was important that we were close to the station and there is a basement exit which brings you out practically in the station. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food but we arrived back late one evening and wanted a drink in the bar - we were the only people there - I was impressed that the barman kept the bar open for us. It is close to the old own and we did hear some street noise, particularly at the weekend from people having a good time - nothing that ear plugs couldn't cope with. Comfy beds.
Glen S. Couples United Kingdom, July 3, 2014
awful dirty no food access no fan in room smelly

location
4
room not cleaned first night waited so long to be served in bar after staff told us to order at bar they stopped serving during the wait so no hot food disgusted complained supposed to be put right by manager for waitress to tell us chef closed ovens hence no food had to leave hotel to eat bathroom fan didnt work room smelt nasty mould around bath room not hoovered at all during visit not what we expected and receptionist was not at all helpful food telling me to eat in my room which was not cleaned and smelt awful experience very expensive.
Steven E. Couples United Kingdom, July 2, 2014
very discapointig drab rooms

not one
3.3
very poor room definetly due for re furb when checking out I comented to reception on the condition of the room and the response was we are due a re-fubishment . That was no cosilation to me
Mary M. Couples United Kingdom, July 2, 2014
disapointed expected better treatment of complaint

location .size.pool
3.7
not pleased at treatment. twice power went off in the bedroom .toilet pan black in the bottom and I complained but nothing done . the same thing as our last visit . there is no need in this age to have dirty toilets.
Robert K. Couples Australia, June 26, 2014
Good Location but AC poor

Location, Amenities, Staff
7.3
Air conditioning or lack of was a big problem on a hot night in Edinburgh
Elaine K. Couples United Kingdom, June 22, 2014
Comfortable accomodation, central location

central location, good size room, pleasant reception staff
7.7
We arrived half an hour before check in time and our room was ready which was a bonus. The room was a very good size with a large bed which was very comfortable. The room was adequately clean although the curtains, especially the nets had a very musty smell (noticed this when looking at view through windows) The bathroom was a good size although there was some black mould around the bath where the sealant meets the tiles. The fan in the bathroom was not working and on our check out we mentioned this to reception who informed us that the fan was silent therefore we may have assumed it was not working. However, the fan did not clear the steam from the bathroom and when mentioned to reception staff we were told they would get that checked. Their manner was polite, courteous and friendly. Although the hotel showed signs of wear and tear and was a little tired looking it was still a very comfortable stay with a fabulous view and central location. We would stay here again.
Raymond B. Couples United Kingdom, June 16, 2014
great

staff were good they gave us a suite room it was great, room great, breakfast great
10
great will go back
Virginia G. Couples United Kingdom, May 26, 2014
Did the job.

Pool. Appearance. Location
7.7
Spacious room with a comfy bed, reception and bar areas looked very fancy. The pool, steam room and sauna area were stunning, lovely relaxing feel in there. The hotel did everything we wanted which was provide us a bed for the night in a central location however I would say it was slightly over-priced given that the negatives outweigh the positives...The room was at the front of the hotel so pretty noisy at night. There weren't any net curtains or anything so the curtains had to be closed all the time for privacy which made the room really dark. No main light or lights above mirrors, just spotlights above the bed and bed-side lamps dotted about. Awful, extremely slow lifts which were being used by laundry staff and guests, they need to invest in a service lift.
Sze M. Couples Malaysia, May 4, 2014
The Carlton Hotel - Puma Hotels’ Collection

Central Convenient Accessible
7.7
Nienke V. Couples Netherlands, April 21, 2014
Very outdated hotel, there were cockroaches

location is the only good thing
4.7
We stayed for 3 nights. Everything about this hotel is worn-out, the lifts, the gym, the rooms, the hallways look like they don't do maintenance in this hotel at all. When we got into our room we noted it had a strange disturbing milky smell, this remained each time we entered. When we got into our room the first time, the windows were wide open, probably because the hotel staff wanted to hide the smell. The bed was not very good, every night we rolled to the centre, probably because the mattress was very old. The bathroom even had cockroaches!! On our first morning at 1100 am, we were waked up by a very loud test of the fire-alarm. Apparently this was announced on the lift door the evening before. We had missed that and when we called reception to check if anything was wrong, they did not answer. Only the third time I callled they picked up. Great they test the fire-alarm, but probably good to leave a note on the door of each guest or to note this when they check in. The only thing which is good about this hotel is the location and the staff is fine.We have stayed in many (also old/historic) hotels, but this does not mean it has to look outdated and worn-out. In any event I don't expect cockroaches in the bathroom. The breackfast is fine, but nothing more than that, eggs are undercooked. You better get a nice breakfast in the city centre which is lovely.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Carlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection EdinburghCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - RestaurantCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - InteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - ExteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - EntranceCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Swimming PoolCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Fitness RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - ExteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - ExteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - InteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - InteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - InteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - InteriorCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest RoomCarlton Hotel - The Hotel Collection Edinburgh - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3C07